Need Tips on Commercial Comparison Files

All topics on WaveLab 8 and WaveLab Elements 8
Post Reply
razor7music
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 6:19 pm
Contact:

Need Tips on Commercial Comparison Files

Post by razor7music » Thu May 09, 2013 8:49 pm

Hey All--

I want to be able to have a commercially released track to compare to my original material, and wondered what the best method is for that?

My guess is using the Audio Montage with both tracks in it, but of course I want an easy flow for smart bypass for the commercial track as I'm listening back.

Anyone have a good method for this? I saw the audio comparator, but that doesn't seem to fit here as the files are not the same and I'll mostly be using my ears for comparison (maybe some meters--a little).
Thanks,


Stephen

Cakewalk by Bandlab
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit
ADK DAW-
Intel i7 4930K CPU
Core i7 SB-E MOBO
16 GB DDR3 RAM
7 TB Storage
Layla 3G SoundCard (11.5 ms Roundtrip Latency)
UAD-2 DSP
WaveLab 8.5 Pro 64-bit
Sound Forge 10 Pro

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2527
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Need Tips on Commercial Comparison Files

Post by Arjan P » Thu May 09, 2013 8:52 pm

What is it you want to compare? If it's loudness, you should check the 'Analyze' function, which now also checks toward the EBU R128 standard.
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 9.5.50 | Cubase 10.0 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6658
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Need Tips on Commercial Comparison Files

Post by PG » Thu May 09, 2013 9:00 pm

Do you mean you want to A/B the tracks auditionaly?
Philippe

razor7music
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 6:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Need Tips on Commercial Comparison Files

Post by razor7music » Thu May 09, 2013 9:53 pm

PG wrote:Do you mean you want to A/B the tracks auditionaly?
Yes, I want to A/B a commercially recorded track to my original track.

Does anyone here do that inside of WL?
Thanks,


Stephen

Cakewalk by Bandlab
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit
ADK DAW-
Intel i7 4930K CPU
Core i7 SB-E MOBO
16 GB DDR3 RAM
7 TB Storage
Layla 3G SoundCard (11.5 ms Roundtrip Latency)
UAD-2 DSP
WaveLab 8.5 Pro 64-bit
Sound Forge 10 Pro

Rat
Member
Posts: 682
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:33 am
Contact:

Re: Need Tips on Commercial Comparison Files

Post by Rat » Fri May 10, 2013 4:02 am

FWIW, I always have two particular tracks permanently loaded on the Edit screen. Both have effects bypassed.

I just play them when I want to review them ... nothing scientific at all. But it works well here.

Is that what you mean?
Regards

Paul

Paul Rat Blakey
12th & Vine Post

Windows 10 Professional (x64), Intel Core i7 7700 Quad Core LGA 1151 3.6 GHz CPU, 32 GB RAM, Gigabyte Z270M-D3H LGA 1151 mATX Motherboard, 2 x Intel Pro 5400S Series 256GB SSD (system and session drives), RME HDSPe AIO, Mytek converters

WaveLab 9.5 Pro current release, ProTools, iLok, DMG (Dave Gamble), Sony Oxford, Weiss, Class A Solid State and Custom Stuff

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6658
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Need Tips on Commercial Comparison Files

Post by PG » Fri May 10, 2013 7:05 am

You could simply divide the workspace in 2 tab groups, and toggle playback from one song to the other, by clicking directly in the time ruler:
2013-05-10_07-52-38.png
(138.8 KiB) Not downloaded yet
There is another way, more powerful but more complicated to setup:
This method can be used to instantly switch between up to four different “takes” of a performance.
Proceed as follows, for 2 tracks:
1) Create an Audio Montage and select the "8 channel configuration".
2) Put your 2 songs on 2 different tracks, lined up.
3) route the tracks to different channel outputs (Track 1 to outputs 1 and 2 and Track 2 to outputs 3 and 4)
3. Select Speaker Configuration dialog, and create 2 configurations as follows:
A) Configuration #1
* output channels 1 and 2 to your favorite hardware output pair
* output channels 3 and 4 to void
B) Configuration #2
* output channels 1 and 2 to void
* output channels 3 and 4 to your favorite hardware output pair

Now, if you playback the montage, and solo a track, you can toggle between A/B instantly (no latency) and in perfect sync.

If you like this system, you could create a montage template for it, and add up to 4 speaker configurations.

Philippe
Philippe

razor7music
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 6:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Need Tips on Commercial Comparison Files

Post by razor7music » Fri May 10, 2013 3:38 pm

Thanks, Philippe--

This is exactly what I'm looking for.

I'm still learning WL8 and I'm not in my studio at the moment, so please escuse me if this seems like a lame question: In your first example with the screenshot, when you audition the commercial track, do you hit the bypass all effects or smartbypass? I'm not looking for an exact comparison--just a reference point for when I've been listening to the same track 100 times :shock:
Last edited by razor7music on Fri May 10, 2013 4:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Thanks,


Stephen

Cakewalk by Bandlab
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit
ADK DAW-
Intel i7 4930K CPU
Core i7 SB-E MOBO
16 GB DDR3 RAM
7 TB Storage
Layla 3G SoundCard (11.5 ms Roundtrip Latency)
UAD-2 DSP
WaveLab 8.5 Pro 64-bit
Sound Forge 10 Pro

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6658
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Need Tips on Commercial Comparison Files

Post by PG » Fri May 10, 2013 3:46 pm

In my 1st example, you don't use any bypass. I assume your files are already finalized and you just want to toggle playback from one to the other.

In the 2nd example, you can make comparions with different effects. In this case, you add effects to each track.
There again, no need to select any bypass. But you have to "Solo" the track you want to listen alone.
Philippe

razor7music
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 6:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Need Tips on Commercial Comparison Files

Post by razor7music » Fri May 10, 2013 4:49 pm

PG wrote:In my 1st example, you don't use any bypass. I assume your files are already finalized and you just want to toggle playback from one to the other.

In the 2nd example, you can make comparions with different effects. In this case, you add effects to each track.
There again, no need to select any bypass. But you have to "Solo" the track you want to listen alone.
Gotcha--thanks. I'm going to trying this.
Thanks,


Stephen

Cakewalk by Bandlab
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit
ADK DAW-
Intel i7 4930K CPU
Core i7 SB-E MOBO
16 GB DDR3 RAM
7 TB Storage
Layla 3G SoundCard (11.5 ms Roundtrip Latency)
UAD-2 DSP
WaveLab 8.5 Pro 64-bit
Sound Forge 10 Pro

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab 8 | WaveLab Elements 8”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests