C8 and omnishere

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
Vaijj
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 6:50 pm
Contact:

C8 and omnishere

Post by Vaijj »

Hello..

After updating to WIn 10 i lost my autorization for Omnisphere. After contacting their support they told me to run cubase as admin to be able to authorize and run it.. And well, it worked. But running cubase in admin mode means that drag and drop wont work and also read that there are some issues back and forth regarding j-bridge.

Does anyone know how to solve this or?

Best
Vaij

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 24179
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: C8 and omnishere

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

I would expect, you could run Cubase as an admin only once, just to authorize your Omnisphere again. Once it is authorized, you don't need to run Cubase as an admin any more. Or am I wrong?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
Winter Rat
Member
Posts: 711
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: C8 and omnishere

Post by Winter Rat »

what do you mean "drag and drop wont work" ?
Cubase 9.5
Win 8.1 or Win 10 Pro; Intel Core i7-8700K; Gigabyte GA-Z370 HD3P; 16 GB, 3000 MHz; GeForce GTX 1050.

Vaijj
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 6:50 pm
Contact:

Re: C8 and omnishere

Post by Vaijj »

Yes.. it goes back to unregistred again.. its kind of wierd since it worked in win7 just like you mentioned. So i belive its someting with 10 and and how cubase handles admin mode and drag and drop.. im totaly blank now, normaly i manage to figure out a way for it to work but not this time..

hmm... or Spectrasonic but they say that their stuff works as it should.. but again.. one of the 3 aint handling things as it should..

With DRAG AND DROP i mean that dragging either midi files or wave files into current project from a folder dont work under admin mode.

But thanks for you tip :)

Vaijj

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 24179
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: C8 and omnishere

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Vaijj wrote:Yes.. it goes back to unregistred again..
Oh really? :-/
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Vaijj
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 6:50 pm
Contact:

Re: C8 and omnishere

Post by Vaijj »

Yes, it goes back back. But i found a workaround even if i dont like it and that is to tweak the UAC from regedit in win 10. By setting it to 0 all works, both drag and drop and the autorization for Omnisphere. Now i dont have to run cubase in admin mode but it kind of sucks to have that setting.

I go with that for now and hope someone comes up with a better solution.. Thanks for checking in and help

Vaijj

barryfell
Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: C8 and omnishere

Post by barryfell »

Vaijj wrote:Yes, it goes back back. But i found a workaround even if i dont like it and that is to tweak the UAC from regedit in win 10. By setting it to 0 all works, both drag and drop and the autorization for Omnisphere. Now i dont have to run cubase in admin mode but it kind of sucks to have that setting.

I go with that for now and hope someone comes up with a better solution.. Thanks for checking in and help

Vaijj
Yeah likewise to get JBridge and drag and drop working I need to totally disable UAC in regedit, which means I can't use any Windows Metro apps and my system is less secure. Thankfully I don't need those apps but still, it would be nice not to have to totally disable UAC.
Windows 10 / Cubase Pro 9.5 x64

User avatar
bluzkat
Member
Posts: 293
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 11:36 am
Contact:

Re: C8 and omnishere

Post by bluzkat »

barryfell wrote:
Vaijj wrote:... it would be nice not to have to totally disable UAC.
Why? Its the most annoying Windows addition ever!

First thing that got dis-abled when I installed Win7 and I'm sure it would be the same for Win 10, if I decide to upgrade.
Peace...
bluzkat


i7 3770, 32 GB DDR3 RAM, Win 7 Pro 64 bit, nVidia GTX 650, Cubase Pro 8.5.15, Nektar P6

barryfell
Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: C8 and omnishere

Post by barryfell »

bluzkat wrote:
barryfell wrote:
Vaijj wrote:... it would be nice not to have to totally disable UAC.
Why? Its the most annoying Windows addition ever!

First thing that got dis-abled when I installed Win7 and I'm sure it would be the same for Win 10, if I decide to upgrade.
I always had it on no notifications, since they were annoying, but even on it's lowest setting which has no notifications it still does at least provide another layer of security, as opposed to it being totally off which I have to use now. Also, the photo viewer and calculator are now metro apps so I can't use them. I had to install a third party fix to get back the Windows 7 ones.

Not a big issue by any means, but it would be nice if it worked without these workarounds.
Windows 10 / Cubase Pro 9.5 x64

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests