Unable to install Absolute VSTi Collection on Mac Yosemite

Discussions about VST Instruments and VST plug-ins from other manufacturers
Post Reply
Svenne
Member
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 10:29 am

Unable to install Absolute VSTi Collection on Mac Yosemite

Post by Svenne » Thu Aug 13, 2015 10:27 pm

I just bought the Cubase upgrade for the Absolute VSTi Collection. I received a download link for "Absolute_VSTi_Collection_Installer_mac.dmg" (1.89 GB). This can't be installed. I just get an error: "Wrong Mac OS X Version. You need at least Mac OS X 10.6.0 to install this software." I run OSX 10.10.5.

I also received a download link for "HALionSonic_2_Update_Installer_mac.dmg"(695.3 MB) which I, obviously, haven't bothered with.

Fortunately I found an installer for HALion Sonic 2, "HalionSonic_2_Installer_mac.dmg" (9.65 GB), which appear to work. It installs version 2.2.5 Build 18. Is this the most recent?

I can't find any non-trial installers for Padshop Pro, Dark Planet, Triebwerk & Hypnotic Dance. How do I install and use the software I've bought and paid for?

[mod edit: Your original thread title, "Steinberg are selling software that can't be installed!!!", has been edited.
From the Forum terms:
11. You may post grievances you are having with our software, dealers, etc., but you may not “call out” companies or people by name. Also please note that the statement was factually incorrect.]
Cubase Pro 8.5.20 + IC Pro, WaveLab Elements 9.0.30, Mac Pro 2.8GHz 8-core 8GB, 10.11.6 (El Capitan), MR 816X, Avid Control/Mix, iPad Air (128GB), Cubasis 2.0, iTrack Dock.

roel
Member
Posts: 786
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Steinberg are selling software that can't be installed!!

Post by roel » Fri Aug 14, 2015 4:16 pm

I do not have a mac, but was looking for this at the steinberg site and i see this message: On Mac OS X 10.10, the Steinberg Installation Helper Tool for Yosemite is required!

go here: http://www.steinberg.net/en/support/downloads.html
and choose the different downloads. You need them to get licensed too.

F.e. for halion sonic this is: http://www.steinberg.net/index.php?id=d ... onic_2&L=1
You'll need the big files because you need the vstsounds. A file of 10mb looks like an update too me.

If you bought it, you can also always ask support for help. An installation issue is typically something that gets adressed very quickly.
And btw: SB really does not sell software that can't be installed. :lol:
You just have to figure out how to install it.

kind regards,
R.
Cubase 10.5, vienna ensemble pro 5,
Master:laptop Clevo, P771zm, i7 4790S, 16 gig, 2xSSD samsung 840pro/evo, 2x Samsung SSD850 +touch screen
Slave: none, will probably never be replaced because latest processors are powerfull enough
Sound: Motu Ultralite MKIII (usb), Focusrite 18i20, behringer 16 ch mixer
control: Synergy, novation zero SL
vsti: Steinberg, East West, Vienna, Native Instruments, Spectrasonics and a lot of others
hardware: S760, CD3000xl, SY77, studiologic 990, alesis Q88,

Svenne
Member
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 10:29 am

Re: Steinberg are selling software that can't be installed!!

Post by Svenne » Fri Aug 14, 2015 10:39 pm

Thanks roel. I have downloaded those installers and will try them tomorrow. Let's hope they work correctly.
roel wrote:And btw: SB really does not sell software that can't be installed. :lol:
You just have to figure out how to install it.
Well, they do give their customers download links to installers that don't work, which is the same thing in my book. The customer shouldn't be forced to play detective, in order to make the software he/she bought and paid for to work. It is Steinbergs responsibility to give their customers download links to working installers!
Cubase Pro 8.5.20 + IC Pro, WaveLab Elements 9.0.30, Mac Pro 2.8GHz 8-core 8GB, 10.11.6 (El Capitan), MR 816X, Avid Control/Mix, iPad Air (128GB), Cubasis 2.0, iTrack Dock.

roel
Member
Posts: 786
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Steinberg are selling software that can't be installed!!

Post by roel » Sat Aug 15, 2015 12:14 am

Svenne wrote:Well, they do give their customers download links to installers that don't work, which is the same thing in my book. The customer shouldn't be forced to play detective, in order to make the software he/she bought and paid for to work. It is Steinbergs responsibility to give their customers download links to working installers!
You are 100% correct with that statement, and if so, they will be very quick to correct this.
Thanks for posting it btw.

kind regards,
R.
Cubase 10.5, vienna ensemble pro 5,
Master:laptop Clevo, P771zm, i7 4790S, 16 gig, 2xSSD samsung 840pro/evo, 2x Samsung SSD850 +touch screen
Slave: none, will probably never be replaced because latest processors are powerfull enough
Sound: Motu Ultralite MKIII (usb), Focusrite 18i20, behringer 16 ch mixer
control: Synergy, novation zero SL
vsti: Steinberg, East West, Vienna, Native Instruments, Spectrasonics and a lot of others
hardware: S760, CD3000xl, SY77, studiologic 990, alesis Q88,

ducatijim
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 2:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Steinberg are selling software that can't be installed!!

Post by ducatijim » Wed Aug 19, 2015 1:32 pm

roel wrote:An installation issue is typically something that gets adressed very quickly.
And btw: SB really does not sell software that can't be installed. :lol:
You just have to figure out how to install it.

kind regards,
R.
I have just upgraded to Elements 8 on my Macbook Pro running Yosemite and can't install the software. I have downloaded the "Steinberg Application Installer Tool" and it didn't work either, so after downloading and re downloading and many attempted and failed installs I find after searching the site that the "Steinberg Application Installer Tool" only works up to version 7.0.80 and so I have just purchased software from Steinberg that can't be installed on the latest Mac running the latest OS...... :evil:

roel
Member
Posts: 786
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Unable to install Absolute VSTi Collection on Mac Yosemi

Post by roel » Wed Aug 19, 2015 1:49 pm

Just make a support request to steinberg.
They will help you fix this.

- Go to MySteinberg (https://www.steinberg.net/en/mysteinber ... ducts.html)
- Please log in to your account or create a new account if you have not created one before
- Select "My Support" on the top
- Select "Create support request" and fill out the form with as much information as possible

kind regards,
R.
Cubase 10.5, vienna ensemble pro 5,
Master:laptop Clevo, P771zm, i7 4790S, 16 gig, 2xSSD samsung 840pro/evo, 2x Samsung SSD850 +touch screen
Slave: none, will probably never be replaced because latest processors are powerfull enough
Sound: Motu Ultralite MKIII (usb), Focusrite 18i20, behringer 16 ch mixer
control: Synergy, novation zero SL
vsti: Steinberg, East West, Vienna, Native Instruments, Spectrasonics and a lot of others
hardware: S760, CD3000xl, SY77, studiologic 990, alesis Q88,

Post Reply

Return to “VST Instruments and Virtual Effects (general)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests