Second screen on iPad. This is very cool!

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
User avatar
Steve Helstrip
Member
Posts: 863
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:23 pm
Contact:

Second screen on iPad. This is very cool!

Post by Steve Helstrip »

Thought I'd share this here as I find it really useful for Cubase.

If you've got an iPad, Duet lets you use it as a second screen. There's zero lag, provides full touch support and runs in retina resolution.

Here it is on my MacBook:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/h486l5amq1d3h9f/duet.JPG?dl=0
Hackintosh, 8700K / 4.8GHz, 16Gb, OSX10.14.4
MacBook Pro Retina (2015), i5, 8Gb, OSX10.14.4
Cubase Pro 10
Vienna Ensemble Pro 6
UAD-2 Octo, Focusrite Clarett Thunderbolt
Cubase user since 1989!

http://www.thethrillseekers.co.uk
http://www.twitter.com/stevehelstrip
http://www.facebook.com/thrillseekersofficial

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23073
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Second screen on iPad. This is very cool!

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

I'm also using Duet, it's really nice.

I would like just to add, the touch support is not multi-touch in sense you could move multiple faders at once.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

mkok
Junior Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Second screen on iPad. This is very cool!

Post by mkok »

So does this work with a pc as well?
i9 9900k 32gb ram, Zoom LiveTrack L20, Genelc 1029a, Roland TD-30 ekit. SD3 Cubase and Wavelab always latest versions.Lots of other bits.

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1785
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Second screen on iPad. This is very cool!

Post by planarchist »

mkok wrote:
Fri May 24, 2019 4:17 pm
So does this work with a pc as well?
It says it does...shall be giving it a try.
Nic

Cubase Pro 10.5, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 10.5. Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit , Steinberg CI2+.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

My Cubase recorded songs here (also on most other streaming services).... https://open.spotify.com/artist/6rHmZY1IPskvtYL1Zzw6Vy

mart
Member
Posts: 736
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Second screen on iPad. This is very cool!

Post by mart »

Steve Helstrip wrote:
Thu May 23, 2019 2:46 pm
Thought I'd share this here as I find it really useful for Cubase.

If you've got an iPad, Duet lets you use it as a second screen. There's zero lag, provides full touch support and runs in retina resolution.

Here it is on my MacBook:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/h486l5amq1d3h9f/duet.JPG?dl=0
Thanks Steve. How is the Resolution before I pull the trigger?

Anyone know too what the iPad app is called where you can assign functions to buttons?
Windows 10 Build 1909 , Gigabyte x58 Soc FORCE, 16gb Ddr4 RAM, Intel 5930x, Cubase 10.5, Dorico 3 UAD-2 PCIe (1 x OCTO & 1 x Quad ), Protools 12.7, Vienna Ensemble Pro 7 with 32gb Slave PC.

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1785
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Second screen on iPad. This is very cool!

Post by planarchist »

mart wrote:
Fri May 24, 2019 6:55 pm

Anyone know too what the iPad app is called where you can assign functions to buttons?
Metagrid is the one I use with Cubase for this purpose.
Nic

Cubase Pro 10.5, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 10.5. Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit , Steinberg CI2+.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

My Cubase recorded songs here (also on most other streaming services).... https://open.spotify.com/artist/6rHmZY1IPskvtYL1Zzw6Vy

mart
Member
Posts: 736
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Second screen on iPad. This is very cool!

Post by mart »

planarchist wrote:
Fri May 24, 2019 7:06 pm
mart wrote:
Fri May 24, 2019 6:55 pm

Anyone know too what the iPad app is called where you can assign functions to buttons?
Metagrid is the one I use with Cubase for this purpose.
Cool thanks will have a look
Windows 10 Build 1909 , Gigabyte x58 Soc FORCE, 16gb Ddr4 RAM, Intel 5930x, Cubase 10.5, Dorico 3 UAD-2 PCIe (1 x OCTO & 1 x Quad ), Protools 12.7, Vienna Ensemble Pro 7 with 32gb Slave PC.

David W
Member
Posts: 325
Joined: Sun May 12, 2019 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Second screen on iPad. This is very cool!

Post by David W »

Steve Helstrip wrote:
Thu May 23, 2019 2:46 pm
If you've got an iPad, Duet lets you use it as a second screen. There's zero lag, provides full touch support and runs in retina resolution.
You can do this between two Windows 10 machines using functionality built into the OS - though in the case of Windows, multitouch and pen can be passed back to the main machine. I have a Microsoft Surface Go as well as several other larger Windows 10 machines.


On the device you want to use as a display, go into Settings (e.g. by clicking the Windows icon in the bottom left of the screen, then the cog), choose System, Projecting to this PC, then change the top setting to "Available everywhere on secure networks" (or "Available everywhere" if you need to).

On the device you want to use the display on, go into Settings, choose System, Display and scroll down to "Connect to a wireless display". Once you have the connection set up, you almost certainl want to set the Multiple displays setting to "Extend these displays".

dr
Member
Posts: 871
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Second screen on iPad. This is very cool!

Post by dr »

David W wrote:
Fri May 24, 2019 8:36 pm


On the device you want to use as a display, go into Settings (e.g. by clicking the Windows icon in the bottom left of the screen, then the cog), choose System, Projecting to this PC, then change the top setting to "Available everywhere on secure networks" (or "Available everywhere" if you need to).

On the device you want to use the display on, go into Settings, choose System, Display and scroll down to "Connect to a wireless display". Once you have the connection set up, you almost certainl want to set the Multiple displays setting to "Extend these displays".
thanks for the heads up, is there a performance hit on this ?

David W
Member
Posts: 325
Joined: Sun May 12, 2019 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Second screen on iPad. This is very cool!

Post by David W »

dr wrote:
Fri May 24, 2019 8:38 pm
thanks for the heads up, is there a performance hit on this ?
I've not found any noticeable performance issues, though there is likely to be a small amount of latency with any wireless display and I wouldn't want to try playing video on the wireless display. It works well enough for my uses and the price is right if you have two Windows 10 machines! I had the Surface Go anyway, as it is my "go everywhere" Windows machine when I don't want to carry a larger laptop. Using it as a wireless display on another laptop extends its usefulness.

So long as you understand its limitations, Surface Go can make an excellent secondary Windows machine. It can be used for lightweight audio work, but it isn't going to be useful for large Cubase sessions.

dr
Member
Posts: 871
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Second screen on iPad. This is very cool!

Post by dr »

I'm gonna give that a try - thanks

User avatar
Steve Helstrip
Member
Posts: 863
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Second screen on iPad. This is very cool!

Post by Steve Helstrip »

The resolution is selectable. On my system I can run at full retina dpi at 1024 x 768 with zero lag and no performance hit. Very handy for channel settings window, etc. I also run metagrid. They both run happily alongside each other.
Hackintosh, 8700K / 4.8GHz, 16Gb, OSX10.14.4
MacBook Pro Retina (2015), i5, 8Gb, OSX10.14.4
Cubase Pro 10
Vienna Ensemble Pro 6
UAD-2 Octo, Focusrite Clarett Thunderbolt
Cubase user since 1989!

http://www.thethrillseekers.co.uk
http://www.twitter.com/stevehelstrip
http://www.facebook.com/thrillseekersofficial

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1785
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Second screen on iPad. This is very cool!

Post by planarchist »

Steve Helstrip wrote:
Fri May 24, 2019 10:51 pm
I also run metagrid. They both run happily alongside each other.
This is particularly useful to know, I was wondering that as someone who already runs Metagrid. Thanks Steve.
Nic

Cubase Pro 10.5, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 10.5. Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit , Steinberg CI2+.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

My Cubase recorded songs here (also on most other streaming services).... https://open.spotify.com/artist/6rHmZY1IPskvtYL1Zzw6Vy

User avatar
beatpete
Senior Member
Posts: 1158
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Contact:

Re: Second screen on iPad. This is very cool!

Post by beatpete »

This is very cool. I have a couple of questions... Can you use the Ipad touch for "touch automation" in Cubase? i.e. when you touch the fader on the Ipad it enables "write" as it does with the mouse? Secondly, are you limited to one Ipad?
Thanks,
Peter
Comp1: Windows 10 64 bit, Asus X99-A USB 3.1, I7 5930K (running at 4500 MHz), 32 gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 ram, Radeon HD5450 graphics, RME Digiface, Steinberg UR824 and MR816x (X2)
(connected to Digiface), Cubase 10.5 64bit
Comp 2: Windows 10 64bit, I5 3450,32 gb ram, VEPro 7.

User avatar
Steve Helstrip
Member
Posts: 863
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Second screen on iPad. This is very cool!

Post by Steve Helstrip »

beatpete wrote:
Sat May 25, 2019 4:32 pm
This is very cool. I have a couple of questions... Can you use the Ipad touch for "touch automation" in Cubase? i.e. when you touch the fader on the Ipad it enables "write" as it does with the mouse? Secondly, are you limited to one Ipad?
Thanks,
Peter
Touch control works like a mouse, so whatever you can do with a mouse, you can do with touch. Muliple iPads are supported, I believe.
Hackintosh, 8700K / 4.8GHz, 16Gb, OSX10.14.4
MacBook Pro Retina (2015), i5, 8Gb, OSX10.14.4
Cubase Pro 10
Vienna Ensemble Pro 6
UAD-2 Octo, Focusrite Clarett Thunderbolt
Cubase user since 1989!

http://www.thethrillseekers.co.uk
http://www.twitter.com/stevehelstrip
http://www.facebook.com/thrillseekersofficial

jimmycooper
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 10:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Second screen on iPad. This is very cool!

Post by jimmycooper »

Just started using DuetDisplay w/Cubase 10. Really easy to install and up and running quickly. Really nice to have a plugin or anything else,parked on the Ipad and being able to use touch to control everything. Very cool. 8-)

User avatar
Andre
Senior Member
Posts: 1094
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 9:49 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Second screen on iPad. This is very cool!

Post by Andre »

Is there a way to use an Android tablet as second device? It would be great to have the mixer there instead of having to flip between the main screen and mixer.
Gothenburg, Sweden.
iMac 3 GHz Intel Core i5, 8 GB ram, macOS Mojave 10.14.6
Cubase X 10.9.40, Dorico 3 with NotePerformer 3.2.0
Logic Pro X. EWQLSO Gold, Kirk Hunter Diamond Orchestra/Concert Strings 2/Concert Brass 2, etc etc...
Dutch is my native language. English 2nd, Swedish 3rd, Spanish 4th (but don't ask me to use it...)
My music and tutorials on http://www.andrevanharen.com

User avatar
beatpete
Senior Member
Posts: 1158
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Contact:

Re: Second screen on iPad. This is very cool!

Post by beatpete »

I just installed Duet Display on my PC and I'm noticing quite a bit of lag even at the lowest setting, anyone else?
Comp1: Windows 10 64 bit, Asus X99-A USB 3.1, I7 5930K (running at 4500 MHz), 32 gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 ram, Radeon HD5450 graphics, RME Digiface, Steinberg UR824 and MR816x (X2)
(connected to Digiface), Cubase 10.5 64bit
Comp 2: Windows 10 64bit, I5 3450,32 gb ram, VEPro 7.

Funkybot
Member
Posts: 299
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:08 am
Contact:

Re: Second screen on iPad. This is very cool!

Post by Funkybot »

iDisplay is a similar app that's cross-platform and claims to support multi-touch and work on Android, iOS, and Windows. When it comes to the app discussed here initially, Duet Display, it has a Pro version that apparently offers less latency and some drawing related features with a Pro subscription of $4 per month or $24/year. iDisplay doesn't appear to hold back on features or charge a sub (no idea what latency is like there).

Note: I haven't used either yet, but I'm going to take a chance on iDisplay later today to see if it works as a secondary multi-touch monitor (from Windows PC to iPad Pro). Might be an alternative to Duet if you don't need drawing features. If you were looking to use your iPad as a drawing tablet, Duet Pro looks like the better option.

I'll post back with my thoughts on iDisplay after I've checked it out later today.

User avatar
beatpete
Senior Member
Posts: 1158
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Contact:

Re: Second screen on iPad. This is very cool!

Post by beatpete »

Funkybot wrote:
Tue May 28, 2019 2:41 pm

I'll post back with my thoughts on iDisplay after I've checked it out later today.
Great, thanks!
Comp1: Windows 10 64 bit, Asus X99-A USB 3.1, I7 5930K (running at 4500 MHz), 32 gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 ram, Radeon HD5450 graphics, RME Digiface, Steinberg UR824 and MR816x (X2)
(connected to Digiface), Cubase 10.5 64bit
Comp 2: Windows 10 64bit, I5 3450,32 gb ram, VEPro 7.

Funkybot
Member
Posts: 299
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:08 am
Contact:

Re: Second screen on iPad. This is very cool!

Post by Funkybot »

beatpete wrote:
Tue May 28, 2019 4:23 pm
Funkybot wrote:
Tue May 28, 2019 2:41 pm

I'll post back with my thoughts on iDisplay after I've checked it out later today.
Great, thanks!
After I posted that I saw that iDisplay had terrible reviews and hasn't been updated in well over a year with complaints of no responses from support so I bailed on that plan. Just didn't seem worth the money knowing that. Too much of a gamble. I went with Duet display and it worked great except for multitouch and maybe some CPU overhead.

Funkybot
Member
Posts: 299
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:08 am
Contact:

Re: Second screen on iPad. This is very cool!

Post by Funkybot »

I should also add, Duet Display does support multi-touch on Windows PC's. For instance, I can pinch and zoom when using Affinity Photo. It's Cubase that doesn't register multi-touch input from the display. Studio One registers nothing at all even though it's supposed to be multi-touch enabled. Same for Reaper. But some applications do work.

User avatar
beatpete
Senior Member
Posts: 1158
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Contact:

Re: Second screen on iPad. This is very cool!

Post by beatpete »

I know this is an old post but I'm trying to use my Ipad to control softsynths with Duet Display but I ca't get touch working, any ideas?
Comp1: Windows 10 64 bit, Asus X99-A USB 3.1, I7 5930K (running at 4500 MHz), 32 gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 ram, Radeon HD5450 graphics, RME Digiface, Steinberg UR824 and MR816x (X2)
(connected to Digiface), Cubase 10.5 64bit
Comp 2: Windows 10 64bit, I5 3450,32 gb ram, VEPro 7.

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests