computer noise thru PA

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
User avatar
tummyfish
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 8:24 pm
Location: vancouver can
Contact:

computer noise thru PA

Post by tummyfish »

I have a aspire 8 gigs of ram running into the akai eie (not pro) 16 bit ext. 4 channel in/ 4 channel out .I know that that is not the problem tho because even when Im not hook up and just use headphones out to stereo receiver i hear the PC noise...I think there is something that i need to turn on or off ....it has the dolby sound serround ect. and I have turned that off to no avail.I have look for a driver up date to the akai eie but there is none ...only for the pro version.I have used the akai eie on my last pc and worked fine with no noise on my toshiba with only 4 gigs of ram....anyone got any ideas what i might be able to try ...please help!!

User avatar
chi_mike
Junior Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:28 am
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: computer noise thru PA

Post by chi_mike »

It might be the laptop power supply.

Disconnect the laptop power supply and see if you still get noise. also try "hum elminiator" between the akai and the laptop perhaps? The akai connects tot he laptop thru USB?

The laptop power supply is it 2 or 3 prong?
Software developer for Apple platforms / Composer
2015 iMac w/ 32GB, 6700K | Mac Pro 6,1 12 core
Nuendo 10.3 ( 3 copies!! ) / NI Komplete 12 / VSL Ensemble Pro 7
Presonus Quantum and Q4848
Saffire Liquid 56 ( backup )
Preamps from a 1968 Scully 280 and other cool gear.
I used to be dr_funk on the blue forum. now I code apps.
"Code Natively!"

User avatar
tummyfish
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 8:24 pm
Location: vancouver can
Contact:

Re: computer noise thru PA

Post by tummyfish »

you are dif. on to something! I unplug the laptop and it disappeared!! but My laptop battery is bad because it will only keep PC on for a few min. no matter how long I charge it up.So I'm going to buy a new battery for it today ..thank you so much for putting me on the right track...

User avatar
VinnieD
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 8:56 am
Contact:

Re: computer noise thru PA

Post by VinnieD »

Try plugging your laptop PSU on a different socket from the rest of the system (amp, speakers etc) - even a different group (diff fuse). Often unbalanced lines cause disturbance due to power supplies etc being plugged in the same fuse .
Do you use balanced lines between the speakers and amp/ sound card?

Just some thoughts...
Cubase Pro 11 - HALion 6/ HALionsonic 3 - NeoSoul Keys - Absolute VST+ - Kick2 - Groove Agent 5 - Korg Legacy M1 - Komplete Ult 12 - Sylenth1 - BlueII - SubBoomBass2 - TAL-U-NO-LX - Cable Guys bundle - Diva
Win 10 (64b) - 32GB RAM - i7 6 core - NVidia Geforce GTX1050
Focusrite Scarlet 18/8 Mk3 - Yamaha H8 - Komplete Kontrol S88 - Machine Mk3 - Korg MS20 (Full Size Kit) - Behringer TB-03
iPad Air 2 - Cubasis 2 - Cubase IC Pro - Nanologue

yokmurobert
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 6:28 am
Contact:

Re: computer noise thru PA

Post by yokmurobert »

tummyfish wrote:you are dif. on to something! I unplug the laptop and it disappeared!! but My laptop battery is bad because it will only keep PC on for a few min. no matter how long I charge it up.So I'm going to buy a new battery for it today ..thank you so much for putting me on the right track...
If your battery problem is also issue whenever you will be bought it ,keep in mind onething while purchasing the size of volt remain same which you already in using..

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests