VST Effects Live

Discussions about VST Instruments and VST plug-ins from other manufacturers
Post Reply
wolf3man
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:09 am
Contact:

VST Effects Live

Post by wolf3man » Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:15 am

Ok - so I'm a VST noob and was wondering if its possible in Cubase 8 Pro to enable VST effects live on an audio input as opposed to rendering the VST effect after recording the audio into Cubase after the fact.

I have been in the Cubase world since version 4 and was hoping VST Live effects were a thing now.

If so, please let me know

Thanks

Wolf3man

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3850
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: VST Effects Live

Post by Prock » Fri Aug 28, 2015 12:15 am

Yes... You can assign vst effects when recording audio. Just assign and enable the vst while recording. Of course the resultant recorded audio will have that effect as part of the recording.

Regards. 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.5, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

wolf3man
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:09 am
Contact:

Re: VST Effects Live

Post by wolf3man » Fri Aug 28, 2015 7:09 pm

Thanks for the reply Prock - Do they have to be VST 3.0 or any specific version?

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3850
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: VST Effects Live

Post by Prock » Sat Aug 29, 2015 3:42 am

Any vst version (typically 2 or 3) 32 or 64 bit should work. Of course you will have less issues if using the newer versions.

Regards. 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.5, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

wolf3man
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:09 am
Contact:

Re: VST Effects Live

Post by wolf3man » Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:15 am

I cant seem to get this to work - is there a link you can point to or video? I basically turn the effect on when I have live audio coming into stereo in and the effect does play live

Any tips?

Post Reply

Return to “VST Instruments and Virtual Effects (general)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest