[SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
User avatar
ggc
Senior Member
Posts: 1436
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 6:17 am

[SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by ggc » Tue Jun 09, 2015 5:29 am

Greets n love@all:)
Last edited by ggc on Thu Jun 11, 2015 12:48 pm, edited 6 times in total.

User avatar
ggc
Senior Member
Posts: 1436
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 6:17 am

Re: proQ cubase crash

Post by ggc » Wed Jun 10, 2015 9:08 am

ok, here is the solution that helped me...

maaaaaybe, this method can be applied to ANY AND ALL misbehaving vsts crashing etc..-
(havent tested with other crashy vsts-... yet;))

Windows:
GOTO: Registry Editor.
Navigate to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\FabFilter. *****<<<<--- or other vst name of choice*****
Right-click and select New > DWORD (32-bit) Value.
Name it GraphicsAcceleration and ensure its value is set to 0.

Mac OS X: Open Terminal and type: defaults write com.fabfilter.Common GraphicsAcceleration 0 ****<same deal****

Whoop whoop! ;)

p.s. my system: window 7 x64
p.p.s. please report any success using the above method here so others can benefit:) (system, plugin name)

User avatar
ggc
Senior Member
Posts: 1436
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 6:17 am

Re: [SOLVED]proQ crash cubase 8.0.2 - read if u have crashy

Post by ggc » Wed Jun 10, 2015 10:42 am

Omg!

I applied this fix to my cubase folder in registry... ( the actual cubase8 folder, not a vst)

NO MORE CRASH ON EXIT!!!:):):)!!!

Edit: also no realtime peaky business nymore;)!

Whaaaaaa? Njoy;)

the_rpg_moogle
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by the_rpg_moogle » Wed Jun 10, 2015 12:21 pm

My dear god man! This actually works!

And the program seems faster to boot... :)

This should be a sticky, thanks a lot, a whole lot for this!

User avatar
Guillermo
Moderator
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 12:50 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by Guillermo » Thu Jun 11, 2015 12:33 pm

Hello,

Alright... this is very interesting, can anyone else confirm this?

Best regards,
GN
Guillermo Navarrete, Online Product Specialist
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, SoundCloud and Google+!

Seraglio
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: proQ cubase crash

Post by Seraglio » Thu Jun 11, 2015 3:56 pm

ggc wrote:Right-click and select New > DWORD (32-bit) Value.
32-bit DWORD for 32-bit plug/apps and 64-bit QWORD for 64-bit plugs/apps?
Or 32 for everything?

Interesting... testing now
Steinberg user since 1984. Left, and tried many other DAWs for 3 years. Just got back on Cubase to try its limits in comparison. PC/Win8.1 custom build.

User avatar
ggc
Senior Member
Posts: 1436
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 6:17 am

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by ggc » Thu Jun 11, 2015 4:48 pm

Just 32bit dword ...

richlum
Junior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 12:39 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by richlum » Thu Jun 11, 2015 4:52 pm

So, 32 bit word even for 64 bit cubase pro if we add this to the cubase folder?
Cubase 8.5 Pro 64 bit, Steinberg UR44, Surface Pro 3, Windows 10

User avatar
ggc
Senior Member
Posts: 1436
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 6:17 am

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by ggc » Thu Jun 11, 2015 4:53 pm

Yup..

Exactly as stated above.. (Im also on 64bit windows btw)

Seraglio
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by Seraglio » Thu Jun 11, 2015 8:32 pm

Cewl!

So far my Cubase kindof feels a hair more sturdy and less flimsy now. But it might be imagination too. Haven't noticed anything bad, besides one thing with NI FM8. If I open its GUI and click the "Open sound.." and the dialog comes up, the dialog usually comes up in front of the FM8 GUI but now it came up behind FM8 GUI - like if FM8 was set to some 'keep on top always' setting. I got that setting set in Cubase, but FM8 is the only one who acted like this so far. It didn't before.
I closed the GUI without utilizing the Dialog at all, meaning the dialog kindof got stuck in some twilight dimension, Cubase went a bit unresponsive, then crashed. Not too strange though, especially with Cubases oversensitivity to graphic anomalies and strains.

In the coming 36 hours I'm about to do a full mix of a song including instruments and audio tracks. 100+ tracks. I'll keep you posted how this goes in relation to this hack.
Steinberg user since 1984. Left, and tried many other DAWs for 3 years. Just got back on Cubase to try its limits in comparison. PC/Win8.1 custom build.

User avatar
silhouette
Senior Member
Posts: 1273
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by silhouette » Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:03 pm

I am getting the stopped working window.

The faulty module is: d2d1.dll

The same thing?
Intel core i7 5960X CPU 3.0 GHz 64bit 32 gig RAM - Windows 8.1 - AMD RadeonHD 7700 - RME Fireface UC - Cubase 8.5.20/9.0.1 - UAD Solo + Duo + Quad - Nektar Panorama P1 - Komplete 10 - All uhe - Adam AX7 + Adam Sub 8 - BFD3 - Alchemy - PSP - FabFilter - Fender Telecaster- Wudtone Strat - Gibson L4, 335,330L,175 -Ibanez PM100 - Musicman Silhouette - Warwick Thumb Bass - Kemper Profiling Amp -https://soundcloud.com/silhouette-17

User avatar
estrica2000
Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 5:55 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by estrica2000 » Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:58 pm

i 've done: defaults write com.cubase.common GraphicsAcceleration 0
seems surprinsigly good.. could any one on OSX try this on terminal:

defaults read com.cubase.common GraphicsAcceleration


what value is outputed? it will just read and so no change will happen
Last edited by estrica2000 on Fri Jun 12, 2015 4:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
OSX Mavericks, Cubase 7.5.4 64 bit

User avatar
JACKnight
Junior Member
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:23 am
Location: Little Britain, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by JACKnight » Fri Jun 12, 2015 1:37 am

Brilliant!

While I experience few to no problems with Cubase I often find it disturbing that the Little Red Light
is virtually always On on my VST meter....

I applied this fix to the Cubase 8 redistry entry (as mentioned above) and now no more VST clip light!

Also, loads a noticably faster.

Effin Cheers Bro! :D
Dell Precision Workstation - 2x Xeon QuadCore 2.4Ghz / 24GB ram / NVidea GTX1050ti / 4x 600GB 15kRPM SAS drives / RME HDSP 9652 w/MIDI add-on / Fireface 802-ADI8pro / UAD 2 Duo / Mackie MCU Pro - Cubase 9.5, Nuendo 8.2, Wavelab 9.5

ckon
Member
Posts: 290
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:16 am

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by ckon » Fri Jun 12, 2015 11:38 am

estrica2000 wrote:i 've done: defaults write com.cubase.common GraphicsAcceleration 0
seems surprinsigly good.. could any one on OSX try this on terminal:

defaults read com.cubase.common GraphicsAcceleration
JACKnight wrote:Brilliant!

While I experience few to no problems with Cubase I often find it disturbing that the Little Red Light
is virtually always On on my VST meter....

I applied this fix to the Cubase 8 redistry entry (as mentioned above) and now no more VST clip light!

Also, loads a noticably faster.

Effin Cheers Bro! :D
So you're putting a new (32bit) D word 'GraphicsAcceleration' in:

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH\Steinberg Cubase 8 64bit]
"GraphicsAcceleration"=dword:00000000

yes/no?

Interesting, so it's basically a targeted form of the very old DAW optimisation (not for win7/8 etc):

Reducing Graphics Hardware Acceleration

On your start menu click on SETTINGS and then on CONTROL PANEL.
Double click the SYSTEM icon.
Click the PERFORMANCE tab.
Click the GRAPHICS button.
Move the HARDWARE ACCELERATION slider to the left one notch.
Click OK.
ckon:

C Pro 10.0.20 (and all previous)
Win7 - x64
Main host system:
i7 3770k - 4.5GHZ, 32GB RAM, OS on SSD
Museum DAW: Apple Mac LCII Opcode Studio Vision

User avatar
estrica2000
Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 5:55 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by estrica2000 » Fri Jun 12, 2015 2:03 pm

yes, i've done that in the OSX way. I doubt it's correct tho(would be a bit ridiculous ), but strangely it seems faster quitting and no problems for some quits i did. Can anyone on osx print what i asked previously?
OSX Mavericks, Cubase 7.5.4 64 bit

registered
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 9:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by registered » Sun Jun 14, 2015 6:26 pm

Back in those Win XP days the culprit in that workaround was the motherboard, BIOS, or the graphics hardware/driver.
Are all of those who are having this problem possibly using similar hardware?
Earle Mankey
Win 10, i7, UAD Apollo, Cubase 9.5.41
MCI 24 track, AMEK Angela console

xenteq
Junior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by xenteq » Sun Jun 14, 2015 9:12 pm

Completely removed the peak overloads for me and so far I haven't had a crash on exit. I just added the DWORD to the Cubase line (rather than a specific VST) as per ggc and ckon's posts above.

Great work and thanks for sharing :)

(I'm still running 8.0.10 btw)
Cubase 9.0.10 Pro (64bit) Windows 10 Pro, i7 4790 3.6GHz, 32Gb RAM
ESI ESU 1808 Audio Interface, ESI M8UXL MIDI Interface

Patepro
Junior Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by Patepro » Mon Jun 15, 2015 7:42 am

Not working for me. When opening a few instances of musiclab relastrat then Crash when leaving the realstrat window. Set the dword value - not better. Any tips ?
C10 - Windows 10-64
i7 8700K - Asus-Prime-A - 32 GB RAM - MSI GTX1070 - Apple Cinema 30
RME UCX (USB used) - many VSTi, many plugs

the_rpg_moogle
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by the_rpg_moogle » Mon Jun 15, 2015 8:37 am

Okay, so I wanted to chime in on this again. I might have reacted a bit prematurely, but there certainly is a difference.

I still get VST peaks when loading instruments into Eastwest Play. I unfortunately don't seem to be able to completely get rid of this problem, no matter what I do. It's livable, but irritating non the less.

When it's working, it works really well. And since applying this fix, at least the constant crashing is gone. Loading a project does not feel like playing Russian roulette anymore. Everything works, everything is snappy. That permanent red peak (cpu overload) indicator is here to stay, at least for me.

But Cubase does feel snappier. Less sluggish. My system is totally up to par, and works flawlessly. I think Play just isn't optimized completely, and Cubase is what it is; great, legendary even, but still sometimes drawn back by years of legacy code, making it not completely optimal.

I'm not faulting Cubase; apart from the younglings like Studio One and Reaper, it seems all DAWs I've tried (all of the big ones, Digital Performer, Pro Tools, etc) seem to be like this.

I'm just glad it works. It's stable. It doesn't crash on exit. It's just that still, it seems a bit sluggish when saving, loading, or exiting. I've got 32GB of DDR4 ram, fast as heck, but I'm pushing it's boundaries. It seems that Cubase feels the need to flush this memory everytime I save, or exit. That's why I can't just press exit when I want to quit. Close the project. Wait for the rainbow wheel, then exit. It works. Aggrevating, I know, but it works.

I hope a permanent fix will come someday. But for me, I think, this is not Cubase's fault anymore. Play is still not there. It's coming, but not yet.

The fix has helped me a lot, making me feel safe and secure instead of trying to win the lottery every single time I start a project.

Now, if only the issue with the midi connections and expression maps could be solved (when disabling tracks)...

Anyway, thanks guys, happy music making!

User avatar
cmaffia
Member
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 4:38 pm
Location: Queens, New York
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by cmaffia » Mon Jun 15, 2015 6:05 pm

Could someone explain what this registry change is doing and what are the drawbacks (if any) in doing this change?
2 Cascaded Tascam DM3200's - IF-FW/DMMKII - IF-AN/DM - Tascam DA-3000 Mastering Recorder - Apogee Rosetta 200 - Cubase 9.0.30 - Sweetwater Creation Station 400 - i7-3770, 3.4GHz Quad Core - 8GB RAM - Windows 7 & 10 Home - UAD-2 Solo - UAD-2 Duo - Steinberg CC121 - 2 x Frontier Tranzport - Wavelab 9 32/64-Bit

Bandcamp: The Sweats
Check out The Bastudio

User avatar
h3kt0
Junior Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by h3kt0 » Mon Jun 15, 2015 9:32 pm

the_rpg_moogle wrote: I think Play just isn't optimized completely, and Cubase is what it is; great, legendary even, but still sometimes drawn back by years of legacy code, making it not completely optimal.
This.

I was so happy when I received my Hollywood Strings box. And so disappointed when I first loaded a patch in Cubase due to these peaking problems.
Cubase Pro 9.0.41
Cubase Pro 10
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits
Intel i7 4770k 3.50Ghz - 24 Gb RAM
RME Fireface 400

User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2975
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

[SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by peakae » Tue Jun 16, 2015 5:35 am

So you simply are transferring the graphics calculations from GPU to CPU.
http://www.fabfilter.com/support/faq/18 ... y-computer
After a little more googleling, yes it forces the program/plugin to use software rendering instead of the driver/GPU.
That leads me to think, that either users that experience problems are using faulty drivers or GPU's. Or that there is a bug somewhere in Cubase that only triggers some combinations of software, drivers and GPU. Anyway it makes sense to update graphics drivers and disable any sort of virtual desktop or otherwise possible disruptive visual tools.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
ggc
Senior Member
Posts: 1436
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 6:17 am

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by ggc » Tue Jun 16, 2015 8:41 am

cmaffia wrote: the drawbacks (if any) in doing this change?
Smooth sailing in cubase:p

Patepro
Junior Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by Patepro » Tue Jun 16, 2015 9:31 am

I checked that out with realstrat and reallpc from musiclab - not working. After checking some possibilities it seems that the problem is the realviewer from musiclab which behaves strange with cubase 8. It concerns the vst2 and vst3 version. So i bridged the vst2 64bit dll with jbridger into a 64bit version and - success. No crashes anymore.
C10 - Windows 10-64
i7 8700K - Asus-Prime-A - 32 GB RAM - MSI GTX1070 - Apple Cinema 30
RME UCX (USB used) - many VSTi, many plugs

User avatar
cmaffia
Member
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 4:38 pm
Location: Queens, New York
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by cmaffia » Tue Jun 16, 2015 11:31 am

ggc wrote:
cmaffia wrote: the drawbacks (if any) in doing this change?
Smooth sailing in cubase:p
I get your response but it doesn't answer the question. Others already have "smooth sailing" without this suggested registry change. Could someone from Steinberg please comment? If your offloading graphic processing from GPU to CPU, something's obviously impacted..
2 Cascaded Tascam DM3200's - IF-FW/DMMKII - IF-AN/DM - Tascam DA-3000 Mastering Recorder - Apogee Rosetta 200 - Cubase 9.0.30 - Sweetwater Creation Station 400 - i7-3770, 3.4GHz Quad Core - 8GB RAM - Windows 7 & 10 Home - UAD-2 Solo - UAD-2 Duo - Steinberg CC121 - 2 x Frontier Tranzport - Wavelab 9 32/64-Bit

Bandcamp: The Sweats
Check out The Bastudio

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests