Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 can be posted here.
Frozenwave
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:28 pm

Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Frozenwave » Sun Jun 07, 2015 4:54 pm

I would like to be able to rename plugin names without breaking vst3 preset compatibility. There are 2 reasons why I would like to be able to do so:

- Some plugin names are to long for the mixer view and I can't see what plugin I actually have in there, if I have more than one plugin of one developer

- Aesthetically not pleasing names. I would like to add more consistency to my plugin names. Some vendors still add "x64" to their plugin names, some write everything with caps, some don't have even a consistency regarding their own plugins and so on and so forth.

As of now there is a possibility to rename plugin names by editing PluginManager.xml or Cubase Pro Module Cache.xml but there are 2 problems: By renaming, the folder names of the vst3 preset folder change. And most importantly: Sometimes all my plugins get rescanned and all names reset. A recall of the old setting then is not possible anymore.

User avatar
estrica2000
Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 5:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by estrica2000 » Wed Jun 10, 2015 10:56 am

+1
OSX Mavericks, Cubase 7.5.4 64 bit

Accel0001
Junior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 6:32 am

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Accel0001 » Thu Jun 11, 2015 10:57 am

+1

User avatar
Winter Rat
Member
Posts: 708
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Winter Rat » Thu Jun 11, 2015 11:09 am

Big +1
Cubase 9.5
Win 8.1 or Win 10 Pro; Intel Core i7-8700K; Gigabyte GA-Z370 HD3P; 16 GB, 3000 MHz; GeForce GTX 1050.

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by lukasbrooklyn » Thu Jun 11, 2015 12:05 pm

+1
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3919
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Prock » Thu Jun 11, 2015 2:54 pm

+ 1

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.5.10, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by HughH » Thu Jun 11, 2015 6:02 pm

Definitely, +1.

I think this has been mentioned before . . . and ignored.

But, yes.
And this can already be done in the Remote Control editor where you get the Normal label, the 8 letter label and the 4 letter label.

Hugh
Nuendo 10, Pro Tools Ultimate 2019
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home, Dual Monitors RME Digiface PCIe
Dell XPS 15 7590 Laptop i9 (10th Gen) 32 Gig Win 10 MOTU 8Pre-ES
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
UR22

Blackout
Member
Posts: 485
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:13 am

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Blackout » Wed Jul 15, 2015 4:36 am

+1 !!!

i am speechless that we still need to use a 3rd party Hex Editor to hack our VST3 plugins just to rename them in Cubase...
Cubase 8.5.30 / UAD2 Quad + UAD2 Solo / Win7 x64 SP1 / Asus X99 Deluxe II MB / 12 Gig DDR3 Samsung Ram / NVIDIA GT730 /Steinberg UR824 Audio Interface x2

RolfPaulsen
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 3:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by RolfPaulsen » Wed Jul 15, 2015 9:45 am

+1

Backdraft69
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 9:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Backdraft69 » Tue Dec 15, 2015 2:28 pm

+1
Windows 10 64 Bit, 16 GB, Intel i7, Steinberg UR44, RME Babyface
Cubase Pro 9.5, Halion 6, Groove Agent 4

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3172
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by peakae » Tue Dec 15, 2015 11:24 pm

+1
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2266
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by marQs » Tue Dec 15, 2015 11:29 pm

+1
Cubase 10.5 | WL 10 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo (2x)/Quad PCI-e | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

MHoughton
Member
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 2:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by MHoughton » Wed Dec 16, 2015 2:20 pm

A huge +1

Quinn3k3
Member
Posts: 310
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Quinn3k3 » Wed Dec 16, 2015 6:14 pm

+1

I would like to see an option added for a default track color added in the plug-in manager also.

MrMeshuggah
Junior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 9:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by MrMeshuggah » Thu Dec 17, 2015 4:45 pm

+1

Blackout
Member
Posts: 485
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:13 am

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Blackout » Fri Dec 18, 2015 4:43 pm

good news! now that Guillermo from $teinberg has posted that they are going to listen to us, the users, it means that this function will be finished and this will be done apparently by the end of Jan!

nice work Guillermo and thank you! now...over to you...we are waiting...
Cubase 8.5.30 / UAD2 Quad + UAD2 Solo / Win7 x64 SP1 / Asus X99 Deluxe II MB / 12 Gig DDR3 Samsung Ram / NVIDIA GT730 /Steinberg UR824 Audio Interface x2

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3172
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by peakae » Sun Dec 20, 2015 11:42 am

Ehh i did not see anything regarding renaming in any post.
Anyhow I would really like another column beside the plugin name, call it "alias" and any name in this would be used, if left empty the original name gets used.
That would make it easy to view original names and the new ones at the same time, and make it easier to come up with new names that haven't been used already.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

cinematree
Junior Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 5:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by cinematree » Tue Dec 22, 2015 9:36 am

+1
Using Cubase 10.0.15 with Windows 10 Pro, RME Madiface, Orion 32, Uaudio Thunderbolt Apollo 8, Apollo Twin, and a UAD Satellite

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1818
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by GargoyleStudio » Tue Dec 22, 2015 6:05 pm

+1
[Win10x64 latest, Cb10.5 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves, Soundtoys, O9N, Arturia, Omnisphere]

User avatar
Svengali
Senior Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 9:26 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Svengali » Tue Jan 19, 2016 12:08 pm

+1
Setup: Cubase Pro 10 on HP Z 620 /Cubase Elements 9.0.3 on Microsoft Surface Tablet, Windows 10 Pro 64Bit, Halion 6, Groove Agent 5, Native Instruments Komplete 10, UAD-2, Plugin-Alliance, Waves, Fabfilter, Toontrack, CC121, UR12, UAD Apollo

User avatar
Jorge Ruiz
Junior Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 3:31 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Jorge Ruiz » Thu Jan 21, 2016 12:11 pm

Highly useful feature, so my +1.
PC i7 5960x 8 cores (Hyper-Threading off) | 16 GB RAM | MSI X99A SLI Plus | Nvidia GTX 1050 Ti 4 GB | RME HDSPe RayDAT | Focusrite Clarett OctoPre | Behringer ADA8200 | Steinberg CC121 | Windows 10 Pro 64 bits | Cubase Pro 10.5 | WaveLab Elements 10 | Komplete 12 | Waves | Soundtoys | Oberheim Matrix 1000 | IK UNO Synth | Korg TR-Rack | Alesis S4 Plus | Zoom 9010 | Roland GP-8

skyforger91
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by skyforger91 » Thu Feb 11, 2016 1:45 pm

+1

This really bothers me:
Image

ultradust
Member
Posts: 246
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 12:37 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by ultradust » Wed Feb 17, 2016 4:21 am

Hello fellow Cubase plugin manager power users -

I would like to invite you to take a look at the proposal here and add any thoughts:
Feature Request: Steinberg Audio Plugin Manager (APM)

Sorry to bother this thread, but since the posters here are already (obviously) interested in the plugin manager functionality, I wanted to see if you wanted to contribute over there. I think you might have some invaluable insights to contribute.

Thank you for your consideration!

User avatar
Winter Rat
Member
Posts: 708
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Winter Rat » Fri Feb 19, 2016 11:11 pm

Must be done.
Cubase 9.5
Win 8.1 or Win 10 Pro; Intel Core i7-8700K; Gigabyte GA-Z370 HD3P; 16 GB, 3000 MHz; GeForce GTX 1050.

JohnCty
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 5:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by JohnCty » Tue Jun 07, 2016 6:16 am

+1

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests