halion sonic SE lost in cubase 8

All topics on HALion 4, HALion 5 and Steinberg's VST workstations HALion Sonic 1 and HALion Sonic 2
Post Reply
sergey ruba
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 1:10 pm
Contact:

halion sonic SE lost in cubase 8

Post by sergey ruba » Sun Sep 06, 2015 4:17 pm

Hi, I cannot find Halion Sonic SE after upgrade to Cubase 8.
when installing Simph Orch it shows that Halion Sonic is aready installed
Plugin manager do not see/find it.

Boyodey
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 11:32 pm
Contact:

Re: halion sonic SE lost in cubase 8

Post by Boyodey » Thu May 05, 2016 9:44 am

I have a similar problem.
I have a fresh install of Cubase 8 AI and I can't see Halion Sonic SE anywhere. I have a folder under Additional Content called VST Sounds but there are none in the menu when I click F11.

Ghorrim
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 9:57 am
Contact:

Re: halion sonic SE lost in cubase 8

Post by Ghorrim » Wed May 18, 2016 10:38 pm

I also have a fresh installation of Cubase AI 8 (on Windows 7), and at first could not load any presets into HALion Sonic SE - the VST instrument itself was selectable, but only an empty frame.

I then searched for "Halion" in my Cubase folder and found two .msi files (HALionSonicSE.msi or HALionSonicSE_64bit.msi and HALionSonicSE_Content_for_Cubase_LE_AI_Elements.msi).

After installing these two .msi files I can use Halion Sonic properly - i.e. I can load presets and programs, and play back MIDI files via HALion.

Maybe this helps?

waxbri
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 11:37 pm
Contact:

Re: halion sonic SE lost in cubase 8

Post by waxbri » Mon May 08, 2017 9:32 pm

Hi,
I reinstalled Cubase 8, but it says that I need to reactivate the HALion Sonic SE registration number. It doesn't come up in "my products" on my Steinberg account... I don't understand why, as I had HALion the first time I downloaded Cubase. Cubase is pretty worthless without any presets, and I really don't want to experiment with bad-quality plugins you can get for free. Any suggestions?

Gerrit Junge
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 1:30 pm
Contact:

Re: halion sonic SE lost in cubase 8

Post by Gerrit Junge » Tue May 09, 2017 2:32 pm

I would suggest to install the latest version of HALion Sonic SE (version 3) which can be found here :
https://www.steinberg.net/en/landing_pa ... _free.html

best regards
Gerrit
Senior Quality Engineer
VST Instruments
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH

Post Reply

Return to “Halion 5 | Halion 4 | Halion Sonic | Halion Sonic 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests