re send the right patches to external midi module/keyboard

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1811
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

re send the right patches to external midi module/keyboard

Post by mozizo »

HI....
how to let cubase re send the right patch (program voice) to external midi module ? (without program change command in key editor.)
for example, i created project with 16 midi channels routed to external midi module device, for each channel i chose the program(sound patch) from the inspectors "program selector" area(have "midi device" for that module) and all play good, now let's say for example, excitedly i press the wrong button on the module and switch it to one voice mode, then i go to multitimbral mode again,but the assigned programs(patches) are wrong, and cubase plays the wrong sounds(patches). to play the right sound again i have to reopen the project or change the sound on every midi channel one by one again.. :|
is there some kind of command to "re send" the "right"program(patch) again to the module by one click?
cubase 10.5 pro ,halion 6 GA5 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 24170
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: re send the right patches to external midi module/keyboa

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

To be able to send the Program Change data to your hardware from Cubase, you have to store the data in Cubase. There is no way around.

So you can use MIDI CCs (Bank Select MSB and LSB = CC00 & CC32) + Program Change.

Or you can define you hardware in the MIDI Device Manager, and use Patch names in the Inspector.

Or you can Bulk Dump your settings from your HW as SysEx.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1811
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: re send the right patches to external midi module/keyboa

Post by mozizo »

I set a "MIDI DEVICE" for my hardware,it sends the right sounds.. I tought maybe there is a one command/action to resend all sounds to the hardware,for every midi channel from the inspector in case I lost them... Thanks anyway
cubase 10.5 pro ,halion 6 GA5 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 24170
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: re send the right patches to external midi module/keyboa

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

I see, now I get your point.

Actually, they should be sent everytime, you hit Start, thanks to the Chase Events (Preferences > MIDI). Are you sure, Program Change and MIDI CCs 0 & 32 (Bank Select ?SB and LSB) are not filtered out, from the Chase Events in your Preferences?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Nickeldome
Member
Posts: 778
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: re send the right patches to external midi module/keyboa

Post by Nickeldome »

Where are the golden day of the old Device Manager in Cubase 3? This had preconfigured bank managers for most common synths (much like MidiQuest but a lot more user friendly). You could really have a ‘total recall’ of all connected midi hardware when opening a project then called arrangement (arr) or song (all). You could import/export complete patch banks and write Sysex patch data to the temp memory of a synth. So you wouldn’t even have to store it permanently when opening a project. But enough of day-dreaming of better days. (This really was better for external gear! And I still don't know why they removed this from future versions.)

Nowadays I ‘try’ to use MidiQuest to accomplish the same but it’s not a very pleasant program to use imo. And some synths do not really agree with it. For one thing it tends to lock up with my D50 when sending patches sometimes.

What I also do to get the patches to the synths; You can configure most synths to send out Sysex preset data on program change. I keep one pre-count bar in the project and I record the Sysex of the combination/performance into this bar on the receiving channel. So when I start to play the Sysex is send to the synths/module. After this you can send other midi messages like program changes or CC data to specific channels. It’s probably not the most
elegant way but it works and most of the time it beats struggling with MidiQuest.

I’m not a big fan on chasing Sysex events because when you stop playing and the Sysex is resend it will most of the time reset all volume and other CC data that has been set earlier. So it could blow out your ears/speakers when volume is set to 127. That’s why I specifically turn this of in chased events. I simply read the bar once and set the locater at bar 1. So when skipping back to the left locater it will start past the Sysex. You only need to upload it once, no need to chase it. To be absolutely sure you can mute the Sysex parts and only enable them for the first read.

When you want to make other changes permanent to a Combination/Performance you will have to write it in the synth and then re-record the Sysex in the project. That’s where MidiQuest is better to use because you can record any change and upload it to the synth at anytime without actually writing anything in the synth itself. It also has editors for most synths so you can make all kinds of adjustments and save them if you like without touching the internal memory of the synth itself. That is if it works like it’s supposed to, which is unfortunately not always the case?
Cubase Pro - Wavelab Pro (always latest version) Windows 10 Pro 64bit / Asus TUF Mark 1 X299 / i9-7900X (at 4.3 GHZ) / 64GB RAM / Geforce GTX 1060 6G / System drive Samsung M.2 1TB 960Pro / Kontakt drives 3 x 1TB Samsung Evo / Project/Audio/Archive drive 10TB Seagate Ironwolf - Audio interface: Roland UA-1610 / External gear: Kawai MP11 / Kurzweil PC88 / Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 / Roland JV1080 / Roland D50 / Korg 01/W / Elka EK22 – Midi controllers: Roli Seabord Rise 49, SoundQuest 8port-SE / Nektar Panorama P1 / Roland Octopad II / Akai MPD18 - Main VST's: Kontakt 6 / Padshop Pro / Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.6, Trillian & Keyscape / Arturia V-collection / FXpansion BFD 3 / Toontrack Superior Drummer 3
All time user of Cubase since Atari V2 (around 1990)

chikitin
Senior Member
Posts: 1231
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 3:15 am
Contact:

Re: re send the right patches to external midi module/keyboa

Post by chikitin »

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Tue Aug 02, 2016 7:17 am
Or you can define your hardware in the MIDI Device Manager, and use Patch names in the Inspector.
I am doing exactly this. However, I need to from time to time, select a different patch and then correct patch again so that Cubase transmit successfully the correct patch info to my PSR Yamaha workstation.
MacBook Pro & iMac, 16GB RAM SSD 1 TB, Cubase Pro the latest w/ two external 32" Monitors
Surround configuration with subwoofer.
Dorico 3.5, Finale, VST Connect Pro, NI Komplete 5, EWQLSO, HSO, GA 5
Synths: Yamaha PSR-A3000, Roland Fantom XR
Interface: Steinberg MR-816CSX, UR 22 mkII
Effects: Rocktron DSP, Lexicon MPX 550
Controller: Steinberg CC121, Yamaha KX25,49,88, Korg Nano Kontrol, Boss RC 300, Yamaha MFC 10, CMC-PD

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests