A question about exporting projects in Sequel 3

Discuss all Sequel related topics.
Post Reply
Varre
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:47 am
Contact:

A question about exporting projects in Sequel 3

Post by Varre » Mon Sep 26, 2011 11:20 pm

Hi.

Why is it that when I export projects to Wave files in Sequel 3 (Trial version)
the bit rate on all tracks become 2488 kbit/s ?

When I export the same projects in Sequel 2, the bit rate is 1411 kbit/s.

I always use Bit Depth 16 so that shouldn't be "the problem".


Regards

Henrik

Varre
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: A question about exporting projects in Sequel 3

Post by Varre » Wed Oct 05, 2011 11:23 am

Doesn't anyone else has this "problem" ??
Mr JHP, no solutions / help ??

// H

User avatar
JHP
Member
Posts: 755
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 1:58 pm
Contact:

Re: A question about exporting projects in Sequel 3

Post by JHP » Wed Oct 05, 2011 3:06 pm

Varre wrote:Hi.

Why is it that when I export projects to Wave files in Sequel 3 (Trial version)
the bit rate on all tracks become 2488 kbit/s ?

When I export the same projects in Sequel 2, the bit rate is 1411 kbit/s.

I always use Bit Depth 16 so that shouldn't be "the problem".


Regards

Henrik
Hi,
I'm not sure what you mean. What exactly are you doing, could you be more specific in describing the problem?

Gr,
JHP
Jan Peters, QA
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Varre
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: A question about exporting projects in Sequel 3

Post by Varre » Thu Oct 06, 2011 9:56 am

Ok sorry if I was a bit unclear, it´s a bit tricky to explain.

I export a project as an audio file (page 47 in the manual) and
saves it as a wave file.
I always use the bit depth of 16 bit.

When I use Sequel 2, my exported file (project) gets the size of 50 MB and have a bit rate 1411 kbit/s.
When I export the same project in Sequel 3 the same file is 100 MB and the bit rate 2822 kbit/s.

It feels like Sequel 3 exports projects in bit depth 24 even if you choose 16 ??

It also screws up my converting of wave files to MP3's (using CDEX) because of the
wrong file format.

I hope this was a bit more understandable and thank you for taking your time.

Regards

Henrik

User avatar
JHP
Member
Posts: 755
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 1:58 pm
Contact:

Re: A question about exporting projects in Sequel 3

Post by JHP » Tue Oct 18, 2011 10:16 am

Your right I could reproduce this.
Wav files are always exported with a bit resolution of 32bit float, no matter which bit depth you choose in the "Export Project as Audio File" dialog. I will report this.

Gr,
JHP
Jan Peters, QA
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Varre
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: A question about exporting projects in Sequel 3

Post by Varre » Thu Oct 20, 2011 3:20 pm

Thanks !!

Does this mean that Steinberg can fix it with an update
or do you have to wait to next Sequel version ?

I really like the other new functions in Sequel 3 but if you can´t
export files, burn them to a cd and convert them to MP3s it's a big disapontment.

// Henrik

User avatar
JHP
Member
Posts: 755
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 1:58 pm
Contact:

Re: A question about exporting projects in Sequel 3

Post by JHP » Fri Oct 21, 2011 9:28 am

Varre wrote: I really like the other new functions in Sequel 3 but if you can´t
export files, burn them to a cd and convert them to MP3s it's a big disapontment.

// Henrik
Of course you can quote "export files, burn them to a cd and convert them to MP3s"!
You just export in high quality by default and it is not possible to export in lower qualities. Many would say that a high quality export is desirable.

You can use almost any freeware burning program and burn the files to an audio cd. It will automatically correctly convert the data. You can of course also convert the files to mp3 with any good freeware converter or you can also directly export to mp3 if you purchase the mp3 patch.

With which software are you failing to burn the audio and with which software are you failing to convert the audio to mp3?

Gr,
JHP
Jan Peters, QA
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Varre
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: A question about exporting projects in Sequel 3

Post by Varre » Sun Oct 23, 2011 11:05 am

I'm using CDex and it doesn't work to convert to MP3 with Sequel 3.
I assume it depends on the 32 bit-format because it works with Sequel 2.

If you have any solutions or any tips for a freeware that works please let mee know.

Thanks

// Henrik

careyletendre
Junior Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:52 am
Contact:

Re: A question about exporting projects in Sequel 3

Post by careyletendre » Thu Oct 27, 2011 5:29 am

JHP wrote:Your right I could reproduce this.
Wav files are always exported with a bit resolution of 32bit float, no matter which bit depth you choose in the "Export Project as Audio File" dialog. I will report this.

Gr,
JHP
Confirmed here.

Varre
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: A question about exporting projects in Sequel 3

Post by Varre » Fri Oct 28, 2011 3:13 pm

Ok thank you, but does that mean it's going to be solved in
a near future with an update or ??

Sorry for all the "negative" posts lately.
I'm a huge fan of Sequel and just want it to work as perfect as possible.

Varre
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: A question about exporting projects in Sequel 3

Post by Varre » Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:19 am

Hi again, any news about this topic ??

I still don't use Sequel 3 (I have paid for it and downloaded it) beacuse
of this problem.
I have contacted Contact Support a couple of times without any reply and
I have tried every MP3-coverter I can find but no one can convert the 32 bit format.

And I'm not that happy that the 32 bit format takes twice as much
space on my disk.

This also goes for the other topic/problem I have about the Copy function.

Like I mentioned before, I really like Sequel but if no one at Steinberg seem to
care about it, why continue using it ?

Funkhouser
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:04 pm
Contact:

Re: A question about exporting projects in Sequel 3

Post by Funkhouser » Mon Jan 09, 2012 10:25 am

Hi,

we already fixed this issue. So the next free update (which will come soon!) will definitely include the export bugfix.

cheers,
Marcel

Varre
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: A question about exporting projects in Sequel 3

Post by Varre » Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:44 am

Oh that sounds fantastic, can't wait.

Thanx Marcel !!!

// Henrik

User avatar
JHP
Member
Posts: 755
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 1:58 pm
Contact:

Re: A question about exporting projects in Sequel 3

Post by JHP » Mon Jan 09, 2012 4:54 pm

Nice! :)
Jan Peters, QA
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Varre
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: A question about exporting projects in Sequel 3

Post by Varre » Fri Feb 24, 2012 9:04 pm

Any news regarding the update ??

User avatar
JHP
Member
Posts: 755
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 1:58 pm
Contact:

Re: A question about exporting projects in Sequel 3

Post by JHP » Mon Apr 02, 2012 9:18 am

Varre wrote:Any news regarding the update ??
The latest Sequel 3, Sequel 3.0.1 Update can be found here:
http://www.steinberg.net/en/support/dow ... quel3.html

Greetings,
JHP
Jan Peters, QA
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Post Reply

Return to “Sequel”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest