HALion Sonic 3

All topics on HALion 4, HALion 5 and Steinberg's VST workstations HALion Sonic 1 and HALion Sonic 2
Post Reply
User avatar
rumlee
Member
Posts: 390
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:23 pm
Contact:

HALion Sonic 3

Post by rumlee » Fri Apr 08, 2016 6:28 pm

When can I expect HALion Sonic 3 to replace the almost 3 years old HALion Sonic 2?
Cubase Pro 8.5.30, Wavelab Elements 9.0.35, Win 10 64 bit, cpu - Core i7-6700K 4 x 4 ghz quad core, DDR4-2666 32 GB RAM kingston hyperx fury, Nvidia Asus GTX 980 4 GB STRIX, SSD Samsung 950 pro 512 GB, SSD Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB, Seagate 1000 GB 7200rpm, Presonus Studio 192 interface + many VSTs...

User avatar
mroekalea
Senior Member
Posts: 1377
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:12 am
Contact:

Re: HALion Sonic 3

Post by mroekalea » Fri Apr 08, 2016 6:35 pm

after we have halion 6 ;-)
Menoj

If nothing goes right, go left!


Win10, 3930K@3.2Ghz, 32GB, 2 x DELL u2713hm monitors (5120 x 1440), monitoring: ADAM P22A with SUB8, Audient ID14 & Behringer XR18 & Focusrite safire pro 26IO, Cubase 9.5 pro & artist 8.5, wavelab 9.5 elements, HSO, RND Portico 5033, CC121, Cubase IC pro, Halion 6, GA4, VG2, Arturia Analog Lab, TRacks CS grand + all custom elements, BFD3, Amplitube 3&4 (fender, orange, SVX collections, slash), Z3TA+2, HSO library, many Waves plugs, Plugin Alliance plugins (BX, SPL, Maag & Elysia), NI Komplete 11 Ultimate, AIR instrument expansion pack v3, Melodyne Studio v4, Soundtoys 5, Lexicon native PCM reverb bundle, UJAM Virtual Guitarist complete bundle, SoniVox Premium collection, Ezkeys upright & Vintage Fender Jazz basses, Fender Bassman 100, Markbass TTE500 , FMC Neo 2128 cab

User avatar
mroekalea
Senior Member
Posts: 1377
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:12 am
Contact:

Re: HALion Sonic 3

Post by mroekalea » Fri Apr 08, 2016 6:36 pm

HalionSonic is based on Halion, so it would be logic that first Halion 6 is brought up...
Menoj

If nothing goes right, go left!


Win10, 3930K@3.2Ghz, 32GB, 2 x DELL u2713hm monitors (5120 x 1440), monitoring: ADAM P22A with SUB8, Audient ID14 & Behringer XR18 & Focusrite safire pro 26IO, Cubase 9.5 pro & artist 8.5, wavelab 9.5 elements, HSO, RND Portico 5033, CC121, Cubase IC pro, Halion 6, GA4, VG2, Arturia Analog Lab, TRacks CS grand + all custom elements, BFD3, Amplitube 3&4 (fender, orange, SVX collections, slash), Z3TA+2, HSO library, many Waves plugs, Plugin Alliance plugins (BX, SPL, Maag & Elysia), NI Komplete 11 Ultimate, AIR instrument expansion pack v3, Melodyne Studio v4, Soundtoys 5, Lexicon native PCM reverb bundle, UJAM Virtual Guitarist complete bundle, SoniVox Premium collection, Ezkeys upright & Vintage Fender Jazz basses, Fender Bassman 100, Markbass TTE500 , FMC Neo 2128 cab

User avatar
rumlee
Member
Posts: 390
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion Sonic 3

Post by rumlee » Fri Apr 08, 2016 7:45 pm

they were released the same time, so when to expect a replace?
Cubase Pro 8.5.30, Wavelab Elements 9.0.35, Win 10 64 bit, cpu - Core i7-6700K 4 x 4 ghz quad core, DDR4-2666 32 GB RAM kingston hyperx fury, Nvidia Asus GTX 980 4 GB STRIX, SSD Samsung 950 pro 512 GB, SSD Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB, Seagate 1000 GB 7200rpm, Presonus Studio 192 interface + many VSTs...

User avatar
rumlee
Member
Posts: 390
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion Sonic 3

Post by rumlee » Sun Apr 10, 2016 8:34 am

I am using Cubase 8.5, so I do not see the potential in buying Sonic 2, when I already have sonic se 2, that´s why I ask. So Steinberg, can you please give us an update on progress?
Cubase Pro 8.5.30, Wavelab Elements 9.0.35, Win 10 64 bit, cpu - Core i7-6700K 4 x 4 ghz quad core, DDR4-2666 32 GB RAM kingston hyperx fury, Nvidia Asus GTX 980 4 GB STRIX, SSD Samsung 950 pro 512 GB, SSD Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB, Seagate 1000 GB 7200rpm, Presonus Studio 192 interface + many VSTs...

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3191
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion Sonic 3

Post by jaslan » Sun Apr 10, 2016 11:28 am

You are basing whether or not you should upgrade on the numbers and letters used in the name but you should be basing it on the fearures and whether or not you need them, in my opinion. When HS3 does come out, my guess is that cubase will include "HSSE3" anyway so it will be the same dilemma. HS2 has a vastly greater library than HSSE2 but, more importantly, it has much greater capability to edit the programs, for example the Flex Phraser, modulation, envelopes, effects, etc. HALion is even more powerful in these respects. There are some demos you can try to see if the features benefit you enough to warrant the price.
Hope this helps.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

User avatar
rumlee
Member
Posts: 390
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion Sonic 3

Post by rumlee » Sun Apr 10, 2016 2:34 pm

jaslan wrote:You are basing whether or not you should upgrade on the numbers and letters used in the name but you should be basing it on the fearures and whether or not you need them, in my opinion. When HS3 does come out, my guess is that cubase will include "HSSE3" anyway so it will be the same dilemma. HS2 has a vastly greater library than HSSE2 but, more importantly, it has much greater capability to edit the programs, for example the Flex Phraser, modulation, envelopes, effects, etc. HALion is even more powerful in these respects. There are some demos you can try to see if the features benefit you enough to warrant the price.
Hope this helps.
I am not basing it only on the numbers.
Cubase Pro 8.5.30, Wavelab Elements 9.0.35, Win 10 64 bit, cpu - Core i7-6700K 4 x 4 ghz quad core, DDR4-2666 32 GB RAM kingston hyperx fury, Nvidia Asus GTX 980 4 GB STRIX, SSD Samsung 950 pro 512 GB, SSD Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB, Seagate 1000 GB 7200rpm, Presonus Studio 192 interface + many VSTs...

User avatar
Muziksculp
Member
Posts: 465
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:08 am
Contact:

Re: HALion Sonic 3

Post by Muziksculp » Sun Apr 10, 2016 8:10 pm

Hi,

Hopefully HS3 will have a fully re-sizable GUI, like Halion 5 . The current HS2 is a bit of a pain to work with.

Oh and I'm surely looking forward to see what Halion 6 and Halion Sonic 3 will offer.

Cheers,
Muziksculp
Cubase Pro 9 , Groove Agent 4, Halion 6, Halion Sonic 3, Padshop Pro, RND Portico EQ & Compressor, Wavelab Pro 9, The Grand 3, Antelope Audio Goliath, Antelope Audio Pure2., Windows 8.1 Pro

trusampler
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 3:59 am
Contact:

Re: HALion Sonic 3

Post by trusampler » Wed Jun 08, 2016 1:01 pm

Please Steinberg concentrate on sound quality for Halion Sonic 3. Feature wise Halion Sonic 2, is great,perhaps a larger Gui is needed,but sound quality should imo be their major new feature for the next version.

They have the opportunity to make this a leader in the bread n butter dept. one of the things thats missing in the rompler area in vsts.

Being that Yamaha has released the new Montage,which completely leaves the XS,XF in terms of sound quality, I would hope now, we can truly get at least the sound quality of the ES or XS models within Halion SONIC 3.

Currently the sound quality in Halion SONIC leaves alot to be desired,please Steinberg concentrate on sound quality for version 3.

trusampler
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 3:59 am
Contact:

Re: HALion Sonic 3

Post by trusampler » Sun Jun 19, 2016 12:18 pm

Faster Load times, perhaps a feature like Kontakt where sounds are compressed to load faster?
Better Guitar patches both acoustic and electric, played with the older Motif XS today,and it's a shame that the XS can still sound better in terms of sound quality on most patches then Halion Sonic version 1,now 2, please with V 3 don't let this be a reality.

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2878
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion Sonic 3

Post by Romantique Tp » Sun Jun 19, 2016 4:23 pm

Halion Sonic 2 already has better sounding samples than the Motif XF, the patches are just simpler and there's far less abuse of effects.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

trusampler
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 3:59 am
Contact:

Re: HALion Sonic 3

Post by trusampler » Tue Jun 21, 2016 12:16 am

Romantique Tp wrote:Halion Sonic 2 already has better sounding samples than the Motif XF, the patches are just simpler and there's far less abuse of effects.
Not sure where or what kind of monitors or DA/converters your listening to that on, but that statement is clearly not fact. Halion Sonic may have larger sample data, but better sounding samples? Im in disagreement with that statement, as an owner of the Montage, as well as previous Rack XS,Motif XF. I know this board is very well,and one thing Yamaha didn't skimp on is there sample data, although it's compressed into a little over 300 megabytes of Rom,it still sounds alot better then Halion Sonic 2.

Take for instance,if you strip down a patch from both the XS and Halion Sonic, meaning no effects. Play each note, you will notice the XS has more body to the patches, why? Why is the key,and the answer is, the XS has 8 elements or better terms (8 layers) assigned to each patch, Yamaha sound designers (who over the course of years with the Motif series) have expertly crafted the best tones they can out of each element and programmed it very well accordingly.

Halion sonic 2 has 4 options to layer a patch in their edit page. This is just one equation to it's shortcomings on the playback level, but along with that,it doesn't have the history in the patches that the Yamaha does. Meaning, the patches in Halion Sonic are not identical to those of the XS, so thats why the samples sound so different.

What I would like to see is Yamaha take Halion Sonic to a new sonic level, and at least give us the same sound quality of that of an XS. This would at the very minimum require adding more layers to the edit page, then perhaps Yamaha sound designers, could duplicate those XS patches in Halion Sonic.

You brought up an excellent point regarding the Effects in halion sonic, they are ridiculous in some cases, what they should do, is strip the FX program the best patches they can, and then add FX, but in the case of the current Halion sonic, I think those sound designers, were only able to work with what architecture they we're given at the time.

Hypersonic 2 (developed by Wizoo - now AIR) had imo much better sounding Efx ( but way less modern) and a better synth (wavetables etc.) this is why the synth sounds in Hypersonic 2 even sound better then Halion Sonic 2, at close listen.

This post doesn't mean Halion Sonic 2 isn't a good rompler, but great, like an XS,not even close. :mrgreen:

trusampler
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 3:59 am
Contact:

Re: HALion Sonic 3

Post by trusampler » Tue Jul 05, 2016 6:19 am

Back on topic:

1. Sound Quality - Please update the content and audio engine to sound more like the hardware.

2. I'd like to see patches load alot faster. My Halion Sonic data is on an SSD and it could and should be alot faster for loading these samples. Take Kontakt compression .ncw files for example, much faster then halion.

3. Better emulations of the Patches from the Yamaha Motif ES,XS or even the abilty to load patches from the motif series. Make it a real Rompler based on the exact Yamaha hardware, or create a completely new product using the sounds and samples used in the older hardware no longer being sold.Korg did this and did very well obviously.

cnk
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 12:21 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion Sonic 3

Post by cnk » Fri Aug 19, 2016 10:40 am

So when will we see Halion 6 and/or Halion Sonic 3?

cnk
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 12:21 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion Sonic 3

Post by cnk » Fri Nov 11, 2016 8:36 am

any news?

User avatar
Tacman7
Member
Posts: 463
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion Sonic 3

Post by Tacman7 » Wed Dec 07, 2016 3:23 pm

I would like an update to change the gui so you can see it, the plug in is small on my screen.
Win10 i7 7700k 16gb ram 1TB SSD
AsusH270M-PLUS StudioKonnekt 48

User avatar
Felipe Garcia
Moderator
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 9:31 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: HALion Sonic 3

Post by Felipe Garcia » Thu Feb 09, 2017 3:19 pm

The wait is over: HALion 6 and HALion Sonic 3 have been released today.

https://www.steinberg.net/en/products/v ... alion.html
Joaquin Felipe Garcia, Senior Support Representative
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, SoundCloud and Google+!

Post Reply

Return to “Halion 5 | Halion 4 | Halion Sonic | Halion Sonic 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests