Mac GUI fixed?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
claesbjo
Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 7:33 pm
Contact:

Mac GUI fixed?

Post by claesbjo » Wed Dec 07, 2016 3:22 pm

Hi, has anyone on mac tried it and if so, is the (sometimes) unbearable gui sluggishness fixed?
2010 Mac Pro 6-core 3.33 ghz. 24 mb RAM. osx 10.10.1. Cubase 8.0.20, Logic PRO 10.1

Rkmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:32 am
Contact:

Re: Mac GUI fixed?

Post by Rkmusic » Wed Dec 07, 2016 3:53 pm

I would like to know this as well
mac pro 2010-32gb-OSX 10.14.0-Korg m3-Motif xs-Waves gold-Saffire pro 40-liquid saffire 56-Some software synths-glyph drive-Ensoniq mr 76-Logic x-Cubase 10-pro tools 2018

James K
Member
Posts: 831
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Mac GUI fixed?

Post by James K » Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:26 pm

Ditto!!!!
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.0.20
Mavericks Cubase Pro 9.5.5
UR28M
CC121

User avatar
heraldo_jones
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 12:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac GUI fixed?

Post by heraldo_jones » Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:36 pm

I'm experiencing it with Cubase 8.5.20 on Mavericks 10.9.5, but I think it is because of my weak videocard (stock Nvidia GT120 512mb) and the high demanding video resources from OS X. Don't think is a Cubase issue as it aslo happens with Pro Tools 12.
____________________________________________________
HERALDO JONES / Recording, mixing & mastering engineer
World Premiere EG / Online Mixing & Mastering services

User avatar
Steve Helstrip
Member
Posts: 780
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac GUI fixed?

Post by Steve Helstrip » Wed Dec 07, 2016 5:24 pm

Never had any sluggishness here.
Hackintosh, 8700K / 4.8GHz, 16Gb, OSX10.14.4
MacBook Pro Retina (2015), i5, 8Gb, OSX10.14.4
Cubase Pro 10
Vienna Ensemble Pro 6
UAD-2 Octo, Focusrite Clarett Thunderbolt
Cubase user since 1989!

http://www.thethrillseekers.co.uk
http://www.twitter.com/stevehelstrip
http://www.facebook.com/thrillseekersofficial

claesbjo
Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac GUI fixed?

Post by claesbjo » Wed Dec 07, 2016 5:30 pm

Steve Helstrip wrote:Never had any sluggishness here.
I noticed you have a Hackintosh, maybe its better for the GUI?

Other from that It seems to be a general issue when handling audio events and zooming. For example, moving an audio event when magnified is really sluggish and actually quite difficult to move it where you want to. Interestingly enough, when slipping it is fine, not sluggish..weird no me.
2010 Mac Pro 6-core 3.33 ghz. 24 mb RAM. osx 10.10.1. Cubase 8.0.20, Logic PRO 10.1

User avatar
HarrySound
Member
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac GUI fixed?

Post by HarrySound » Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:43 pm

Oh I know the issue your talking about now.
It comes and goes , I've not seen it in s little while though.

Manike
Member
Posts: 767
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac GUI fixed?

Post by Manike » Wed Dec 07, 2016 10:18 pm

not fixed in C9 - EQ frequency graph stutters and the inspector glitches on a trash can mac.
8-Core Trashcan Mac Pro : Mojave : Cubase10.0.40 : MOTU828x : Nektar P6 :
Macbook pro : Mojave
http://www.manikemusic.com

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1343
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac GUI fixed?

Post by In_Stereo » Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:53 pm

Manike wrote:not fixed in C9 - EQ frequency graph stutters and the inspector glitches on a trash can mac.
Are you SERIOUS!? Can more people who are using C9 (not 8.5) specifically on standard Macs (not Hackintosh) report on this?
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1343
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac GUI fixed?

Post by In_Stereo » Thu Dec 08, 2016 12:53 am

Anybody else? This, along with CPU efficiency improvement, is a deal-breaker for me. Would love to hear more reports.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

Rkmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:32 am
Contact:

Re: Mac GUI fixed?

Post by Rkmusic » Thu Dec 08, 2016 1:38 am

I'm still getting GUI lag. Not sure if it's from older projects started in 8.5 but it still lags. Moving your mouse lags the play head too. Some things are snappy but the main things that we used on a daily basis are laggy LIKE ZOOMING in and out :cry:
mac pro 2010-32gb-OSX 10.14.0-Korg m3-Motif xs-Waves gold-Saffire pro 40-liquid saffire 56-Some software synths-glyph drive-Ensoniq mr 76-Logic x-Cubase 10-pro tools 2018

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1343
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac GUI fixed?

Post by In_Stereo » Thu Dec 08, 2016 2:23 am

Rkmusic wrote:I'm still getting GUI lag. Not sure if it's from older projects started in 8.5 but it still lags. Moving your mouse lags the play head too. Some things are snappy but the main things that we used on a daily basis are laggy LIKE ZOOMING in and out :cry:
Great. No more nice guy on here: What a *knuf* drag. Looks like I'm out.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

Rkmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:32 am
Contact:

Re: Mac GUI fixed?

Post by Rkmusic » Thu Dec 08, 2016 3:15 am

In_Stereo wrote:
Rkmusic wrote:I'm still getting GUI lag. Not sure if it's from older projects started in 8.5 but it still lags. Moving your mouse lags the play head too. Some things are snappy but the main things that we used on a daily basis are laggy LIKE ZOOMING in and out :cry:
Great. No more nice guy on here: What a *knuf* drag. Looks like I'm out.
Pro tools 12 is so damn snappy cubase team couldn't focus on what really matters :cry:
mac pro 2010-32gb-OSX 10.14.0-Korg m3-Motif xs-Waves gold-Saffire pro 40-liquid saffire 56-Some software synths-glyph drive-Ensoniq mr 76-Logic x-Cubase 10-pro tools 2018

User avatar
Steve Helstrip
Member
Posts: 780
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac GUI fixed?

Post by Steve Helstrip » Thu Dec 08, 2016 10:01 am

claesbjo wrote:
Steve Helstrip wrote:Never had any sluggishness here.
I noticed you have a Hackintosh, maybe its better for the GUI?

Other from that It seems to be a general issue when handling audio events and zooming. For example, moving an audio event when magnified is really sluggish and actually quite difficult to move it where you want to. Interestingly enough, when slipping it is fine, not sluggish..weird no me.
Also have MBP. although it's not my main system, I've never noticed any gui sluggishness there either.
Hackintosh, 8700K / 4.8GHz, 16Gb, OSX10.14.4
MacBook Pro Retina (2015), i5, 8Gb, OSX10.14.4
Cubase Pro 10
Vienna Ensemble Pro 6
UAD-2 Octo, Focusrite Clarett Thunderbolt
Cubase user since 1989!

http://www.thethrillseekers.co.uk
http://www.twitter.com/stevehelstrip
http://www.facebook.com/thrillseekersofficial

Lasso
Member
Posts: 449
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:10 am
Contact:

Re: Mac GUI fixed?

Post by Lasso » Thu Dec 08, 2016 10:42 am

Nothing wrong on my Apple TB 27" external but I recall problems on my MBPr internal retina display.

It was super bad on my old external monitor through TB --> DVI adapter.
2015 MBP Retina @ 2,8 gHz, High Sierra, Cubase Pro 10, WaveLab Pro 9, UAD Apollo Twin, UAD Apollo Satellite Quad TB

ChrisPurusha
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac GUI fixed?

Post by ChrisPurusha » Thu Dec 08, 2016 10:48 am

I haven't experienced anything like this with my "trash can" Mac.
Cylinder-style Mac Pro, MacOS 10.13.3. Cubase 9.5.10. 3x RME Hammerfall Multifaces in a Sonnet Thunderbolt chassis.

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1343
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac GUI fixed?

Post by In_Stereo » Thu Dec 08, 2016 5:30 pm

In the hopes of me coming back to Cubase at some point: Could the few of you that are NOT experiencing any kind of sluggishness/jerkiness when zooming, etc., please please please get in touch with Fabio/Steinberg Tech and tell them? It's clearly a major problem for many users on many different forums that I've visited, and it would help Steinberg to know about any systems that are not experiencing it. Thank you so much! (I've got a trashcan Mac 6-core, and PT and Reaper and any other apps I can think of are/were all perfectly crisp-moving and fast at all times on it; just Cubase has this issue for me.)

I'll try C9 when the Trial is available, maybe I jumped the gun...though there are some here who are still experiencing the issue. We need to hear from a lot more Mac users on this!
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

mickynoise
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac GUI fixed?

Post by mickynoise » Thu Dec 08, 2016 8:25 pm

Still not fixed for me at least the Gui Slugginess but i hope as is really early they will fix it soon.
Cubase Pro 9.5.30, OSX Sierra

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1343
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac GUI fixed?

Post by In_Stereo » Fri Dec 09, 2016 1:38 am

mickynoise wrote:Still not fixed for me at least the Gui Slugginess but i hope as is really early they will fix it soon.
What kind of Mac, what kind of monitor(s) are you using, and what connection type to your Mac are they?

It shouldn't matter since all other apps work fine except Cubase in this regard, but maybe we can narrow down the problem to help.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

Rkmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:32 am
Contact:

Re: Mac GUI fixed?

Post by Rkmusic » Fri Dec 09, 2016 5:11 am

Hi guys I just downloaded sierra. The mixconsole lag disappeared when moving my mouse around. but the GUI lag is still there on the project page it's not as bad but still not good. I can tell so far from my experience sierra is way more solid than el captain.: From my experience:.Pro tools performance drop on sierra :?
mac pro 2010-32gb-OSX 10.14.0-Korg m3-Motif xs-Waves gold-Saffire pro 40-liquid saffire 56-Some software synths-glyph drive-Ensoniq mr 76-Logic x-Cubase 10-pro tools 2018

User avatar
JTRake
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 10:06 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Mac GUI fixed?

Post by JTRake » Fri Dec 09, 2016 8:37 am

Isn't this gui lag an El Capitan issue? I'm sure I read that Pro Tools also had gui lag issues under El Capitan that went away with Sierra. I have not worked with really large sessions lately but Cubase feels really snappy on my 2015 Macbook Pro running Sierra.
HW: Windows 10, Asus z270 Prime Motherboard, i7 7700, 16GB RAM, Nvidia 1070 gpu | RME Babyface | Novation 61SL MKII | Korg padKONTROL
SW: Cubase 9, Studio One 3, Halion 6, VSTi/Plugins from MCDsp, Toontrack, Plugin Alliance, Waves, Spectrasonics, Kush, U-he, Scuffham, Overloud, D16

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1343
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac GUI fixed?

Post by In_Stereo » Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:09 am

JTRake wrote:Isn't this gui lag an El Capitan issue? I'm sure I read that Pro Tools also had gui lag issues under El Capitan that went away with Sierra. I have not worked with really large sessions lately but Cubase feels really snappy on my 2015 Macbook Pro running Sierra.
When I was running Pro Tools on El Capitan since El Capitan came out, it didn't have any lag. Cubase 8.5 did (and still does under Sierra), but no other apps I used/use.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

Rkmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:32 am
Contact:

Re: Mac GUI fixed?

Post by Rkmusic » Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:18 am

JTRake wrote:Isn't this gui lag an El Capitan issue? I'm sure I read that Pro Tools also had gui lag issues under El Capitan that went away with Sierra. I have not worked with really large sessions lately but Cubase feels really snappy on my 2015 Macbook Pro running Sierra.
I think they fix it in one of the updates pro tools that is. Pro tools 12 has no lag issues. Cubase 8-8.5/9 doesn't lag at all with only midi data virtual instruments only, its smooth as butter. When I start adding audio tracks to the project it's starts getting sluggish.
mac pro 2010-32gb-OSX 10.14.0-Korg m3-Motif xs-Waves gold-Saffire pro 40-liquid saffire 56-Some software synths-glyph drive-Ensoniq mr 76-Logic x-Cubase 10-pro tools 2018

Rkmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:32 am
Contact:

Re: Mac GUI fixed?

Post by Rkmusic » Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:20 am

In_Stereo wrote:
JTRake wrote:Isn't this gui lag an El Capitan issue? I'm sure I read that Pro Tools also had gui lag issues under El Capitan that went away with Sierra. I have not worked with really large sessions lately but Cubase feels really snappy on my 2015 Macbook Pro running Sierra.
When I was running Pro Tools on El Capitan since El Capitan came out, it didn't have any lag. Cubase 8.5 did (and still does under Sierra), but no other apps I used/use.
In stereo if you click show no waveform does your projects lag?
mac pro 2010-32gb-OSX 10.14.0-Korg m3-Motif xs-Waves gold-Saffire pro 40-liquid saffire 56-Some software synths-glyph drive-Ensoniq mr 76-Logic x-Cubase 10-pro tools 2018

User avatar
Fabio Bartolini
Moderator
Posts: 1237
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: Mac GUI fixed?

Post by Fabio Bartolini » Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:21 am

In_Stereo wrote:Could the few of you that are NOT experiencing any kind of sluggishness/jerkiness when zooming, etc., please please please get in touch with Fabio/Steinberg Tech and tell them?
Sorry, this is not going to work. We have hundreds of systems not showing the issue, analysing these is completely useless, we need to check the systems showing problems.

@JTRake: You are probably referring to this?
http://www.pro-tools-expert.com/home-pa ... our-advice
Fabio Bartolini, Senior Support Representative
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, SoundCloud and Google+!

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests