wavelab9 kills audio montages from previous versions

Post questions and find answers on our latest WaveLab releases here.
Post Reply
fluxgold1
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 9:06 pm
Contact:

wavelab9 kills audio montages from previous versions

Post by fluxgold1 » Thu Apr 28, 2016 5:23 pm

hi,

wavelab 9 crashes audio montages from previous versions for older versions. if i load a old version from 8.x into 9.x .... don't modify it just load for example. close wavelab 9 - open 8 and load the montage in there - then the whole project is not usable any more... its killed for all time. all sequences are filled with noise.

i have attached you a montage for example

https://www.dropbox.com/s/z6lcyzghjn5z5 ... h.zip?dl=0

greets
flux

fluxgold1
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 9:06 pm
Contact:

Re: wavelab9 kills audio montages from previous versions

Post by fluxgold1 » Thu Apr 28, 2016 6:16 pm

open that montage in 9 ... close 9 ... open 8 and load in in there and you see its totally destroyed

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6642
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: wavelab9 kills audio montages from previous versions

Post by PG » Thu Apr 28, 2016 7:55 pm

You can open wavelab 8 audio montage inside walebab 9. But not the other way round.
Philippe

fluxgold1
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 9:06 pm
Contact:

Re: wavelab9 kills audio montages from previous versions

Post by fluxgold1 » Thu Apr 28, 2016 10:51 pm

yes but i don't safe that montage in 9 ... i just open it .... then its killed automatically ... sounds like bull**** to me

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6642
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: wavelab9 kills audio montages from previous versions

Post by PG » Thu Apr 28, 2016 11:20 pm

When you open a montage in WaveLab, it is rewritten when you close it, to save things such as zoom, selection, some options, etc... Or you ave to select this option (WaveLab 8.x screenshot)
2016-04-29_00-18-38.png
(34.84 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Philippe

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: wavelab9 kills audio montages from previous versions

Post by bob99 » Fri Apr 29, 2016 4:49 am

fluxgold1 wrote:if i load a old version from 8.x into 9.x .... don't modify it just load for example. close wavelab 9 - open 8 and load the montage in there - then the whole project is not usable any more... its killed for all time. all sequences are filled with noise.
What OS are you on? I'm not getting that on Windows 7 with Wavelab 9 64 and Wavelab 8.5.30 64 (and I don't have "Do Not Save" selected). The montage still opens OK in 8.5.30 after opening it in 9. I'd be very unhappy if it didn't, because I'm pretty sure I'd read there was going to be at least some backward compatibility as long as Wavelab 9 specific functions were not applied to the montage. For use in places running multiple versions of Wavelab. If there are dangers of overwriting an 8.5 montage making it unreadable in 8.5, I'd much prefer a .v9 "save as" be required with filename change before modification, as available with .v7 and .v8.
Last edited by bob99 on Sat Apr 30, 2016 8:36 pm, edited 3 times in total.

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: wavelab9 kills audio montages from previous versions

Post by bob99 » Fri Apr 29, 2016 5:17 am

Now I've done an edit to the WL8 montage in Wavelab 9, and added a marker, then saved. And it opens fine in 8.5.30, with the edit and marker, and the audio is fine. So we're not getting the same result.

fluxgold1
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 9:06 pm
Contact:

Re: wavelab9 kills audio montages from previous versions

Post by fluxgold1 » Fri Apr 29, 2016 10:51 am

i have this version Version 8.5.0 (build 849) - 32 bit
and im on OS X 10.11.4

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: wavelab9 kills audio montages from previous versions

Post by bob99 » Fri Apr 29, 2016 11:25 am

On Windows 7 it also works fine back to Wavelab 8.0.4 32bit, and back to 8.5.30 64 with all sorts of 64 bit clip plugins.
Last edited by bob99 on Fri Apr 29, 2016 8:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

fluxgold1
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 9:06 pm
Contact:

Re: wavelab9 kills audio montages from previous versions

Post by fluxgold1 » Fri Apr 29, 2016 2:42 pm

ok then its the question why it don't works on OS X but on win7

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: wavelab9 kills audio montages from previous versions

Post by bob99 » Wed May 25, 2016 8:24 pm

Has anyone else here tried this on Mac? Was this an isolated case that didn't work, but might work on other Mac configurations?

Also,
PG wrote:You can open wavelab 8 audio montage inside walebab 9. But not the other way round.
PG, I'm still a little confused about this. I had planned to use multiple Wavelab versions (9 and 8.04) on multiple Windows 7 computers here based on this:
viewtopic.php?f=244&t=95245
Which seems to say that a Wavelab 9 montage can be opened without problem on 8, with the limitations outlined.

From all my testing on Windows, it seems to work fine (within the limitations outlined). Back and forth even multiple times between 8.04 and 9, even with plugins, edits, modifications, etc. But does your comment mean opening a Wavelab 9 montage in 8.04 is not supported on Windows, even though it seems to work fine in all my testing up to this point?. Is there anything else I need to look out for if I choose to proceed with this, based on the earlier post?

And does it just not work well on Mac at all?

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6642
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: wavelab9 kills audio montages from previous versions

Post by PG » Wed May 25, 2016 9:38 pm

It is not supported "officially". This means, I can't give any guarantee. However, it should work.
Philippe

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab Pro 9 | WaveLab Elements 9”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest