VST Sound Library "" not found

Post general topics related to HALion 6 and HALion Sonic 3 here.
Post Reply
peacock
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 12:19 am
Contact:

VST Sound Library "" not found

Post by peacock » Fri Feb 10, 2017 10:53 pm

I receive an error when I load HALion 6 in Cubase 8.5.20 and 9.0.10 (Windows 10 x64). The error says: 'VST Sound Library "" not found:' and then it lists the location of the library it is looking for. The blank quote marks ("") are in the error message, as shown. There are three option buttons: LOCATE, IGNORE, and REMOVE.

When I select LOCATE and click on the file in question, it just asks me for the same file over and over again. Nevertheless, HALion 6 loads.

This also occurs with Padshop Pro 1.1.0.134 (x64).

Please advise if you have an idea.

Kingpinn
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2016 8:05 am
Contact:

Re: VST Sound Library "" not found

Post by Kingpinn » Fri Feb 17, 2017 3:39 am

Same thing happens with me when starting cubase 9

User avatar
kimbo72
Junior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 6:11 pm
Location: Rotterdam
Contact:

Re: VST Sound Library "" not found

Post by kimbo72 » Sat Feb 18, 2017 6:27 pm

I have the same problem.
Even with the groove agent 4 and loading production kits.

Bad installers from Steinberg. :|
Yamaha PSR-S970, Akai touch, NI komplete kontrol 61, Yamaha EZ-220.
Steinberg: Cubase 9, Halion 5, Halionsonic 2, Groove agent 4, Padshop pro, Hypnotic dance, Dark planet and Triebwerk.
Desktop I7 6950, 16 GB ram,MSI GTX 1080

Codsworth
Junior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Sound Library "" not found

Post by Codsworth » Sat Feb 25, 2017 1:35 pm

Hi there,

I have the same problem with Hal 6 as the OP.

Did anyone find the solution please?

Kind regards, Codsworth
Cubase Pro 10 latest build
Windows 10 64bit
Asus Z97 Pro wifi
Intel i7 4790K
16 gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400mhz
Asus Nvidia Geforce GTX 960

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3247
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Sound Library "" not found

Post by jaslan » Sat Feb 25, 2017 1:43 pm

Click REMOVE.
I was getting this with Hypnotic Dance but I checked and I have the 300 presets as advertised so it must be an error. It is looking for a group of presets that doesn't exist. So just remove the reference from the library and it will stop looking for the file.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

roel
Member
Posts: 782
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Sound Library "" not found

Post by roel » Sat Feb 25, 2017 3:03 pm

You get this once you have removed a library.
Looks like a combination of what cubase is saving with the cpr (which is not the actual vstsound but some copy of it it seems)
Once removed and you load a cpr that has references to an old deleted file it continues to look for the thing that was removed.
By the way, the library handling with H6 has become a real PITA.
With all those extreme naming and referencing conditions that have to be fulfilled it just gets more and more cluttered on the harddrive.
This is something that definitly has to be improved in the next update, since it is not even possible to make a very simple sound working in HS3 as it should. It did once, but then things got completely messed up...
:?
Cubase 9.x, vienna ensemble pro 5,
Master:laptop Clevo, P771zm, i7 4790S, 16 gig, 2xSSD samsung 840pro/evo, 2x Samsung SSD850 +touch screen
Slave: none, will probably never be replaced because latest processors are powerfull enough
Sound: Motu Ultralite MKIII (usb), Focusrite 18i20, behringer 16 ch mixer
control: Synergy, novation zero SL
vsti: Steinberg, East West, Vienna, Native Instruments, Spectrasonics and a lot of others
hardware: S760, CD3000xl, SY77, studiologic 990, alesis Q88,

frankc22
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 12:49 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Sound Library "" not found

Post by frankc22 » Sun Mar 26, 2017 10:41 pm

I have same issue.

Brian Roland
Member
Posts: 938
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 5:24 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Sound Library "" not found

Post by Brian Roland » Mon Mar 27, 2017 6:16 am

First, always try updating eLicenser. Even if it's the latest version, go ahead and download a fresh copy and reinstall. Run the cleanup process. Over time I've learned to start here anytime something Steinberg acts up, particularly after installing new Steinberg software or updates.

In testing, I install and uninstall lots of things Halion related, and more often than not, reinstalling and cleaning up eLicenser clears things up for me.

If that doesn't work, read on:

I got this at one point, but tracked it down to what seems to be this:

I had downloaded some User made content packs (found here) individually at some point. I unzipped them to a location ("C:\Samples\Halion\VSTsound").

The catch seems to be that I'd asked the MediaBay in Cubase to keep a continuous scan for any samples and other content stored in "C:\Samples".

I'd installed it with the Halion Library Manger, which also put a fresh copy (I'd asked it to copy rather than move) into the usual "ProgramData\Steinberg\Content\VSTsound" directory that Halion likes to keep things.

I kept getting the popups after doing this, even if I used the Library manager to unregister, and delete the said content from "ProgramData\Steinberg\Content\VSTsound".

So I figured, Halion must still be asking for this content for a reason...but why?

At some point it hit me, "I wonder what would happen if I move this vstsound archive that I've kept lingering in "C:\Samples" to a directory that is NOT set to be scanned by the Cubase Media Bay for content?"

I checked the Media Bay in Cubase, and as suspected, I had toggled this directory for continuous scanning of potential content, since I often keep lots of wav/aiff, and other shorter sample content stored there and like to have it bagged, tagged, and preview ready in Media Bay. In the past I'd also kept some vstsound archives in here that I often got samples from to build with in Halion 5, but didn't have any important 'Halion presets' stored in....so I'd simply been treating them like MediaBay browseable sample containers.
Image

So, I moved the fresh archive that seemed to be causing trouble to a location that doesn't get scanned, and the pop-ups went away.

I reinstalled those user content packs with the Librarian, and they worked as expected, plus, no more popups.

The point is, if you've got extra copies of some vstsound archives lurking somewhere, make sure that you do not keep such extraneous copies in a directory that Halion and/or Cubase keeps scanned for content. If you've not installed anything out of ordinary on your own using the Library Manager, it still might be that the directory where you downloaded and installed Halion 6 or Sonic 3 from, happens to be in a directory that gets scanned for MediaBay on a regular basis. If so, try moving your installer directories (any installers that contain unpacked vstsound files) elsewhere (I.E. "C:\InstallerScreenTank") and see if that clears things up.

The new Library Manager allows us to register content from any location we like. When double clicking on a *.vstsound archive, it scans all vstsound files in the same directory and if they are not already installed we get some options.

If we tell it to 'move' the content when registering, it moves the whole file to "ProgramData\Steinberg\Content\VSTsound" and registers it.

If we tell it to 'copy' the content, it makes a 'copy' of the vstsound archives to "ProgramData\Steinberg\Content\VSTsound" and registers them.

If we let it install from the present location, it keeps the VSTSound file where you launched Library Manger from, and puts a 'shortcut' pointing to the current location in "ProgramData\Steinberg\Content\VSTsound".

One potential catch here is that many Cubase Users may well have MediaBay settings that keep a scan of any potential content in their "%USERPROFILE%" directory, and that happens to include your "Download" and "Document" directories, as well as anything kept 'on your Desktop'! Those are all pretty common places for people to unpack and launch their installers and libraries from. Are they getting 'double scanned' when Halion launches?

With all that in mind...
My short guess is this:

Problem: If Halion comes across a second copy of the same VSTsound (perhaps shortcuts count as well) when it's loading, it causes a fuss. One copy may be properly registered while the other is not, or perhaps there can also be cases where neither is registered...and Halion gets confused in the process so he asks you for intervention (ignore worked for me in the shorthaul).

Solution: Make sure any extra copies of VSTsound content are kept somewhere that doesn't regularly get scanned by MediaBay for potential content. I.E. Zip it and get rid of the unzipped backup, or move it someplace that MediaBay ignores. In short, take care that Halion doesn't try to scan the same vstsound archive twice when it starts up.

The good news, at least for me, is that even if I forget and mess up, tapping ignore during the plugin load will let me work without issues until I can get around to finding and moving/removing the lingering vstsound file.

This seems like a bug to me...

User avatar
ramseysounds
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 11:29 am
Contact:

Re: VST Sound Library "" not found

Post by ramseysounds » Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:07 pm

Bumping an old thread. This has just happened to me. Cubase 8.5 was working flawlessly until PC crashed and all vst programmes reinitialized. Any solutions?? Thanks.
i5-4690 16 gig Cubase Pro 10. W10 64 bit
Lots of lovely plug ins

Sound_IT
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 9:55 am
Contact:

Re: VST Sound Library "" not found

Post by Sound_IT » Sun Mar 25, 2018 10:02 am

Hi guys,

Same thing happened to me, as a user of Symphonic Orchestra (vst only), which used Sonic SE built in installer and one month ago elicencer stopped authorizing this VST. I called a support guy and we figured out that I should update to "visible" installation od Sonic 3 SE. And then. .. happened the same thing which is VST sound library not found" and it loads empty inner windows in Symphonic Orchestra. Any additional ideas for me? I will try to this method you mentioned , but maybe you got some other solutions yet? fcp_smt_027_hso_presets_01.vstsound is missing, and it's not on my HDD at all or even in HSO installer :/
bkojepocokahjlcd.png
(28.71 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
ZenAltarRec
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:25 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Sound Library "" not found

Post by ZenAltarRec » Mon Apr 30, 2018 8:00 pm

I got same error message and I clicked "remove" -but now each time Cubase 9.5.21 starts, it scans all the vstsound folders! It takes 4-5minutes lol

That happened after a PC crash.

I'll try to reinstall e-licenser and come back..

EDIT: No luck..still loading vstsounds ...
I tried to install again latest Cubase update.. no luck still

I believe it is related to 9.5.21 latest upgrade..buggy as hell
Cubase 10.0.10, Apollo Twin MKII, PC with ASUS X99 Mobo, Win 10 Pro loaded with 128 gig of DDR4 Ram, 4.2Ghz overclocked Core i7 6900K cpu water cooled and 3x2Tb HD's. Neumann KH 810 | KH 310 | KH 120. Komplete Kontrol Ultimate 11. Access Virus TI, Moog SUB37, Novation Peak
http://www.altar-records.com

djgraver
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Sound Library "" not found

Post by djgraver » Fri May 11, 2018 9:17 pm

same here 9.0.40 after PC crash.

does someone find solution ?
Win10 x64;Core i5-4670;16GB RAM;SSD system HDD library;Nvidia 1050Ti 4GB
Cubase (always last update)

Zoubidou
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 11:59 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Sound Library "" not found

Post by Zoubidou » Tue May 22, 2018 12:20 am

Yes,
Reseting de Steinberg's Appdata folder by deleting or renaming it (which is preferable)... and run Cubase again to rebuild the default one.
"C:\Users\%your_name%\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg"
Or, if y'r feeling yourself nerdy, you can try renaming all the files step by step to see which one occurs the "VST Sound Library "" not found" error... or you can still ask the amazing & prestigious steinberg's team :geek:

powernemo
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 4:27 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Sound Library "" not found

Post by powernemo » Fri Jul 13, 2018 4:24 am

Fixed the missing Halion Sonic 3 errors in my case.
In Windows 10 :

- Close Cubase if it is open
- Press the start button and type %appdata% to go to the current user Appdata folder
- Open Roaming > Steinberg
- Select all the folders containing "Halion Sonic" CUT and PASTE them in another folder (NOT inside the same Steinberg folder) this way you will not lose the other preferences stored in the Steinberg folder (shortcuts, colors, recent files, all settings etc.)
- Restart Cubase
- Create an Instrument Track with Halion Sonic SE 3 and you should have all the 124 default preset back without errors

User avatar
Gitarrenzupfer
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 6:42 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Sound Library "" not found

Post by Gitarrenzupfer » Sun Aug 19, 2018 8:35 pm

Hello,


this is how i fixed the same problem (VST Sound Library "" not found) after Win10-Crash :cry: (a reinstall of all Cubase-Stuff didn't fix it)

- close Cubase
- rename the folder called somewhat like appdata/Roaming/Steinberg/Cubase 9.5_64 to e.g. "1_Cubase 9.5_64"
- Start Cubase. Load last .cpr I worked on. Got weired errors for missing Native Instruments PlugIns. Don't care about errors.
- Close Cubase (without saving yout Project)
- In the new created folder Cubase 9.5_64 there's also a new file called "ContentManager". Copy this file into old folder "1_Cubase 9.5_64" (overwrite)
- delete the new createt Cubase 9.5_64 folder an re-rename your original folder"1_Cubase 9.5_64" to the original name "Cubase 9.5_64"
- Start Cubase -> no error , all old preferences :)


This works for me
Rock on...
Cubase 9.5.30 Pro 64-bit, Absolute VST Collection, Halion 5, HSO Content, The Grand 3, NI Komplete 11 Ultimate, XLN Addictive Drums 2, Ozone 8
DAW-Studio: Intel i9 10-Core (OC 4,4 GHz), Win 10; 32 GB RAM, 2xM.2, 2x SSD, 2x HDD (Raid1)
RME Fireface UFX, Motu 24i/o; Icon Qcon PRO + 2x EX
Wavelab 8 Elements

swampkittn
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 1:53 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Sound Library "" not found

Post by swampkittn » Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:02 am

I got this after an update. For me, running maintenance tasks in the elicencer control center fixed it.

James K
Member
Posts: 847
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: VST Sound Library "" not found

Post by James K » Tue Jul 02, 2019 4:44 pm

Super frustrated here.
Just downloaded the HS 3 installer and separate content using the Steinberg Download Manager then installed the Application then ran the library manager.
The library manager is not finding the content and is not asking me register anything. Installing on mac is so much easier.
Where should I place the Content for HS 3?
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.0.20
Mavericks Cubase Pro 9.5.5
UR28M
CC121

User avatar
Denis van der Velde
Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 10:41 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: VST Sound Library "" not found

Post by Denis van der Velde » Thu Jul 11, 2019 12:40 pm

Halion gives me the same things every time i start it.
You have the option to IGNORE, but next time start, it reports the same, and i IGNORE again.
It is only one file and it gets stuck on it...

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
I7 8core 16tread 32gb Aopen Board, SSD Samsung. C10,W10,Halion6,Groove Agent5,etc.
Running on 8ms Latency with a Soundblaster XFi Pro. Yamaha MW12c USB mixer.
Behringer TRUTH B2031A active studiomonitors. Sony MDR-V900 Headphones.
Steinberg CC121 Controller. Mackie Control Pro.

Denis van der Velde
http://www.curioza.com
AAMS Auto Audio Mastering System for Windows

User avatar
Denis van der Velde
Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 10:41 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: VST Sound Library "" not found

Post by Denis van der Velde » Wed Jul 24, 2019 12:45 pm

Denis van der Velde wrote:
Thu Jul 11, 2019 12:40 pm
Halion gives me the same things every time i start it.
You have the option to IGNORE, but next time start, it reports the same, and i IGNORE again.
It is only one file and it gets stuck on it...

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
The latest update Halion 6.3 fixed this with me...

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
I7 8core 16tread 32gb Aopen Board, SSD Samsung. C10,W10,Halion6,Groove Agent5,etc.
Running on 8ms Latency with a Soundblaster XFi Pro. Yamaha MW12c USB mixer.
Behringer TRUTH B2031A active studiomonitors. Sony MDR-V900 Headphones.
Steinberg CC121 Controller. Mackie Control Pro.

Denis van der Velde
http://www.curioza.com
AAMS Auto Audio Mastering System for Windows

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: thebigk1961 and 1 guest