MIDI Control of Cubasis

642carl
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 11:22 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by 642carl » Wed Oct 19, 2016 8:39 pm

Hi Lars,
I'm willing to pay $$ for a Cubasis upgrade that includes full external MIDI controller support for effects and the mixer, and also support for MIDI start/stop commands to start/stop recording via the footswitch input on my MIDI keyboard.
I have a Korg microKontrol waiting on my Cubasis workstation for this, I really want to use the sliders to adjust the levels of the channels without having to open the mixer tab. Using the rotary encoders for controlling panning or fx send levels would be great too.
I'd pay more $$ for proper FX send busses as well
I've pretty much abandoned my high-powered laptop and do all my work in Cubasis now, but these two features are holding me back.
Maybe you can make the case to Steinberg mgmt. to hire another developer or two to make this happen?

cheers,
642Carl

User avatar
MarcelX
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by MarcelX » Mon Dec 12, 2016 12:33 pm

Sigh, still no MIDI Machine Control (MMC) after 2.5 year?

I understand the Steinberg team is still euphoric about the touch screen, but I can asure you that adding support for MIDI control won't affect the touch functionality!

Why not give the users the freedom the choice to use, or not use, MIDI control?

Hope this helps you seeing it from the customers perspective.
New Member since 03 February 2013

DKeyman1
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 4:35 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by DKeyman1 » Sun Dec 18, 2016 6:06 pm

I support this feature request as well, but did anyone consider that by making Cubasis "too powerful" might take away the value from Steinberg's $300-400 program Cubase? I'm sure their intent is not to replace Cubase users with Cubasis users, but to have these two platforms work together. The argument could be made however, that Cubasis might be a stepping stone to bring in NEW Cubase users for serious musicians/producers who have not yet decided on a professional DAW.

I think anyone other than home/hobbyists musicians and song writers that want to use Cubasis and the iPad as a fully professional recording platform, are still dreaming of getting something for nothing. That day might come, but unless you have invested in a "big league", multi-channel audio interface and the latest iPad Pro with maximum RAM, great microphones, etc., it's still limited in what you can accomplish here, without transferring the project to a PC/MAC.

Count me in as one of those dreamers by the way.

User avatar
MarcelX
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by MarcelX » Tue Dec 20, 2016 3:58 pm

True, both Cubasis and Cubase are products by Steinberg, and they even share import/exchange functions.

But as a Cubasis and Cubase user, I consider both as completely different products!

I have this Roland VS-2480 hooked up via ADAT to a PC with Cubase Artist 7.5 as a permanent setup. Along with a collection of vintage music gear, I use a Novation Impulse 49 as an extra control surface.
I can assure you that the cables alone will disqualify to be called a mobile setup!

On the other hand, Cubasis and this wagonload of iPad apps give me the freedom to work anywhere. I use a PreSonus AudioBox iTwo when recording audio or a Korg nanoKEY Studio when playing and recording some synths.
Cubasis is perfect for sketching and recording audio samples to prepare them to be used in other apps.

So with my mobile setup, I love to work with my nanoKEY Studio and I'm considering to get the nanoKONTROL Studio too. Unfortunately Cubasis 2.0 offers no support for these amazing Bluetooth LE tools other than the keys.
At the moment I'm using Korg Gadget a lot for it is great fun to play with these well integrated products.

So, I guess that aspirant Cubasis users will just choose between the available iPad/iPhone DAW's. And it's up to Steinberg to bring new users a competitive product.
Last edited by MarcelX on Wed Dec 21, 2016 11:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
New Member since 03 February 2013

NHUK
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 3:22 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by NHUK » Tue Dec 20, 2016 4:03 pm

This!

I have used a few DAWs and synths on IOS, and others allow you to learn control ids to map to instrument controls, so it can be done!

Even if it were just the transport controls that would be a huge bonus, once I am on my keyboard, I would rather not have to keep leaning over to touch the screen of the iPad, pulling on cables and generally putting my kit at risk....

It seems this is a very popular request, and has been for over 2 years - are you even looking at this topic?

Nick.

Astrolasia
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by Astrolasia » Sat Dec 24, 2016 11:47 am

I would also love the ability to control some of the functions of Cubasis 2 with my Korg nanoKontrol studio. If only the transport, faders and pan options. The touch screen is great when out and about, but at home some sort of control surface seems to me the obvious next step to making a great app an even better one. Some have said the making Cubasis too close to Cubase might not be in Steinbergs interest. I have no intention of adding a desktop system to my music making, and I am sure a lot of other users feel the same.

jonotron
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 2:28 am
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by jonotron » Tue Jan 10, 2017 2:30 am

Here to cast my vote for controlling track parameters and transport control via MIDI, it would help me so much when trying to use Cubasis with multiple apps and devices. Hope steinberg is listening :)

MartieFuncum
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 8:00 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by MartieFuncum » Wed Jan 11, 2017 4:45 pm

+1 as I'm really loving Cubasis 2 but would really appreciate this feature (and insert/send effect presets!) Cheers

Lenzoo
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by Lenzoo » Thu Feb 09, 2017 3:05 pm

+1 Me too!!!! I have a Korg Nanokontrol Studio (Wireless) and would love to implement it to Cubasis. The Nanokontrol even has a preset for Cubase.
It has been years since the request was made. Is anybody listening???
It works with Auria, but come on Steinberg....

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2836
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by LSlowak » Mon Feb 13, 2017 11:22 am

Yes, we hear you and the feature request is included in our backlog...

Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

soundog
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 5:37 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by soundog » Wed Apr 12, 2017 3:49 pm

Here I sit, almost 3 years later, waiting patiently for MIDI control of Cubasis. My beard and hair are now gray and long, and I've forgotten how the sun feels on my face.

In my journal scratched upon this desk, I add the status up-dates from Steinberg. They give me the hope to carry on:

Jun 30, 2014: "we have this request on our list and you are not the first one asking for it"

Jan 6, 2016: "The feature is on our list, but it might take some time until it becomes available."

May 2, 2016: "MIDI Control is on our list but we're not able to provide a release date for it as of yet."

Feb 13, 2017: "We hear you and the feature request is included in our backlog."

Outside I hear a bird singing as he greets a new day.

MichaelPaul
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 3:13 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by MichaelPaul » Sat May 06, 2017 3:35 pm

Well I just purchased pro version of cubasis and have figured out how to create a midi file to control my onsong app on auto pilot which is awesome. I have a looptimus pedal which I had high hopes I could control cubasis with. After landing hear I have read that people have been waiting on this feature for over 2 years not good :-( Anyway not unless that has been added since the last thread here and Im overlooking how to activate that in cubasis. Anyway, I may have to go with a different app if not any suggestions would be great. Thanks!

Richmn
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 4:30 am
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by Richmn » Thu Jun 08, 2017 3:25 am

+1 for Midi control of Cubasis. I've connected a drum machine to Cubasis, and would like to trigger the 'start' of the recording to the first drum beat/sequence. I've also got an iRig Blueboard that would be swell to send control messages to Cubasis with, for live performance control. Still hoping!

Rich303
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 4:01 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by Rich303 » Tue Jul 04, 2017 6:29 pm

MIDI Learn would be awesome.

thatguysmitty
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:26 am
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by thatguysmitty » Sun Jul 09, 2017 4:36 pm

Lenzoo wrote:+1 Me too!!!! I have a Korg Nanokontrol Studio (Wireless) and would love to implement it to Cubasis. The Nanokontrol even has a preset for Cubase.
It has been years since the request was made. Is anybody listening???
It works with Auria, but come on Steinberg....
I co-sign all of this!

That Guy Smitty

bendy
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 3:57 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by bendy » Sun Nov 05, 2017 4:47 pm

Just a bump to see if we have got anywhere

EnjoyRC
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:02 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by EnjoyRC » Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:28 pm

+1 Remote MIDI support for various DAW elements. Transport controls. Track M/S/Arm/Volume, etc....

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2836
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by LSlowak » Thu Nov 16, 2017 1:10 pm

damir65 wrote:
Sun Sep 11, 2016 4:00 pm
Hi everybody!

I am using Yamaha UD-WL01 USB Wireless LAN Adaptor with my Yamaha DGX 660 Electric Piano. It works seamlessly with Yamaha Apps where it is possible to send audio and stream audio from iPad to my keyboard speakers and to record my keyboard performance.
I was wondering would it be possible to send and record audio in Cubasis over this adapter.
It is, however, possible to send and record audio performance over this adaptor to the ChordTracker from Yamaha. This makes me think that it would be possible to use the same Adaptor with Cubasis as well to record audio. Should this be a case, I would purchase Cubasis DAW in a blink.
If anybody has some answer to this question please let me know. It would be really appreciated.
Hi damir65,

Since Yamaha uses a specific format to stream audio between the devices, direct support with Cubasis is not given as of yet.

Some time ago we've had a similar topic, please find it here:
viewtopic.php?f=183&t=102011&p=561348&h ... 01#p561348

Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

Nielsbohr107
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 8:12 am
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by Nielsbohr107 » Wed Jan 03, 2018 8:28 am

Want to spark this post again. I've looked through multiple post's on this topic and they've gone on for years now. Don't get me wrong, I love your product but not having midi learn really hinders the ability of live performances and the ease of use of the software. I have not been a cubasis user for long but I do know that this would make a huge improvement for the app. I'm not a very technical person so please excuse my ignorance but I'm sure I wouldn't take so long to program this.
You're a great company so you should know to please the customers and clearly this is something a lot of us want.
I can't speak for everyone but I'd definitely be willing to pay for an add on for the app to get the midi learn features.
Thank you.

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2836
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by LSlowak » Tue Jan 09, 2018 1:46 pm

Nielsbohr107 wrote:
Wed Jan 03, 2018 8:28 am
Want to spark this post again. I've looked through multiple post's on this topic and they've gone on for years now. Don't get me wrong, I love your product but not having midi learn really hinders the ability of live performances and the ease of use of the software. I have not been a cubasis user for long but I do know that this would make a huge improvement for the app. I'm not a very technical person so please excuse my ignorance but I'm sure I wouldn't take so long to program this.
You're a great company so you should know to please the customers and clearly this is something a lot of us want.
I can't speak for everyone but I'd definitely be willing to pay for an add on for the app to get the midi learn features.
Thank you.
Hi,

The feature is on our list, but might still need some time, until being released.

Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

desertpeaks
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 4:21 pm
Location: Henderson, Nv
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by desertpeaks » Sun Sep 30, 2018 4:05 pm

Hello all, I’m just curious where we are with this too.. maybe in 2.7??
Thanks!

mm70
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 11:49 am
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by mm70 » Sun Sep 30, 2018 9:01 pm

desertpeaks wrote:
Sun Sep 30, 2018 4:05 pm
Hello all, I’m just curious where we are with this too.. maybe in 2.7??
Thanks!
my bet is as soon as hell freezes over...
all they add is candy of some sort but no real meat (no Link, broken sync, no MIDI control).

onedown
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 11:30 am
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by onedown » Sun Mar 24, 2019 2:11 pm

I am surprised. Or Shocked..
Bought my first iPad this very week and in one general purpose.
Music, DAW, recording and for soft synths like the Microlouge.
First, i have spent very little time over the years and is not familiar with nor english language or MIDI or Cubase in general.
I am from the PC side of Cubase since the 90ies and one thing that always (?) worked is MIDI Learn so one has the posibility to adjust parameters like for exemple ”cut off frequency” from the MIDI keyboard ?

Is not that working in Cubasis ? :shock:

khayx
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:06 am
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by khayx » Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:31 am

Hello all!
-Is there a midi multitrack editing feature on cubasis 2?
I can’t select more than one track at the same time..
I actually bought it because I thought it would have this feature.

Many thanks in advance

User avatar
MarcelX
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cubasis

Post by MarcelX » Sun Apr 28, 2019 12:32 pm

LSlowak wrote:
Tue Jan 09, 2018 1:46 pm

Hi,

The feature is on our list, but might still need some time, until being released.

Best,
Lars
Hey LSlowak,

After so many years it’s hard to believe that this feature is just a matter of time!
Can you please give us an honest answer why this request is taking so long?

Best regards!
Marcel
New Member since 03 February 2013

Post Reply

Return to “Cubasis”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest