The plug-in could not be found.

Discussions about VST Instruments and VST plug-ins from other manufacturers
Post Reply
User avatar
todsoria
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 11:32 pm
Contact:

The plug-in could not be found.

Post by todsoria » Fri Oct 23, 2015 8:10 pm

Hello,

This is my first time posting, so please be patient if I've done something wrong.

After upgrading to Mac Yosemite, I get the following message from Cubase:

The plug-in "BFD3" could not be found for VST Synth 1!

Does anyone know how I can re-connect BFD3 to Cubase?

By the way, I've only recently switched to Cubase after using Pro Tools for many years. I barely know anything about Cubase, but am familiar with studio recording in general.
Tod Soria

User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: The plug-in could not be found.

Post by jamusic » Sun Dec 13, 2015 6:13 am

Hi Tod,

I'm a bit surprised that no one chimed in to help you.

In the meantime, did you ever figure this out?

If not, perhaps I can help.
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


User avatar
todsoria
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 11:32 pm
Contact:

Re: The plug-in could not be found.

Post by todsoria » Wed Jun 15, 2016 9:43 pm

Hi jamusic,

Thanks for the reply. Wow, it's been a while! I think I was able to figure this out, because I did do some recording since the problem. However, I recently upgraded to El Capitan, and I'm having the same problem. And, I can't remember how I solved it the last time!

Any help you could offer would be greatly appreciated.

: ) Tod
Tod Soria

User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: The plug-in could not be found.

Post by jamusic » Fri Jun 17, 2016 7:16 am

Hi Tod,

There is a file stored on your computer called VST Blacklist - [at least I think that's what it's called] - but it's a 'Blacklist' nonetheless. Deleting this file should do it, without doing any harm.

Because I'm on Windows,I don't know where you'll find it, but it will be with your Cubase Preferences.

In windows, it's an .xml file.

Perhaps you can do a search for it. Start by looking for Cubase and follow that folder tree path.

Let me know if this helps, or if you need help finding it, we can ask here - lot's of guys use Macs.

Try it out and see if that works though - let's start with that. ;)
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


User avatar
todsoria
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 11:32 pm
Contact:

Re: The plug-in could not be found.

Post by todsoria » Fri Jun 17, 2016 5:27 pm

Hi jamusic,

I've just spent a while trying to find my VST Blacklist (or something like that), with no luck. I did a few searches on the net, and on this site - didn't find anything applicable. I also had a look in various system folders on my computer, with no luck.

Do you know anyone we could ask where I can find my blacklist, on a Mac?

Tod
Tod Soria

User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: The plug-in could not be found.

Post by jamusic » Sat Jun 18, 2016 4:26 am

Hi Tod,

Can you navigate to the folder where BFD 3 is on your system?

In other words, you probably know where it's installed, correct?

Also, what version of Cubase are you using -7.5 or 8.0 or 8.5?
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


User avatar
todsoria
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 11:32 pm
Contact:

Re: The plug-in could not be found.

Post by todsoria » Sun Jun 19, 2016 1:45 am

Hi jamusic,

Yes, I can easily find BFD3 in my computer (in my Applications folder). I opened it up and didn't find anything that looked like a blacklist. I looked in a folder called "VST XMLs", and only found one file. It is called "Generic.xml".

I also looked around a lot, in several different system folders, but was not able to find anything that felt right to me.

I'm running Cubase version
7.5.40.315

Tod
Tod Soria

User avatar
todsoria
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 11:32 pm
Contact:

Re: The plug-in could not be found.

Post by todsoria » Sun Jun 19, 2016 2:54 am

I think I wasn't clear.

I looked in both application folders - Cubase and BFD3. I didn't find any files or folders that looked like a blacklist.

Tod
Tod Soria

User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: The plug-in could not be found.

Post by jamusic » Sun Jun 19, 2016 5:39 am

Ok Tod,

So try this:

1. Take note of where you have BFD3 installed.
2. In Cubase, go to [Top Menu Bar] Devices > Plug-in Information.

Once there, you'll see 3 tabs -'Update', 'VST 2.x Plug-in Paths' and 'Update Plug-in Information'.

Click on the middle one of those 3 and add the path in step 1. above where you have BFD3 installed, and then click 'Update'.

You may have to restart Cubase, but that should do it.

Let us know if that works Tod.
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


User avatar
todsoria
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 11:32 pm
Contact:

Re: The plug-in could not be found.

Post by todsoria » Mon Jun 20, 2016 11:59 pm

Hi jamusic,

I wasn't able to use the 2nd option (VST 2.x Plug-in Paths) because BFD3 was greyed out. I also had a look around for a while in that window and couldn't find anything that wasn't greyed out.

Good news, though - I clicked on the first option (Update), restarted Cubase, and everything works fine now!

Thanks a lot for all your help and for leading me to the "Plug-in Information" window.

Have a nice day : )
Tod Soria

User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: The plug-in could not be found.

Post by jamusic » Wed Jun 22, 2016 3:37 am

That's awesome Tod!

A little bit strange, but it's working now nonetheless.
Great news!
Glad to help out.
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


Jack
Junior Member
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 7:18 pm
Contact:

Re: The plug-in could not be found.

Post by Jack » Thu Jun 23, 2016 2:38 pm

It is so nice to see one another help when it it needed. Bravo !

User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: The plug-in could not be found.

Post by jamusic » Fri Jun 24, 2016 4:14 pm

I totally agree Jack.

When someone asks for help and no one answers, I always wonder a bit why nobody chimes in.

It can be very frustrating to be waiting for an answer and not getting any where with your work, when you really just want to be cruising along.
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


Post Reply

Return to “VST Instruments and Virtual Effects (general)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests