new dither

All topics on WaveLab 8 and WaveLab Elements 8
Post Reply
marcus82
Member
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 8:32 am
Contact:

new dither

Post by marcus82 » Thu Apr 11, 2013 5:07 pm

will the new Izotope dither be available for cubase 7 users

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2531
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: new dither

Post by Arjan P » Thu Apr 11, 2013 9:55 pm

That's unlikely I think. Just like the Sonnox plugs aren't available in Cubase - my guess...
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 10.0 | Cubase 10.0.40 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6804
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: new dither

Post by PG » Fri Apr 12, 2013 11:42 am

No, its a WaveLab integrated plugin.
BTW, WaveLab 8 has now a special mode to make the dithering effect "really audible" (only for test purposes).
2013-04-12_12-40-25.png
(20.36 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Philippe

User avatar
Justin P
Senior Member
Posts: 2423
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Re: new dither

Post by Justin P » Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:05 am

Hey PG,

Have you updated how Wavelab renders files. Once I upgraded to Ozone 5 and starting using the Mbit dither, my renders started taking much more time compared to Ozone 4 or Waves L2 as my limiter. Most of my processing is done with analog gear so I don't use too many plugins, but when you get Ozone 5 and a UAD Massive Passive on the master it can take quite some time to render a 45 minute montage..and I have a Mac Pro which is pretty powerful.

Has the rendering engine or new mBit dither now in Wavelab been optimized for faster rendering? If I remember, Wavelab 7 can only use one processor core.
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WaveLab/

iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6

RME AES HDSPe, MUTEC MC-3+ Smart Clock USB, Grace m905, Grace m900

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6804
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: new dither

Post by PG » Sat Apr 13, 2013 6:22 am

Most of my processing is done with analog gear
If you process with external gear, the speed is by principle the real time speed, as you can record faster than time... 45 min of audio will take 45 min.

Other than that, the MBit+ dither is pretty fast, faster than many other plugins.
Philippe

User avatar
Justin P
Senior Member
Posts: 2423
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Re: new dither

Post by Justin P » Sat Apr 13, 2013 4:56 pm

PG wrote:
Most of my processing is done with analog gear
If you process with external gear, the speed is by principle the real time speed, as you can record faster than time... 45 min of audio will take 45 min.

Other than that, the MBit+ dither is pretty fast, faster than many other plugins.
Hi PG, sorry about the confusion. I meant to say that most of my audio is already processed via analog gear (using other software) so my montages don't usually use many plugins. I'm not using analog processing in my montages.

It seems that there is something in Ozone 5 that makes the rendering take much much longer than Ozone 4 or Waves L2 as example. I'll have to do some tests since I'm not sure what feature in Ozone 5 is causing the long render times. I typically just use the maximizer/limiter section of Ozone 5, but it might be the "transient recovery" or "intersample peaks" setting within the limiter section.

What I'm wondering is if the rendering engine is able to use more cores on the Mac Pro or if rendering times will remain the same as in WL7?
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WaveLab/

iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6

RME AES HDSPe, MUTEC MC-3+ Smart Clock USB, Grace m905, Grace m900

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6804
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: new dither

Post by PG » Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:55 pm

Whatever the DAW, a single plugin instance can only be used by a single thread/core at a time.
There is no change, there can be no change.
When different plugins are used in different tracks, one could imagine the use of multiple cores, but WaveLab don't do this for the time being.
Philippe

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab 8 | WaveLab Elements 8”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest