Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
User avatar
JACKnight
Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:23 am
Location: Little Britain, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by JACKnight »

Hey

That link to the manuals was really handy...now it's only Online Help....but I'm not online in the studio [except for software updates]...returning that link to the pdf manual in the help menu would be pretty great, huh?

Cheers
Dell Precision Workstation - 2x Xeon QuadCore 2.4Ghz / 24GB ram / NVidea GTX1050ti / 4x 600GB 15kRPM SAS drives / RME HDSP 9652 w/MIDI add-on / Fireface 802-ADI-8pro / UAD 2 Octo / Mackie MCU Pro - Cubase 10.5.12, Nuendo 8.3.20, Wavelab 10.0.40

User avatar
LarsErik
Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by LarsErik »

Cubase 10.5 Pro, WaveLab Pro 10, Windows 10 (64bit)
RME-Audio UCX, Intel Core I7 3930K 3.20GHZ, NVIDIA GeForce GTX

fretthefret
Member
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am
Contact:

Re: Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by fretthefret »

Try

https://www.steinberg.help/

It is not only missing in the Help menu...
It's also missing if you try "F1" key for help.
Which on PC will give you a popup saying something similar to -
"Could not find the manual!"
C:\Program Files\Steinberg\Cubase 9\documentation\Operation_Manual.pdf"

to fix it...

create the folder
C:\Program Files\Steinberg\Cubase 9\documentation\

unzip the files from the following documentation download (English) into the documentation folder you created:
http://download.steinberg.net/downloads ... nglish.zip

F1 will then launch the Op Manual PDF.
Last edited by fretthefret on Mon Dec 12, 2016 1:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase Pro 10.5, FL Studio 20, Ableton Live Suite 10.1,Harrison Mixbus 32c, UAD Apollo x series, UR44, UR28m, SSL, Native Instruments Komplete ultimate, NI Maschine Studio, Xfer Records Serum, Lennar Digital Sylenth1, reFx Nexus3, Reveal Sound Spire, FabFilter, Soundtoys, Lexicon PCM, Sonarworks, Slate Digital, Izotope, Brainworx, SPL, Waves, Cableguys, Cytomic, MeldaProductions, AOM, IK Multimedia, DDMF, Boz Digital, Antares Autotune, a bunch of other obscure stuff, TBs of samples, too much hardware to list... PC Windows 10 Pro 64bit, i7-5960x (8 core), Asus x99 Deluxe ii, GeForce 1070 strix, Fractal Design Silent RL2 case, Noctua NH-d15s, 64 GB DDR4 g,Skillz Trident Z 3200 RAM, 1tb Samsung 960 m.2, 3TB segate Ironwolf NAS HDD, 4TB WDRed, 2TB WD Black, Laptop: MSI Ghost pro GS60 6QE i7-6700 Skylake Win 10 64bit, Storage: 32 TB QNAP NAS Raid 50, 12 TB QNAP RAID 1

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3310
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by peakae »

But still, no way of opening a PDF from inside Cubase, that's not good.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

fretthefret
Member
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am
Contact:

Re: Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by fretthefret »

peakae wrote:But still, no way of opening a PDF from inside Cubase, that's not good.
see my previous post to fix the problem.
Cubase Pro 10.5, FL Studio 20, Ableton Live Suite 10.1,Harrison Mixbus 32c, UAD Apollo x series, UR44, UR28m, SSL, Native Instruments Komplete ultimate, NI Maschine Studio, Xfer Records Serum, Lennar Digital Sylenth1, reFx Nexus3, Reveal Sound Spire, FabFilter, Soundtoys, Lexicon PCM, Sonarworks, Slate Digital, Izotope, Brainworx, SPL, Waves, Cableguys, Cytomic, MeldaProductions, AOM, IK Multimedia, DDMF, Boz Digital, Antares Autotune, a bunch of other obscure stuff, TBs of samples, too much hardware to list... PC Windows 10 Pro 64bit, i7-5960x (8 core), Asus x99 Deluxe ii, GeForce 1070 strix, Fractal Design Silent RL2 case, Noctua NH-d15s, 64 GB DDR4 g,Skillz Trident Z 3200 RAM, 1tb Samsung 960 m.2, 3TB segate Ironwolf NAS HDD, 4TB WDRed, 2TB WD Black, Laptop: MSI Ghost pro GS60 6QE i7-6700 Skylake Win 10 64bit, Storage: 32 TB QNAP NAS Raid 50, 12 TB QNAP RAID 1

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3310
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by peakae »

Doesn't here still opens the web link.
I will have a look tomorrow if there is something missing on my end.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

fretthefret
Member
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am
Contact:

Re: Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by fretthefret »

peakae wrote:Doesn't here still opens the web link.
I will have a look tomorrow if there is something missing on my end.
Yes the main program menu "Help --> Cubase Help"
will open the online Help page.

The fix I posted earlier corrects only the "F1" key problem and launches the Operation Manual PDF.
Cubase Pro 10.5, FL Studio 20, Ableton Live Suite 10.1,Harrison Mixbus 32c, UAD Apollo x series, UR44, UR28m, SSL, Native Instruments Komplete ultimate, NI Maschine Studio, Xfer Records Serum, Lennar Digital Sylenth1, reFx Nexus3, Reveal Sound Spire, FabFilter, Soundtoys, Lexicon PCM, Sonarworks, Slate Digital, Izotope, Brainworx, SPL, Waves, Cableguys, Cytomic, MeldaProductions, AOM, IK Multimedia, DDMF, Boz Digital, Antares Autotune, a bunch of other obscure stuff, TBs of samples, too much hardware to list... PC Windows 10 Pro 64bit, i7-5960x (8 core), Asus x99 Deluxe ii, GeForce 1070 strix, Fractal Design Silent RL2 case, Noctua NH-d15s, 64 GB DDR4 g,Skillz Trident Z 3200 RAM, 1tb Samsung 960 m.2, 3TB segate Ironwolf NAS HDD, 4TB WDRed, 2TB WD Black, Laptop: MSI Ghost pro GS60 6QE i7-6700 Skylake Win 10 64bit, Storage: 32 TB QNAP NAS Raid 50, 12 TB QNAP RAID 1

User avatar
JACKnight
Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:23 am
Location: Little Britain, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by JACKnight »

Thanks guys...

I'd already downloaded the manual a few days ago and am about 200 pages in...lol

So I just put a shortcut to in on my desktop for now...

Cheers
Dell Precision Workstation - 2x Xeon QuadCore 2.4Ghz / 24GB ram / NVidea GTX1050ti / 4x 600GB 15kRPM SAS drives / RME HDSP 9652 w/MIDI add-on / Fireface 802-ADI-8pro / UAD 2 Octo / Mackie MCU Pro - Cubase 10.5.12, Nuendo 8.3.20, Wavelab 10.0.40

User avatar
Ekus
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 5:02 am
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by Ekus »

@fretthefret thank you! that was exactly what I needed. so bummed the manual wasn't there,
Cubase 10.5 Pro- Win10 Intel i9 Z490----ADK Rack---64GB ram, 3xHD, RME UFX+,UAD2 card

User avatar
MikeWK
Junior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by MikeWK »

@fretthefret: thank you too!

But: to go more and more into the cloud with licensing (NI Access for example),
online help (Steinberg, Spectrasonics, ...), Photoshop CC etc. etc. is the wrong way.
I want to keep my DAW working so it is not connected to the internet!
It's more safe too.
SW: Cubase 9.5 (10.5) / Nuendo 8 / Wavelab 10 / Win10-64
HW: i7820X, 64GB RAM, X299 chipset, M2.PCI, SSDs, some HDD drives, GTX1050TI 4GB
Audio: RME UFX; 5.1; Steinberg Midex8 (Win10: YES it works!)
NI Komplete 8 Ulti., Waves 10, Arturia V, EW-Ghostwriter, Sonnox Broadcast, Eventide & many more

rocknout
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by rocknout »

The F1 key still opens the online help and not the files unzipped in the documetation folder

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by alexis »

rocknout wrote:The F1 key still opens the online help and not the files unzipped in the documetation folder
Same here :(
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4683
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by raino »

alexis wrote:
rocknout wrote:The F1 key still opens the online help and not the files unzipped in the documetation folder
Same here :(
With Cubase 9.0.1 after I downloaded the PDF file F1 did open it. But since updating to 9.0.10 F1 now opens the online help and not the PDF. I double checked and the PDF is in the correct location. There must be some other variable at play if this works for some folks but not others.

:( :x :cry: :( :x :cry: :( :x :cry: :( :x :cry: :( :x :cry: :( :x :cry:
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Latest: Bawdy Politik https://rodgerraino.bandcamp.com/releases

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by alexis »

raino wrote:
alexis wrote:
rocknout wrote:The F1 key still opens the online help and not the files unzipped in the documetation folder
Same here :(
With Cubase 9.0.1 after I downloaded the PDF file F1 did open it. But since updating to 9.0.10 F1 now opens the online help and not the PDF. I double checked and the PDF is in the correct location. There must be some other variable at play if this works for some folks but not others.

:( :x :cry: :( :x :cry: :( :x :cry: :( :x :cry: :( :x :cry: :( :x :cry:
Has anyone on 9.0.10 said F1 brought up the pdf?
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

User avatar
flon_klar
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 5:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by flon_klar »

alexis wrote: Has anyone on 9.0.10 said F1 brought up the pdf?

Yes:

fretthefret wrote: F1 will then launch the Op Manual PDF.
Win 10 Pro 64-bit, i7-4790K 4.0GHz, 16GB RAM, ASUS Z97-Pro MoBo
GeForce GTX 970
OS/Program Drive: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB; File Drive: (2) Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500 and (1) 250GB; Data Storage Drive: WD 4TB HDD
Cubase Pro 10.5.20, Halion Symphonic Orchestra, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZ Drummer 2
E-mu PK-6 with Orchestral Modules
UR22 Interface, KRK Rokit5 Monitors

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by alexis »

flon_klar wrote:
alexis wrote: Has anyone on 9.0.10 said F1 brought up the pdf?

Yes:

fretthefret wrote: F1 will then launch the Op Manual PDF.
His sig says 9.0.1. Why do you believe he is on 9.0.10?
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4683
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by raino »

alexis wrote: His sig says 9.0.1. Why do you believe he is on 9.0.10?
Thanks for unintentionally reminding me to update my sig. :oops:
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Latest: Bawdy Politik https://rodgerraino.bandcamp.com/releases

User avatar
flon_klar
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 5:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by flon_klar »

alexis wrote:His sig says 9.0.1. Why do you believe he is on 9.0.10?


Because I glanced at it too quickly and thought it said ".10." My mistake.
Last edited by flon_klar on Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:57 am, edited 2 times in total.
Win 10 Pro 64-bit, i7-4790K 4.0GHz, 16GB RAM, ASUS Z97-Pro MoBo
GeForce GTX 970
OS/Program Drive: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB; File Drive: (2) Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500 and (1) 250GB; Data Storage Drive: WD 4TB HDD
Cubase Pro 10.5.20, Halion Symphonic Orchestra, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZ Drummer 2
E-mu PK-6 with Orchestral Modules
UR22 Interface, KRK Rokit5 Monitors

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by alexis »

OK, thanks.

I wonder if anyone on 9.0.10 can actually open the .pdf with F1 ...
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

ashboe69
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by ashboe69 »

After I updated F1 pointed to the fact that it was trying to find the documentation on the computer (Mac)...I downloaded and created a folder inside the app for the doc, inserted the docs and now it opens on the Web instead !!!

flexionmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by flexionmusic »

Me too: With 9.0.01 F1 opens the PDF file, with 9.0.10 F1 opens the online help. Thnx for the bugfix Steinberg ;)

I would like:

1: Two options in the Help-menu: "Open online help" and "Open documentation"
2: In Preferences the choice "F1 opens... (online help or the documentation)
Cubase 10.5 / Windows 10 64bit / UR44 / NI Komplete / Intel Core i9 octacore / 32Gb / BCR2000 / Nektar P6

User avatar
AlakaLazlo
Member
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:44 am
Contact:

Re: Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by AlakaLazlo »

I'm also on 9.0.10. F1 points to the on-line help only. I have the manual loaded in the proper documents file... :twisted:
Moog IIP, One, and MiniMoog, Dot.Com 110, Cubase 10.0.5, Ableton Live 9.6/64, W10 Pro/64, i75820/GAX99SLI/16Gigs HyperX 2133, 3xSSD, 2xMR816, MidiExpress128, Novation SL61MKII, and SL41MkII, Slate Raven MTI2, HR824s, NS10Ms, Komplet10, Omnisphere 2.5, RMX, Trilian, MMV, Z3ta+, Axon AX50, Variax (heavily customized) JTV69S (the Hexstainocaster) and 700... Hi, I'm Al, and I'm a gear addict...

ChrisDuncan
Member
Posts: 691
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by ChrisDuncan »

Thanks, Lars!

Just went to RTFM and found there was no FM to R, so you saved me hunting it down. Much appreciated.
Control Room: Cubase 10.5.12 | Windows 10 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU| CMC AI
Edit Station: Cubase 10.5.12 | Windows 10 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 22 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH
Keyboard Station: Cubase 10.5.12 | Windows 10 64 bit | 16 gigs memory | UR 22| CMC TP
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth

ashboe69
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by ashboe69 »

I can't understand why Steinberg haven't provided a quick fix for this - I'm not a programmer but this seems easy to do :lol: :lol:

ChrisDuncan
Member
Posts: 691
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Why no link to pdf manual in Help menu?

Post by ChrisDuncan »

As a professional programmer myself I can say that yes, linking to the pdf on the help menu is not a difficult task, but that's not really the issue. They're obviously trying to get away from generating pdf documents and want to steer users towards online help.

Online help has its advantages. If you need to make a change to the documentation, you change the website and everyone automatically gets the new information rather than having to generate a new pdf and make it available for download. And of course, all corporate executives know that being "in the cloud" is trendy and thus marketable.

I personally prefer a pdf for documentation, and there's also the issue many have where they intentionally keep their studio computers disconnected from the Internet. That said, when a company makes a change like this (making it difficult for you to not do it their way, e.g. having to hunt down and download the pdf), it's usually an indication of where they're going whether you like it or not. My crystal ball sees a future version of Cubase where there's no pdf documentation available at all.
Control Room: Cubase 10.5.12 | Windows 10 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU| CMC AI
Edit Station: Cubase 10.5.12 | Windows 10 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 22 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH
Keyboard Station: Cubase 10.5.12 | Windows 10 64 bit | 16 gigs memory | UR 22| CMC TP
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests