PUNCH IN/OUT BUG, still in 8.5.20

Use this forum for an overview of collected issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
homebrewprod
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 2:43 pm
Contact:

PUNCH IN/OUT BUG, still in 8.5.20

Post by homebrewprod » Sun Oct 30, 2016 7:22 pm

These 2 bugs were introduced from when alternative punch in/ out point where launched. I have reported them MANY times and it's driving me totally insane not getting through here:

LOCK PUNCH POINTS TO LOCATORS
When this options is set, Cubase operates as expected for a while. But after a couple of minutes of normal operation, the option is un-ticked and I have to go back in into the menues and find the option and tick it again! Totally dirups my workflow!

LOCATOR TURNED OF AFTER RECORD
All the way up to the introduction of alternative Punch In/Out point, these would be set inactive after recording. This is also described this way in the manual to work this way. So, in start of recording the Punc In would be lit. On start of recording the light would be off. So that when you started at left locator again, it should not record.

To report this today, interrupted my session and the workflow, using some 30 minutes just to do this.
Similarly I have spent previously.

Steinberg, can you please make it be worth the effort of reporting bugs to you and not make this forum a popularity contest where most votes count.

This is a serious bug!
Attachments
punch1.png
(51.58 KiB) Not downloaded yet
on.png
(94.37 KiB) Not downloaded yet
off.png
(88.38 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Fabio Bartolini
Moderator
Posts: 1377
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: PUNCH IN/OUT BUG, still in 8.5.20

Post by Fabio Bartolini » Mon Oct 31, 2016 12:01 pm

Hello,

LOCK PUNCH POINTS TO LOCATORS
I cannot reproduce this one - are you using the 'cogwheel' icon beside the locators in the Transport panel to lock the punch?

LOCATOR TURNED OF AFTER RECORD
Do you have the 'Deactivate Punch In on Stop' option enabled in Preferences -> Record?

Kind regards,
Fabio Bartolini - Test Engineer
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

PC1: Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X, i7-8700K, 16GB Corsair DDR4 2666MHz, ASUS Dual RTX 2060S 8GB, Windows 10 Pro
PC2: GA-Z170-Gaming K3, i7-6700K, 16GB Corsair DDR4 2133MHz, ASUS Dual GTX 1060 6GB, Windows 10 (8.1 and 7 Pro backwards comp.)
PC3: GA-H97-HD3, i5-4690K, 16GB Corsair DDR3 1600MHz, Sapphire RX 570 Pulse 4GB, Windows 10 Pro (7 Pro backwards comp.)
Office DAW 1: GA-X570 Gaming X, Ryzen 7 3700X, 16GB HyperX DDR4 3200MHz, Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB, Windows 10 Pro
Office DAW 2: Mac Mini 2018, i7 3.2 GHz, 32GB DDR4, Intel HD 630, MacOS Catalina

homebrewprod
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 2:43 pm
Contact:

Re: PUNCH IN/OUT BUG, still in 8.5.20

Post by homebrewprod » Sun Nov 13, 2016 7:30 pm

LOCATOR TURNED OF AFTER RECORD
Do you have the 'Deactivate Punch In on Stop' option enabled in Preferences -> Record?
- This totally fixed it. This must have been an option that was changed or added to around 8. Who would want that to default to off?
- Thanks for that one

homebrewprod
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 2:43 pm
Contact:

Re: PUNCH IN/OUT BUG, still in 8.5.20

Post by homebrewprod » Sun Nov 13, 2016 7:39 pm

LOCK PUNCH POINTS TO LOCATORS
I cannot reproduce this one - are you using the 'cogwheel' icon beside the locators in the Transport panel to lock the punch?

I manage to reproduce this one finally:
At certain states, commads in the project window that require ALT + Mouse click: such as draw a part in (Alt + Draw), duplicate part (alt + drag) etc changes the menu option
Attachments
2.png
Dragging and drawing new elements using Alt + Mouse changes the state
(214.25 KiB) Not downloaded yet
1.png
Punch set as wanted
(225.43 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Fabio Bartolini
Moderator
Posts: 1377
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: PUNCH IN/OUT BUG, still in 8.5.20

Post by Fabio Bartolini » Tue Nov 15, 2016 9:13 am

Hello,

this is what I tried:

-- Open Project
-- Draw part (alt + draw)
-- Duplicate part (alt + drag)
-- Keep on drawing, duplicating... then duplicate and draw again on several tracks

Would something like this disable it for you? I still can't see this.
Did you find a consistent way to reproduce using a series of actions like above, any other actions in between?

By the way, I'm checking this on Windows 8.1, which OS are you on?

Edit: I assume you tried to start Cubase with fresh preferences already?
Fabio Bartolini - Test Engineer
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

PC1: Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X, i7-8700K, 16GB Corsair DDR4 2666MHz, ASUS Dual RTX 2060S 8GB, Windows 10 Pro
PC2: GA-Z170-Gaming K3, i7-6700K, 16GB Corsair DDR4 2133MHz, ASUS Dual GTX 1060 6GB, Windows 10 (8.1 and 7 Pro backwards comp.)
PC3: GA-H97-HD3, i5-4690K, 16GB Corsair DDR3 1600MHz, Sapphire RX 570 Pulse 4GB, Windows 10 Pro (7 Pro backwards comp.)
Office DAW 1: GA-X570 Gaming X, Ryzen 7 3700X, 16GB HyperX DDR4 3200MHz, Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB, Windows 10 Pro
Office DAW 2: Mac Mini 2018, i7 3.2 GHz, 32GB DDR4, Intel HD 630, MacOS Catalina

homebrewprod
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 2:43 pm
Contact:

Re: PUNCH IN/OUT BUG, still in 8.5.20

Post by homebrewprod » Fri Nov 18, 2016 12:03 am

Hi
W8.1 :-)

yeas, I can reproduce it:

New, empty project
Lock Punch in/ Out
F2 to open Transport
So all edits in image attached

Another way to reproduce it:
Lock Punch in/ Out
Click ALT on Punch In on transport, turns off the option as well.
This does not make sense either as I've just asked to lock to Left + Right Locator.

Could the latter also be cause for the bug you are trying to reproduce? Eg if the part is dragged passed the Tranposrt or somthing? Seems to me to be overlapping commands here?
Attachments
transport1.JPG
(166.22 KiB) Not downloaded yet

homebrewprod
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 2:43 pm
Contact:

Re: PUNCH IN/OUT BUG, still in 8.5.20

Post by homebrewprod » Fri Nov 18, 2016 12:08 am

The alternative punch in/ out function should as matter of fact be disabled (an taken out of the program for my sake), but the option Lock Punch in/out, should disable able all functions related to alternative punch in

User avatar
Fabio Bartolini
Moderator
Posts: 1377
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: PUNCH IN/OUT BUG, still in 8.5.20

Post by Fabio Bartolini » Fri Nov 18, 2016 9:59 am

homebrewprod wrote: yeas, I can reproduce it:

New, empty project
Lock Punch in/ Out
F2 to open Transport
So all edits in image attached
Sorry, I don't get this.
homebrewprod wrote: Another way to reproduce it:
Lock Punch in/ Out
Click ALT on Punch In on transport, turns off the option as well.
This does not make sense either as I've just asked to lock to Left + Right Locator.
This is the expected behaviour. [alt] + click sets the punch-in / punch-out point to the cursor position. Consequently, when you use [alt] + click, the punch point you click is re-positioned and the punch points unlocked. I see your point here: when you lock the points, you want them locked, but that modifier key does explicitly what you don't want to do (re-positioning requires unlocking and this can't be done by mistake, as it uses a modifier key).
Fabio Bartolini - Test Engineer
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

PC1: Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X, i7-8700K, 16GB Corsair DDR4 2666MHz, ASUS Dual RTX 2060S 8GB, Windows 10 Pro
PC2: GA-Z170-Gaming K3, i7-6700K, 16GB Corsair DDR4 2133MHz, ASUS Dual GTX 1060 6GB, Windows 10 (8.1 and 7 Pro backwards comp.)
PC3: GA-H97-HD3, i5-4690K, 16GB Corsair DDR3 1600MHz, Sapphire RX 570 Pulse 4GB, Windows 10 Pro (7 Pro backwards comp.)
Office DAW 1: GA-X570 Gaming X, Ryzen 7 3700X, 16GB HyperX DDR4 3200MHz, Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB, Windows 10 Pro
Office DAW 2: Mac Mini 2018, i7 3.2 GHz, 32GB DDR4, Intel HD 630, MacOS Catalina

homebrewprod
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 2:43 pm
Contact:

Re: PUNCH IN/OUT BUG, still in 8.5.20

Post by homebrewprod » Sun Nov 20, 2016 3:02 pm

Thank you for your time here Fabio. Very much appreciated :-)

I absolutely understand that the Alt + Click does the desired behavior.

Although, I still have the same problem that Lock Punch in/out "turns itself" off after a few edits. in fact in the project I'm working on today, I did a few Alt + Click and a few Alt + Drag and ended up with the same result. I am not a programmer, but suspect that there might be some overlapping commands or something as the alt + click is also found on the transporter.

Anyhow, is there anything else I can do to document this?
See attached from todays test that triggered the lock to be turned off...
Attachments
Capture.JPG
(300.22 KiB) Not downloaded yet

homebrewprod
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 2:43 pm
Contact:

Re: PUNCH IN/OUT BUG, still in 8.5.20

Post by homebrewprod » Sun Nov 27, 2016 11:20 pm

Anything else I could do to document this??

wavefunktion
Junior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 7:06 pm
Contact:

Re: PUNCH IN/OUT BUG, still in 8.5.20

Post by wavefunktion » Sun Nov 27, 2016 11:34 pm

Try and create a screen capture video recording as pictures can speak a thousand words, so video can speak a million words ? :o

and keep bumping the thread until fixed :P

goodluck dood
OS: Windows 7 64bit
DAW: Cubase Pro 8 v8.0.30.536 (64bit) & Cubase Pro 8 v8.5.20 (64bit)
CPU: i7 960 Bloomfield (Turbo & C1E disabled)
Motherboard: ASUS P6X58D-E x58 Chipset 1366 Socket (BIOS v701)
Graphic Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX970 - Driver v373.06
RAM: 12GB Corsair Dominator (CMP12GX3M3A1600C9)
HDD: Samsung EVO SSD 1TB (MZ-75E1T0)
Audio Interface: RME Fireface UCX - Driver v1.095 Rev 46
PSU: Corsair AX860 (CP-9020044-AU)
Network Adapter: Intel Gigabit CT PCIe (EXPI9301CT)
My Youtube Steinberg Cubase v8.0.30 Bugs, Errors & Performance Reporting Channel
My Youtube Steinberg Cubase v8.5.20 Bugs, Errors & Performance Reporting Channel
My Youtube Steinberg Cubase v8.5.20 Feature Requests & Suggestions
"I just wanna make music & have fun doing so..."

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9370
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: PUNCH IN/OUT BUG, still in 8.5.20

Post by -steve- » Mon Nov 28, 2016 1:55 am

homebrewprod wrote:Anything else I could do to document this??
Most helpful would be the exact series of steps that create the condition- create a new project with very few tracks, and a small number of events to keep things simple.

Video in this case would not be as helpful since we need to know about the modifier keys.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 gb | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb | macbook Pro 2011, 10.13.6 | 8 gb

wavefunktion
Junior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 7:06 pm
Contact:

Re: PUNCH IN/OUT BUG, still in 8.5.20

Post by wavefunktion » Tue Nov 29, 2016 1:22 am

A suggestion to help remedy that in a video would be to use the Windows On Screen Keyboard that shows the key stroke presses in real time, but yes a detailed description of modifiers keys in text would be better.
OS: Windows 7 64bit
DAW: Cubase Pro 8 v8.0.30.536 (64bit) & Cubase Pro 8 v8.5.20 (64bit)
CPU: i7 960 Bloomfield (Turbo & C1E disabled)
Motherboard: ASUS P6X58D-E x58 Chipset 1366 Socket (BIOS v701)
Graphic Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX970 - Driver v373.06
RAM: 12GB Corsair Dominator (CMP12GX3M3A1600C9)
HDD: Samsung EVO SSD 1TB (MZ-75E1T0)
Audio Interface: RME Fireface UCX - Driver v1.095 Rev 46
PSU: Corsair AX860 (CP-9020044-AU)
Network Adapter: Intel Gigabit CT PCIe (EXPI9301CT)
My Youtube Steinberg Cubase v8.0.30 Bugs, Errors & Performance Reporting Channel
My Youtube Steinberg Cubase v8.5.20 Bugs, Errors & Performance Reporting Channel
My Youtube Steinberg Cubase v8.5.20 Feature Requests & Suggestions
"I just wanna make music & have fun doing so..."

homebrewprod
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 2:43 pm
Contact:

Re: PUNCH IN/OUT BUG, still in 8.5.20

Post by homebrewprod » Tue Dec 06, 2016 10:41 pm

I will try to get that done... thanks

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests