exporting audio mixdown issue

For users of legacy Steinberg Nuendo software
Post Reply
User avatar
t2audio
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:30 pm
Contact:

exporting audio mixdown issue

Post by t2audio »

Hi all,

Neuendo 5.5, MacPro dual-core Xeon @ 2GHZ, 4 GB ram, Apogee Symphony 64/Symphony I/O, Rosetta 800, Big Ben.

I work mainly as a re-recording mixer for films- the issue I have is when I've exported a mixdown (either real-time or not) the head and tail pops ramp up and down. I'm got the tracks with the pop (1khz tone, 1 frame in length) routed only to the stereo out, or in the case of surround, a single 5.1 track assigned only to the 5.1 output, no plug-ins, nothing. Also, there's 8 seconds of pre-roll before the head pop. Plenty of time.
I changed the volume of the file, the length (extending a few samples either direction) in hopes of getting something useable.

Currently, the Symphony buffer is at 512 samples, which equates to 11.562 ms of latency. I've lower the buffer to 128 samples, no difference. Which shouldn't matter anyhow on an export, correct?

Once I've exported a mix and bring it back into the project, what I have is a ramped-up looking 2 pop, not quite a frame in length.

Thanks-
Michael Gandsey
OS X 10.13.6, Mac Pro (late 2013) 3.7 Ghz Quad-Core Xeon E5- 32 GB 1866 MHz DDR3 RAM- Nuendo 10.2.20, 10.3- Davinci Resolve 16- Apogee Symphony I/O MK II 8X8X8 system- Rosetta 800- Big Ben- Yamaha 01V96i- Genelec 8340A 7.1 monitor system

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4441
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: exporting audio mixdown issue

Post by MattiasNYC »

I've seen this in Pro Tools as well.

I would investigate RAISING the buffer size rather than the opposite, and also look into delay compensation as well as automation.

A bit weird though, I agree.
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
t2audio
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:30 pm
Contact:

Re: exporting audio mixdown issue

Post by t2audio »

Thanks for the tip. Will also look at delay compensation. Spent some time last evening and found something else that is bothersome. I recorded a 6 channel .wav on my Sound Devices 788T @ -12 (30 sec. or so) imported the file into Neuendo
onto a single 5.1 channel, bussed directly to the 5.1 output- no group. Exported a mixdown (both realtime and bounce-style). Imported back into Neuendo and the file is not the same amplitude! A couple of DB hotter.
I've never noticed any difference in mix volume when I import a mix to QC it against the project, but honestly I can't see that it wouldn't be, considering the test I did last night.
This is much more problematic than a mis-formed 2 pop.
I will try an old school real-time mix out to the 788T via the Symphony and see how that looks.
It's not clear to me how a exported mixdown could be so far off- and, this is a project that was created from scratch, the only thing in it is a single 5.1 channel with a file of 1KHZ tone @ -12.
OS X 10.13.6, Mac Pro (late 2013) 3.7 Ghz Quad-Core Xeon E5- 32 GB 1866 MHz DDR3 RAM- Nuendo 10.2.20, 10.3- Davinci Resolve 16- Apogee Symphony I/O MK II 8X8X8 system- Rosetta 800- Big Ben- Yamaha 01V96i- Genelec 8340A 7.1 monitor system

Hugh
Member
Posts: 284
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:24 pm
Contact:

Re: exporting audio mixdown issue

Post by Hugh »

Hello,
A question regarding the ramped 2-pop - is there automation on that track that ramps opens and closes the track?
Hugh

User avatar
t2audio
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:30 pm
Contact:

Re: exporting audio mixdown issue

Post by t2audio »

Nope. I'd love to send out a screenshot of what's going on, if someone is interested in detective work.
Thanks-
OS X 10.13.6, Mac Pro (late 2013) 3.7 Ghz Quad-Core Xeon E5- 32 GB 1866 MHz DDR3 RAM- Nuendo 10.2.20, 10.3- Davinci Resolve 16- Apogee Symphony I/O MK II 8X8X8 system- Rosetta 800- Big Ben- Yamaha 01V96i- Genelec 8340A 7.1 monitor system

Hugh
Member
Posts: 284
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:24 pm
Contact:

Re: exporting audio mixdown issue

Post by Hugh »

Odd. We've used 2-pops a lot along with other quick signals (fast sync pulses and the like) and haven't had that problem. Good luck and if you find something let us know.
Hugh

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4441
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: exporting audio mixdown issue

Post by MattiasNYC »

Michael,

Browse the Nuendo 6 section for info on mismatching levels. There was a thread about a problem with Control Room, and while I understand that that isn't what appears to be the issue it's probably wise to read through it just in case.

And I take it you haven't duplicated a signal to an output, right?
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
t2audio
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:30 pm
Contact:

Re: exporting audio mixdown issue

Post by t2audio »

Hey L,
Thanks- will check out the N6 info on levels.
As far as duplicated signals, don't think so- will double check.
Control room disabled completely. However, the level increase would point to a duplicated signal.
OS X 10.13.6, Mac Pro (late 2013) 3.7 Ghz Quad-Core Xeon E5- 32 GB 1866 MHz DDR3 RAM- Nuendo 10.2.20, 10.3- Davinci Resolve 16- Apogee Symphony I/O MK II 8X8X8 system- Rosetta 800- Big Ben- Yamaha 01V96i- Genelec 8340A 7.1 monitor system

User avatar
t2audio
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:30 pm
Contact:

Re: exporting audio mixdown issue

Post by t2audio »

OK, operator error on the mismatched level issue. Placed the imported file onto the same track, rather than a new track.
Levels are spot on.
Still leaves the mystery of the head/tail pop anomaly. Moving to N6 after I get a couple of projects out the door- see what happens there.
Thanks-
OS X 10.13.6, Mac Pro (late 2013) 3.7 Ghz Quad-Core Xeon E5- 32 GB 1866 MHz DDR3 RAM- Nuendo 10.2.20, 10.3- Davinci Resolve 16- Apogee Symphony I/O MK II 8X8X8 system- Rosetta 800- Big Ben- Yamaha 01V96i- Genelec 8340A 7.1 monitor system

Post Reply

Return to “Older Nuendo versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests