CP8's disgusting performance..? fixed with updates

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2767
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

CP8's disgusting performance..? fixed with updates

Post by shadowfax » Wed Aug 19, 2015 1:08 pm

:DOr am I doing something wrong?
I have a project with only 12 tracks, 10 audio..2 vst and 15 inserts...(nothing special) and the performance meter is maxed out..always red :( :?

my buffer is set at 512 ..Asio guard is set to normal, Audio power scheme is on.. they have to be..without them the distortion is off the radar..

If I play the exact same project in Studio 0ne (3) it doesn't even notice..so what's happening with cubase?

why can't it handle a few plugins?
or..am I doing something wrong? this hasn't just started happening , I'm just getting sick of it :( :( :(

any advice out there?

thanks, Kevin
Last edited by shadowfax on Mon Dec 07, 2015 5:57 pm, edited 2 times in total.
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3815
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by Prock » Wed Aug 19, 2015 2:50 pm

A few thoughts...

- Enable all of your processor cores to be "on" all the time (search the web for that procedure).
- Standard spiel... Is this associated with certain vsts?
- Are other program/processes running in the background that you could stop/trash/change? For me, my old Norton antivirus always seemed to bother CB. I never proved it but when I changed to the free MS Security Essentials the problem went away. Coincidence? Who knows.
- Are you actually having issues or just a red meter? If just a red meter, remove it from view and fugetaboutit. I think you even mentioned somewhere that they probably are not accurate.

Good luck. ;)

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.0.50, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2767
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by shadowfax » Wed Aug 19, 2015 3:08 pm

Hi, my 'puter' is optimised to death, there are no anti virus thingies because it never goes on the net, according to my task manager all cores (7) are working but I'll look into what you said regarding this...

s'pose I could hide it and do the ''ignorance is bliss'' thing but this isn't right for such an expensive DAW...

never had these issues with 5 or 6...cubase has more ''stuff'' but seems to be getting worse..if you catch my drift..

thanks for your answer..

best, Kevin
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2878
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by Romantique Tp » Wed Aug 19, 2015 6:43 pm

Try disabling hyperthreading, it seems to cause issues in older i7s.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

Whatisvalis
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 12:05 am
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by Whatisvalis » Wed Aug 19, 2015 7:26 pm

It's like that on my Mac Book Pro. I have to run everything in Vienna Ensemble Pro, it's pathetic. I've just bootcamped Windows, so will be interesting to compare.

User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2767
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by shadowfax » Thu Aug 20, 2015 9:10 am

Romantique Tp wrote:Try disabling hyperthreading, it seems to cause issues in older i7s.
Hi, did what you suggested and there was no difference.. :( :( thanks for the suggestion though :) :)

it seems i have 4 cores, I thought I had seven, why is my puter called i7 when I only have 4 cores?

really getting cheesed off with Cubase..really am.. :( :( it should handle a small project without banging into the red... :evil: :evil:
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2878
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by Romantique Tp » Thu Aug 20, 2015 11:26 am

Normal i7s only have 4 physical cores, the other 4 are virtual cores for hyperthreading. Hyperthreading is supposed to improve performance by maximizing the usage of each core, but the real world benefit of this tends to be pretty small for most programs. In many cases it just makes things worse.

You can buy an i7 with more physical cores, but they're crazy expensive.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2767
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by shadowfax » Thu Aug 20, 2015 11:35 am

Romantique Tp wrote:Normal i7s only have 4 physical cores, the other 4 are virtual cores for hyperthreading. Hyperthreading is supposed to improve performance by maximizing the usage of each core, but the real world benefit of this tends to be pretty small for most programs. In many cases it just makes things worse.

You can buy an i7 with more physical cores, but they're crazy expensive.

Hi..thanks for your reply..I've just bought the harrison mixbus and it's excellent..been running the same project on it without any problems...and it's got a brill GUI..maybe time to move DAW's..just sick of spending time trying to find out what's bothering Cubase
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2878
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by Romantique Tp » Thu Aug 20, 2015 12:40 pm

Hey, don't give up just yet, maybe it's something as silly and simple as your audio interface not liking ASIO Guard. How well did Cubase 7 work for you? What about 6.5?
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2767
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by shadowfax » Thu Aug 20, 2015 3:39 pm

Romantique Tp wrote:Hey, don't give up just yet, maybe it's something as silly and simple as your audio interface not liking ASIO Guard. How well did Cubase 7 work for you? What about 6.5?
Hi, If I turn ASIO guard off the distortion is unbearable and my interface is a Yamaha N8..s'posed to be compatible ..
I get the impression ASIO guard is there to cover up bad performance or something..

6.5 was ok but since then I've watched Cubase become bloated with ''stuff'' while the performance meter goes off the radar..

does anyone use Cubase without ASIO guard ? ..for me it's impossible, I just get incredible distortion..

, I'm not a power user of Cubase ..I just do songs and it's very rare for me to have more than 30 tracks...there's a l'ot of stuff in Cubase I don't need..
the Beatles did 'Pepper' with 4 tracks I believe (or maybe it was 8) so I reckon I should be able to manage a song with 30 or so..

I'm gonna be using Mixbus for my next project and see where that leads me..

unless this performance problem is suddenly sorted by Steiny..but I somehow doubt it..
8.5 will come along as a paid upgrade with some new ''toy'' and the performance meter will still be banging the red..

would definitely like to know if it's possible to use Cubase without the ASIO guard though..

cheers, Kevin
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

User avatar
Quietly
Member
Posts: 295
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:15 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by Quietly » Thu Aug 20, 2015 6:36 pm

Hi Kevin sorry your having problems. I only have 4 GB Ram and I not having any problems with a similar sized or even larger projects. I know that is no help to you but I somehow think it is something other than Cubase 8 that is causing your problem.

In either case best of luck.

Gerry
https://soundcloud.com/gerry-cooper-855281238
Cubase Pro 10.0.40. Windows 10 Pro 64 bit. Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz 4GB RAM. ASUS Radeon R7-259 Graphics Card , Focusrite Scarlett 2i4. Komplete Kontrol S61 and HS80M Monitors. Komplete 10 Ultimate, Symphobia, Ozone 8 etc

User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2767
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by shadowfax » Thu Aug 20, 2015 7:06 pm

Quietly wrote:Hi Kevin sorry your having problems. I only have 4 GB Ram and I not having any problems with a similar sized or even larger projects. I know that is no help to you but I somehow think it is something other than Cubase 8 that is causing your problem.

In either case best of luck.

Gerry
I've been told this so many times..how come Studio one (3) and Harrison mixbus 3 handles these same projects without any performance issues...why do i get mind numbing distortion when I turn off the ASIO guard thing?..why does Cubase need an ASIO guard thing?

I've re installed W7 and done a clean everything twice...just got sick of trying to figure out what the heck is going on when I could spend the time doing music on one of the other 2 DAW's that I have that actually work without sweating..

I had quite a few other probs in the past and was told it was my system..most of them disappeared when Steinberg issued an update..
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

User avatar
Quietly
Member
Posts: 295
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:15 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by Quietly » Thu Aug 20, 2015 7:52 pm

I can only give you a case that happened to me recently I had Windows 7 64 bit installed and upgraded the video card. I was getting graphic drop outs and problems anyway I thought I would take the free upgrade to Windows 10 and moved into a complete minefield. Even Reaper (Normally very stable) went on the blink and I mean audio playback was horrendous and so was CPU.

One option was to roll back to Windows 7 but Windows 10 had removed some of the files so I was knackered. OK the only option was a complete clean install of Windows 7 64 bit. The end result was amazing everything appeared to have quickened up no more graphics problems no more playback problems etc etc.

I can only assume that the amount of clutter my pc had picked up over the years was just slowing it down and causing conflicts and problems or perhaps the initial install was not quite right. Despite my constant defrags etc.

If you have run diagnostic checks on your hard drive, graphics card etc and confirm it is not a hardware issue then I would consider a clean OS install.

On the other hand if as you say all other DAW's are working perfectly and it is only Cubase that is the problem I would try an uninstall and a clean install of Cubase and make sure your Anti Virus is switched off when you install. If I am being obvious I apologize.
https://soundcloud.com/gerry-cooper-855281238
Cubase Pro 10.0.40. Windows 10 Pro 64 bit. Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz 4GB RAM. ASUS Radeon R7-259 Graphics Card , Focusrite Scarlett 2i4. Komplete Kontrol S61 and HS80M Monitors. Komplete 10 Ultimate, Symphobia, Ozone 8 etc

User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2767
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by shadowfax » Thu Aug 20, 2015 8:33 pm

Hi, I said in my last post that I'd done two clean re installs of W7..no problem with stating the obvious..it's definitely not my system though..
the big issue for me is ..how come my other DAW's deal with my projects OK but cubase can not handle them without the performance meter banging the red all the time!!

My music puter has not got anti virus..it never goes on the net..all it's got on it is Cubase and the other 2 DAW's and the plugins and stuff..it's a very clean and tidy puter..




cheers, Kevin
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

User avatar
Quietly
Member
Posts: 295
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:15 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by Quietly » Thu Aug 20, 2015 8:46 pm

Sorry Kevin missed that. A real bummer then me old mate as apart from the obvious I'm snookered.
https://soundcloud.com/gerry-cooper-855281238
Cubase Pro 10.0.40. Windows 10 Pro 64 bit. Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz 4GB RAM. ASUS Radeon R7-259 Graphics Card , Focusrite Scarlett 2i4. Komplete Kontrol S61 and HS80M Monitors. Komplete 10 Ultimate, Symphobia, Ozone 8 etc

User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2767
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by shadowfax » Thu Aug 20, 2015 8:51 pm

Quietly wrote:Sorry Kevin missed that. A real bummer then me old mate as apart from the obvious I'm snookered.
Well..I thought i was snookered until I tried Mixbus 3..

best, Kevin
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3815
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by Prock » Thu Aug 20, 2015 9:50 pm

I really have no idea what I am talking about for your specific CB performance issue but here are a few more things to try that I would do if I had your issues and I already did all the typical checks for vst compatibility issues and op system adjustments...

I would turn to some (hopefully) fairly easy hardware changes/checks. Like maybe trying a different graphics card if you have one. Reseating ram chips. Making sure the ram chips are the same type/clock speed/whatever. Run that hardware system checker program that is buried somewhere in Windows. Can't remember it's name but it checks HD speed/errors, graphics and ram performance, etc. Make sure all drivers are up to date. Do a registry clean (I regularly use CCleaner). Some say don't use CCleaner but I never had a problem using it and it allows you to copy/restore the reg if it somehow makes things worse. Defrag the HD and the registry (I use Auslogics Registry Defrag).

Again, just rambling off some ideas. Good luck.

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.0.50, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by alexis » Fri Aug 21, 2015 3:49 am

Apologies if I missed this Kevin, but did you say anywhere that your performance actually suffered? In other words, if you are able to load your VSTi's and plugins and tracks and do everything you want with snappy performance, is it important what the meter says?
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2767
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by shadowfax » Fri Aug 21, 2015 7:47 am

Hi Alexis, thanks for your input, some of what you say is beyond my ability in the computer domain..but I can not get past why my other DAW's work fine and handle everything while Cubase cannot...I think for too long now people with problems are being told ''it's your system'' when it actually isn't..
6.5 ran fine for me..it's just got worse as Steinberg added more stuff to cubase...

I recently read a thread where someone was told by support that the problem they were having was a ''Windows 7 problem'' ,
he updated to W10 and still has the problem,

regarding the performance meter being red all the time..if it's OK to ignore it why is it there? is it not telling me that something is wrong somewhere?
is it about to explode if add some more plugins?..what's it for?
it hasn't effected anything..that I know of.. cubase is usable and I do like it but using it while the performance meter is telling me it, 'Hey, I'm maxed out here..can't you see I'm struggling? what the heck are doing with that gigantic project of 30 tracks and 15 plugins?...
meanwhile my task manager is telling me that the puter hasn't even noticed that it's switched on...

there's definitely something wrong and it's not my system,

I would still like to know why I get massive distortion if I switch ASIO guard off...is that normal?
my other 2 DAW's work fine without ASIO guard...

best, Kevin :)
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

User avatar
Hedshaker
Member
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 4:54 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by Hedshaker » Fri Aug 21, 2015 8:10 am

shadowfax wrote:Hi, my 'puter' is optimised to death, there are no anti virus thingies because it never goes on the net, ac
It's called "core parking" and it's a big thing with gamers. You definitely want all cores working all the time. You can do a youtube search on "core parking". There's loads of info. This one is for Windows 7, but there's info on 8.1 etc:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pl3u9eiskM4

Good luck
Last edited by Hedshaker on Fri Aug 21, 2015 8:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
Asus P9X79 I7 - 4930K @340GHz, 16 GB Ram. Windows 10. EMU 1820m. Cubase Pro 9.##. UAD quad, UAD Solo PowerCore Element with Access Virus. AN1x, Orbit V2, E-MU Proteous 2000, Novation BassStation Rack, Korg ER-1, Dave Smith Mopho. Yamaha NS-10m studio Monitors.

https://soundcloud.com/dark-blue-man

User avatar
smapmap
Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 1:49 pm
Location: Strathaven, Scotland
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by smapmap » Fri Aug 21, 2015 8:10 am

I wonder if you have got a DPC issue. Try installing LatencyMon to check.

http://www.resplendence.com/latencymon

Quite often network drivers etc can cause delays as they wait for responses - this can impact your ability to run a DAW smoothly.
Software: Cubase 10.0.20, Nektar Panorama P1, Studio One 4.5, Sonar Platinum, Alloy 2, Trash 2, Ozone 8, Neutron 3, Komplete 12, Fabfilter Timeless 2, Fabfilter Saturn, FabFilter ProQ3, FabFilter Pro-R, Valhalla Room, Lounge Lizard 4, Output Signal, Output Rev, Output Exhale, Output Movement, Output Substance, Output Analog Strings, Tassman 4, Z3ta 2, Z3ta+, Dimension Pro, Rapture, BFD3, Studio Drummer 3, Sonitus Plugs

Outboard: HP Z420 workstation, Xeon CPU, 40 Gig RAM, 3x1TB Barracuda HD 7200rpm, Roland GR55 guitar synth, Roland VG99, Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 interface at 24/48, AKAI EIE Audio Interace (24/48), Focusrite Penta optical Compressor, Samson Servo Amp, Tannoy Reveal speakers, SP C1 Mic, Roland KC350 Amp, Patrick Eggle Berlin Stage, Fender US Strat Deluxe, Soundcraft Spirit EPM8. Boss SE70, Boss DR5, Akai MPK88

www.michaeldoris.com

User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2767
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by shadowfax » Fri Aug 21, 2015 8:17 am

Hi guy's..did what you both say a while ago..and checked and re checked...if the network drivers are causing probs..why only for cubase?... as I've said I have 2 other DAW's working fine...

people really seem reluctant to admit it might actually be Cubase's problem..

best and thanks for the input..Kevin
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

User avatar
smapmap
Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 1:49 pm
Location: Strathaven, Scotland
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by smapmap » Fri Aug 21, 2015 8:32 am

Badly written drivers can cause havoc on your machine and affect programs differently depending on how their interrupts routines have been written.

What does Latency Mon tell you - all ok?

p.s bad video drivers can often also cause issues
Software: Cubase 10.0.20, Nektar Panorama P1, Studio One 4.5, Sonar Platinum, Alloy 2, Trash 2, Ozone 8, Neutron 3, Komplete 12, Fabfilter Timeless 2, Fabfilter Saturn, FabFilter ProQ3, FabFilter Pro-R, Valhalla Room, Lounge Lizard 4, Output Signal, Output Rev, Output Exhale, Output Movement, Output Substance, Output Analog Strings, Tassman 4, Z3ta 2, Z3ta+, Dimension Pro, Rapture, BFD3, Studio Drummer 3, Sonitus Plugs

Outboard: HP Z420 workstation, Xeon CPU, 40 Gig RAM, 3x1TB Barracuda HD 7200rpm, Roland GR55 guitar synth, Roland VG99, Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 interface at 24/48, AKAI EIE Audio Interace (24/48), Focusrite Penta optical Compressor, Samson Servo Amp, Tannoy Reveal speakers, SP C1 Mic, Roland KC350 Amp, Patrick Eggle Berlin Stage, Fender US Strat Deluxe, Soundcraft Spirit EPM8. Boss SE70, Boss DR5, Akai MPK88

www.michaeldoris.com

User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2767
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by shadowfax » Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:10 am

smapmap wrote:Badly written drivers can cause havoc on your machine and affect programs differently depending on how their interrupts routines have been written.

What does Latency Mon tell you - all ok?

p.s bad video drivers can often also cause issues
So just ran Latencymon again and it says, (ran it for 30 mins)

'your system appears to be suitable for handling real-time audio and other tasks without dropouts'

that's what it said the previous 4 times I've ran it, from this I'm assuming my system is OK but I'm the first to admit I'm not a puter tecky..just a muso who uses a puter to make music..

running now as I write and the hard pagefault has just gone way into the red..(134 pagefault count) first time I've seen this, is that bad ? never ran it for longer than 30 mins before..got no idea what that is,
it stills says my system is ok for real time audio though..

definitely need help with this..

as far as I'm aware all my processors are running but in stats it says..logical processors 7..processor groups 1.. what does that mean?
in the CPu's area 7 seem to be running but the first one has the highest numbers..

best, Kevin
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2878
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by Romantique Tp » Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:28 am

shadowfax wrote: people really seem reluctant to admit it might actually be Cubase's problem..
Because the majority of the people using this DAW aren't having the same issues as you, that's why people are trying to help you fix this problem. I know it's very frustrating, but there has to be something that can be done to fix your performance issues.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests