ASIO Drivers Not Showing

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
corlenbelspar
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 10:54 pm
Contact:

ASIO Drivers Not Showing

Post by corlenbelspar » Thu Jun 16, 2011 9:01 pm

Forgive me if this is a stupid question or if I missed a previous post that had this answered already, I tend to miss things easily, but I have a Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium sound card and I would like to use its "Creative ASIO" for Cubase 6 but it is not showing up in Cubase's list of ASIO drivers. ASIO4ALL is showing up (which has served me well for a year or two but it's time to move on) but not Creative ASIO. Any help would be appreciated. :D
Windows 10 64-bit | AMD Ryzen 7 1700 | 16GB RAM | Cubase Pro 8 64-bit | And a bunch of EastWest Libraries along with other expensive VSTs.

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2167
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: ASIO Drivers Not Showing

Post by HowlingUlf » Thu Jun 16, 2011 9:17 pm

Why not try the desperate stuff when you're still relatively calm and not hyperventilating ... ? ;)

You're sure you've installed the drivers properly?
Try reinstallin just to get that out of the way. The drivers are not working anyway so ...

HTH :)
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.5 | Steinberg WaveLab 10 | Steinberg Absolute 4 | Steinberg SpectralLayers 6
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

corlenbelspar
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 10:54 pm
Contact:

Re: ASIO Drivers Not Showing

Post by corlenbelspar » Thu Jun 16, 2011 9:39 pm

lol well I have Reason 5 and some other audio programs that use ASIO and Creative ASIO shows up for them, but I guess I can try that.
Windows 10 64-bit | AMD Ryzen 7 1700 | 16GB RAM | Cubase Pro 8 64-bit | And a bunch of EastWest Libraries along with other expensive VSTs.

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2167
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: ASIO Drivers Not Showing

Post by HowlingUlf » Thu Jun 16, 2011 9:46 pm

Naw, then it's kind of pointless? :?
So now it's only 2435 other things to try! :lol:
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.5 | Steinberg WaveLab 10 | Steinberg Absolute 4 | Steinberg SpectralLayers 6
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

corlenbelspar
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 10:54 pm
Contact:

Re: ASIO Drivers Not Showing

Post by corlenbelspar » Thu Jun 16, 2011 9:51 pm

After a bit of poking about I noticed Creative ASIO is only showing up in 32-bit applications and never 64-bit applications. Perhaps this is something that I should ask on the Creative forums.
Windows 10 64-bit | AMD Ryzen 7 1700 | 16GB RAM | Cubase Pro 8 64-bit | And a bunch of EastWest Libraries along with other expensive VSTs.

Guest

Re: ASIO Drivers Not Showing

Post by Guest » Thu Jun 16, 2011 10:11 pm

May need 64 bit drivers and firmware, if applicable.

corlenbelspar
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 10:54 pm
Contact:

Re: ASIO Drivers Not Showing

Post by corlenbelspar » Thu Jun 16, 2011 10:15 pm

Yeah I just did a search after suspecting that when I discovered it isn't showing up for 64-bit programs and found out Creative is an a-hole and doesn't supply 64-bit ASIO drivers up front. :evil: I did a bit of searching and found the 64-bit drivers by pure luck but my problems may not be over because in the past I've had the 32-bit drivers cause my computer to actually blue screen when they even try to initiate. :( Oh well, as soon as this install of RealStrat finishes so I don't lose the progress of it, I'll see if Cubase 6 can run it without a blue screen of death.
Windows 10 64-bit | AMD Ryzen 7 1700 | 16GB RAM | Cubase Pro 8 64-bit | And a bunch of EastWest Libraries along with other expensive VSTs.

Guest

Re: ASIO Drivers Not Showing

Post by Guest » Thu Jun 16, 2011 10:28 pm

To be honest, Blasters are more of a gaming and sound playback soundcard and not really for DAW use. Yes, they can be used, but you see yourself some of the issues. Investing in a good interface would be your best course.

User avatar
matjones
Senior Member
Posts: 1295
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:44 pm
Location: Here....
Contact:

Re: ASIO Drivers Not Showing

Post by matjones » Thu Jun 16, 2011 11:14 pm

mashedmitten wrote:To be honest, Blasters are more of a gaming and sound playback soundcard and not really for DAW use. Yes, they can be used, but you see yourself some of the issues. Investing in a good interface would be your best course.
+1!
yep great for games... not so good for DAW usage.... at that end of the market you would be MUCH better off with something like an Maudio Audiophile.
Cubase 10.0.40 Asus Z390-Plus, i9 9900 @ 3.7GHz, 64GB DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, Asus RX 570, RME Multiface II PCIe, SSL Alpha Channel, UAD2 Octo/Solo/Quad, UA6176, Pod X3 Pro, Slate VCC/VTM/Trigger etc, SoundToys 5, Waves 10, HALion 6, The Grand 3, BFD3 (+ Expansions), WL9.5, Melodyne Studio 4, Arturia VC7, Relab LX480, iZotope MPS, Eventide XI, Various toys, Telefunken, Neumann, AKG,Sontronics, Shure Mics, Adam A7X and Avantone monitors, AKG K702, ATH-M70x, Nektar P6, Warwick, Spector Basses, Gibson Les Paul Studio & loads of other junk.


Minds are like parachutes, they work best when they're open.

corlenbelspar
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 10:54 pm
Contact:

Re: ASIO Drivers Not Showing

Post by corlenbelspar » Thu Jun 16, 2011 11:22 pm

Yeah I think I will be changing sound cards if I can't put enough band aids on this to fix it up.
Windows 10 64-bit | AMD Ryzen 7 1700 | 16GB RAM | Cubase Pro 8 64-bit | And a bunch of EastWest Libraries along with other expensive VSTs.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: studioj and 5 guests