panning in nuendo 4

For users of legacy Steinberg Nuendo software
Post Reply
vibrationsrecording
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2015 7:28 pm
Contact:

panning in nuendo 4

Post by vibrationsrecording »

Hello. I'm trying to utilize the pan control when mixing on a mono channels and bussing to mono channels out to the analog world. [Mac OS>Aurora 16>Folcrom 16>pre>etc.]
1. Can the mixer in my Nuendo do this?
2. I can't even change the panning options other than to change the panning laws.

Am I way off base here? any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
John :oops:

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5286
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: panning in nuendo 4

Post by Split »

to pan a signal you need at least a stereo channel!
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

User avatar
distante
Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:30 pm
Contact:

Re: panning in nuendo 4

Post by distante »

You had buy a $2000 software and don't know how to pan?























Just kidding, we now your Nuendo is Cracked
Hear and See Rock Songs maded with Steinberg's UR824 and Cubase 7: bit.ly/CorazonTRM ("Corazón") and bit.ly/AnimalTRM ("Animal")

Do you want to show your music or any audio work made with Cubase? fb.com/groups/Made.With.Cubase/

My Stuff:
UR824 and Cubase PRO 8.0.20 on Windows 8.1 64bits / 16GB RAM / Core i7 4790K / GTX970 4GB VRAM )
*Always the latest version available.
A bunch of Mics, Pres and Toys, Plugins and Heart

vibrationsrecording
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2015 7:28 pm
Contact:

Re: panning in nuendo 4

Post by vibrationsrecording »

Firstly, I'm an old analog sound reinforcement guy (hardware mxrs) so getting my head around digital routing can still be a challenge for me. I was just looking for options and I think I confused myself more than I needed to.
I had been doing just fine with Nuendo 4 for years as long as I stayed within 1 DAW.

I have a new setup where I'm trying to mix utilizing my original Box 1 (Mac, Nuendo, Aurora) then out to analog mojo (pres, comps, FX processing, etc.) to the Folcrom 16 summing and into my Box 2 ( Antelope Pure 2,PC,Samplitude Pro X2 suite) for final processing of the Folcrom 2 bus. I don't want to go on in this thread about this strategy...just wanted to illustrate what I'm doing not why. That's a whole other discussion.

Instead of just hard left/right and center from the Folcrom, I was looking for a way to arrange my stereo image more discretely with as much flexibility along my described signal path as possible. I want this setup to be as flexible as possible at all stages of my signal path and workflow.

It looks like my best bet is to be sure my stems/grps out of Box 1 are as set as possible for sound field imaging before hitting the Folcrom, which only allows hard left/right or combined. If I find while doing final mixing that the Folcrom 2 bus needs tweaking in terms of stereo image, I will just need to go back to the grps/stems in box 1 and tweak there. No problem...I was most likey caught up in my own overthinking and loosing sight of the big picture. I'll crawl back into my cave now....
Thanks for the replies.
jp

Post Reply

Return to “Older Nuendo versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests