Give Edit Mode to Cubase

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 can be posted here.
mikeheels1982
Junior Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:26 am
Contact:

EDIT MODE exactly like in Nuendo

Post by mikeheels1982 »

EDIT MODE is the most important feature for scoring music to picture...without it sometimes it's hard to sync perfectly our music to a video
please "steal" this from Nuendo!!!!!

thanks and all the best

mh
New Mac Pro 6-core, 64GB ram
OSX 1010.3
Universal Audio Apollo Twin

renos80
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:11 pm
Contact:

Re: EDIT MODE exactly like in Nuendo

Post by renos80 »

+1
IMac 24 / Leopard 10.5.8 / Cubase 6.02 / CC121/
MR816 CSX



User avatar
distante
Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:30 pm
Contact:

Re: EDIT MODE exactly like in Nuendo

Post by distante »

Can I ask what it's the difference?
Hear and See Rock Songs maded with Steinberg's UR824 and Cubase 7: bit.ly/CorazonTRM ("Corazón") and bit.ly/AnimalTRM ("Animal")

Do you want to show your music or any audio work made with Cubase? fb.com/groups/Made.With.Cubase/

My Stuff:
UR824 and Cubase PRO 8.0.20 on Windows 8.1 64bits / 16GB RAM / Core i7 4790K / GTX970 4GB VRAM )
*Always the latest version available.
A bunch of Mics, Pres and Toys, Plugins and Heart

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9697
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: EDIT MODE exactly like in Nuendo

Post by -steve- »

distante wrote:Can I ask what it's the difference?
Between what?

User avatar
distante
Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:30 pm
Contact:

Re: EDIT MODE exactly like in Nuendo

Post by distante »

Edit mode in Cubase and Nuendo

Or I'm getting something wrong? :?
Hear and See Rock Songs maded with Steinberg's UR824 and Cubase 7: bit.ly/CorazonTRM ("Corazón") and bit.ly/AnimalTRM ("Animal")

Do you want to show your music or any audio work made with Cubase? fb.com/groups/Made.With.Cubase/

My Stuff:
UR824 and Cubase PRO 8.0.20 on Windows 8.1 64bits / 16GB RAM / Core i7 4790K / GTX970 4GB VRAM )
*Always the latest version available.
A bunch of Mics, Pres and Toys, Plugins and Heart

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9697
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: EDIT MODE exactly like in Nuendo

Post by -steve- »

In this case Edit Mode refers to a mode where the cursor locks to a selected object as it is being dragged: the video scrolls as the object is dragged facilitating it's placement.

User avatar
distante
Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:30 pm
Contact:

Re: EDIT MODE exactly like in Nuendo

Post by distante »

Ahh oops! :oops:

Thanks for the reply
Hear and See Rock Songs maded with Steinberg's UR824 and Cubase 7: bit.ly/CorazonTRM ("Corazón") and bit.ly/AnimalTRM ("Animal")

Do you want to show your music or any audio work made with Cubase? fb.com/groups/Made.With.Cubase/

My Stuff:
UR824 and Cubase PRO 8.0.20 on Windows 8.1 64bits / 16GB RAM / Core i7 4790K / GTX970 4GB VRAM )
*Always the latest version available.
A bunch of Mics, Pres and Toys, Plugins and Heart

mikeheels1982
Junior Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:26 am
Contact:

Re: EDIT MODE exactly like in Nuendo

Post by mikeheels1982 »

+100000
New Mac Pro 6-core, 64GB ram
OSX 1010.3
Universal Audio Apollo Twin

sambosun
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 5:10 pm
Contact:

Give Edit Mode to Cubase

Post by sambosun »

Under Devices I've setup a generic remote and assigned Button Nr. 10 from my Peavey PC1600x to:

Control Name: Edit Mode
Device: Transport
Channel/Category: Device
Value/Action: editMode
Flags: P,T,N


Since update 7.5.10 this feature is broken!!!
Please bring its functionality back. It was working flawlessly from Cubase 6.5 - 7.5.0 for me.
As a film composer I rely on such a feature to sync my edits to the picture.

Nuendo is not an option.

Thank you
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1391828581.517593.jpg
(86.76 KiB) Not downloaded yet

I'm back to Cubase 7.5.0
Using Tapatalk

User avatar
Toronja
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 1:25 pm
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Re: Generic Remote EDIT MODE not working

Post by Toronja »

I can't understand this....why does Stein.. removed this??????
It's a huge pain work with media and no edit mode, may you please add this action???

Nuendo it's not a option for musicians, and most of us use to work in movie features and tv, I spend a lot of time doing synch without this and every time I open a PT session I can't understand why CB doesn't have it/

:cry:
Music Composer / www.pabloborghi.com

Przemek K.
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:26 am
Contact:

Re: Generic Remote EDIT MODE not working

Post by Przemek K. »

Yes, I also wonder why they removed it. Had to switch back to 7.5. Steinberg,please can we have it back in 7.5.20?

mr. anxiety
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 2:36 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Generic Remote EDIT MODE not working

Post by mr. anxiety »

+1 on getting this feature back in the new Cubase update. This is a valuable addition to the software that allows me to work way faster scoring music to picture, my main use for Cubase.

Please correct this and add this feature back into the software.

Thanks,

Mr A
Cubase 9 Windows 7 64 bit
VEPro 5 LIVE 9
PC i7-960 3.2 ghz 24 gb MoL
RME 9652 UAD2 Quad
Pro Tools 10 HD3 MacPro 3,1 32 gb

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Generic Remote EDIT MODE not working

Post by lukasbrooklyn »

Bump
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Generic Remote EDIT MODE not working

Post by lukasbrooklyn »

rather on topic-- how does one downgrade to 7.5 in windows?
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

sambosun
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 5:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Generic Remote EDIT MODE not working

Post by sambosun »

Edit Mode or whatever we would call it should be a basic feature whenever a DAW supports sound to picture.
Leaving it out would only make sense if Cubase wouldn't support Video at all. I'm still confident that it will get fixed.

Fight for your right ;)
Using Tapatalk

Przemek K.
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:26 am
Contact:

Re: Generic Remote EDIT MODE not working

Post by Przemek K. »

I agree with you on having this a basic feature integratated into cubase. I really hope it will be back in the next maintenance update. It really would suck if Steinberg would take it away for good. This feature helps alot when I'm working on music/sounddesign for picture.

sambosun
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 5:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Generic Remote EDIT MODE not working

Post by sambosun »

Good to see I'm not alone when thinking about basic features of a DAW
Using Tapatalk

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1877
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Generic Remote EDIT MODE not working

Post by mozizo »

its absolutely not acceptable to take functions already present in cubase,and users depend on it !
here is a workaround for meanwhile..(didn't try myself on C 7.5.1)
http://www.gearslutz.com/board/cubase-7 ... 7-a-2.html

Edit: sambosun i see u actually participate in the gearslutz topic there :geek: hope the workaround works in 7.5.1 too
cubase 10.5 pro ,halion 6 GA5 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

sambosun
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 5:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Generic Remote EDIT MODE not working

Post by sambosun »

Dear steinberg can you please fix the broken generic remote editMode feature?
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1397162938.661284.jpg
(107.17 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Thank you!
Using Tapatalk

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Generic Remote EDIT MODE not working

Post by lukasbrooklyn »

sambosun wrote:Dear steinberg can you please fix the broken generic remote editMode feature?
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1397162938.661284.jpg
Thank you!
SB said it's now a nuendo only feature, you're welcome.
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

Przemek K.
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:26 am
Contact:

Re: Generic Remote EDIT MODE not working

Post by Przemek K. »

Ahhhh, thats really bad. Why did they include this feature in cubase in the first place when its for nuendo only?
:?

sambosun
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 5:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Generic Remote EDIT MODE not working

Post by sambosun »

Sorry if I repeat myself

I think in this day and age such a feature that any other DAW I know of has shouldn't be left out of Cubase. Nobody I know of bought Nuendo instead of Cubase because of its edit mode feature. A frame sync editing approach should be a de facto standart in any DAW.
Logic does it, so does Studio One, Digital Performer, Reaper, Live.

I'm using video outside of Cubase anyways. As long as edit mode is enabled and it's sending MTC I'm fine. Nuendo is not an option for me personally.
Workarounds are always involved in any creative area but disabling this feature just because somebody brought the attention to it would be a poor and disappointing statement from a developer like steinberg.

The good news is it seems pretty easy for steinberg to enable edit mode.
Using Tapatalk

sambosun
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 5:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Generic Remote EDIT MODE not working

Post by sambosun »

Maybe it's time for a poll. Or just time to move on and get work done.
Using Tapatalk

Przemek K.
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:26 am
Contact:

Re: Generic Remote EDIT MODE not working

Post by Przemek K. »

A poll would be great. I also don't understand steinberg's decision on this. It reminds me when cubase sx3 had an undocumented feature where you could setup rewire channels in stereo pairs and that was removed since cubase 4.
I hope steinberg reconsider their decision regarding the edit mode.

User avatar
Guillermo
Moderator
Posts: 511
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 12:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Generic Remote EDIT MODE not working

Post by Guillermo »

Hello,

This is not a bug, edit mode is a Nuendo only feature.
I am moving this thread to the Feature request forum.

Best regards,
GN
Guillermo Navarrete, Online Product Specialist
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, SoundCloud and Google+!

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests