Assign specific MIDI notes to different MIDI channels

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
raidmarji
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 9:14 pm
Contact:

Assign specific MIDI notes to different MIDI channels

Post by raidmarji » Sun Jun 25, 2017 1:28 pm

Hi All
Is it possible to Assign MIDI notes to separate MIDI channels during recording live?
I will explain more;
I found that this is the only solution for playing micro tune.
I open 2 tracks of the same VST instrument, one on channel 1 and the other on channel 2
I want to route the notes A & E to channel 2 that has an inserted pitch bender to -50 so that when I play all the notes go to channel 1 except the A & E notes they will go to channel 2 that it pitched to -50 cets.
Many thanks

misohoza
Member
Posts: 868
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: Assign specific MIDI notes to different MIDI channels

Post by misohoza » Sun Jun 25, 2017 2:25 pm

Hi.

Look into Input Transformer.

If you use a multi timbral instrument, you should be able to do it with one instrument track and setting the midi channel in the inspector to "Any".
Win 10 Home, 64 bit, 8 gb ram,
Cubase Pro 9, Wavelab Pro 9, Halion 6, Dorico,
NI Komplete 10 Ultimate, Ozone 7,
UR 44

raidmarji
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 9:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Assign specific MIDI notes to different MIDI channels

Post by raidmarji » Sun Jun 25, 2017 2:32 pm

Many thanks for your reply but no such thing in the input Transformer

misohoza
Member
Posts: 868
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: Assign specific MIDI notes to different MIDI channels

Post by misohoza » Sun Jun 25, 2017 3:16 pm

You didn't mention what Cubase version you have. Input Transformer might be in Cubase Pro only.

You can set it up like this:
channel 2.PNG
(455.01 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Win 10 Home, 64 bit, 8 gb ram,
Cubase Pro 9, Wavelab Pro 9, Halion 6, Dorico,
NI Komplete 10 Ultimate, Ozone 7,
UR 44

raidmarji
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 9:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Assign specific MIDI notes to different MIDI channels

Post by raidmarji » Sun Jun 25, 2017 4:00 pm

Misohoza

you are the best....This is exactly what I need. It worked.
But suppose that I do not want to use multitembral instrument? for example I want to load Roland SH-101 on Channel one and Roland SH-101 on Channel 2

raidmarji
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 9:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Assign specific MIDI notes to different MIDI channels

Post by raidmarji » Sun Jun 25, 2017 4:45 pm

Let me put my question in another form;
in input transformer
Is it possible when I click the note (E) the transformer adds a pitchbend value of 5542?
i.e, E = E + pitchbend of 5542?

misohoza
Member
Posts: 868
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: Assign specific MIDI notes to different MIDI channels

Post by misohoza » Sun Jun 25, 2017 5:14 pm

raidmarji wrote:But suppose that I do not want to use multitembral instrument? for example I want to load Roland SH-101 on Channel one and Roland SH-101 on Channel 2
You can use two tracks if you want to.

Input Transformer lets you transform or filter. So in this case filter out notes A and E on one track, and all the other notes on the second track. Record arm both of the tracks.

You have for modules available in each input transformer, so for the second track you could change the channel for the notes A and E to channel 2 and then filter out everything that's unequal to channel 2 with the second module instead of trying to filter notes equal to C,C#,D,D#...But both ways should work.
Win 10 Home, 64 bit, 8 gb ram,
Cubase Pro 9, Wavelab Pro 9, Halion 6, Dorico,
NI Komplete 10 Ultimate, Ozone 7,
UR 44

misohoza
Member
Posts: 868
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: Assign specific MIDI notes to different MIDI channels

Post by misohoza » Sun Jun 25, 2017 5:47 pm

raidmarji wrote:Let me put my question in another form;
in input transformer
Is it possible when I click the note (E) the transformer adds a pitchbend value of 5542?
i.e, E = E + pitchbend of 5542?
Not with the input transformer. You can only transform or filter.

You could try to do it with midi insert Transformer. The problem is once you insert a new pitch bend event value it will stick so you need to insert a pitch bend value of zero to all other notes. Also getting precise numbers isn't easy as you work with values 0-127.
transformer.PNG
(232.23 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Win 10 Home, 64 bit, 8 gb ram,
Cubase Pro 9, Wavelab Pro 9, Halion 6, Dorico,
NI Komplete 10 Ultimate, Ozone 7,
UR 44

raidmarji
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 9:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Assign specific MIDI notes to different MIDI channels

Post by raidmarji » Sun Jun 25, 2017 6:47 pm

Misohoza
I solved it with a VSTi called midi polysher.
Can i send you the cubase file to see if it can be doable with transformer?
if yes, plz send me your E. mail

ColinPark
Member
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 7:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Assign specific MIDI notes to different MIDI channels

Post by ColinPark » Sun Jun 25, 2017 8:37 pm

What's wrong with inspector -> MIDI inserts -> Micro Tuner -> move slider on A up to 50 + move slider for E up to 50?

Then you can do it all on one track, with A and E being always half-sharp?
Win 10 (64 bit), 3.5GHz i7-4770K, 32GB RAM, Sabertooth Z87, Samsung SSD 850 Pro 512GB, RME fireface UFX, Novation 61SL MkII keyboard controller, Yamaha HS7 monitors. Cubase Pro 10.0.40], HALion 6, HALion Symphonic Orchestra, Dark Planet; Ozone 8 Adv, Neutron 3 Adv, Rx7 Std; Sonarworks Ref 4; Melodyne Essential 4.2.2.004

raidmarji
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 9:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Assign specific MIDI notes to different MIDI channels

Post by raidmarji » Sun Jun 25, 2017 8:59 pm

ColinPark wrote:What's wrong with inspector -> MIDI inserts -> Micro Tuner -> move slider on A up to 50 + move slider for E up to 50?

Then you can do it all on one track, with A and E being always half-sharp?
Noooooooo
The Microtuner DOES NOT WORK with third party instruments

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: matic and 6 guests