Previously saved .vstpresets not visible in Cubase

Discussions about VST Instruments and VST plug-ins from other manufacturers
Post Reply
anilnc
Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 7:35 am
Contact:

Previously saved .vstpresets not visible in Cubase

Post by anilnc » Fri Apr 12, 2013 4:11 pm

Hi

I recently had problem loading a third party 32bit VST instrument in 64bit Cubase 6.5.4. This instrument was bridged using jBridge and was working well for many months till one day before getting this problem.

I tried to delete (after backing it up) the Application Data folder of Cubase 64bit and tried to re-bridge those instruments. Then launched Cubase, the instruments worked normal in Cubase as before. BUT...

I am not able to load previously saved vst presets now, for all the third party plug-ins, instruments also. I tried to see in the VST presets folder for any new folders created. I also tried to save a new preset and checked in which folder did this new one stored in explorer. This new preset was saved in the same exact folder as the old vstpresets are saved and visible in explorer. Only in Cubase I cannot find all the old .vstpresets, only new ones I can see.

Can anyone please PLEASE help me if you know what I missed?

I'm in a hurry to finish a project and this is bursting my head.

The plug-ins which I'm not able to see old vstpresets are Philharmonik, SampleTank, ReWire VST, etc. This 3 are main right now for the working project and didn't check others.

Thanks in advance.

Waiting for your help.

Regards
Anil
i7 7700k 4.2Ghz, 32GB RAM, MSI GTX 1050 2GB, Windows 10pro x64, Cubase 9.5.1, Cubasis 2, Cubase IC Pro, Halion 5, couple of third party vsts, RME UCX, Panaroma P4, PadKontrol, Nocturn, Triton.

anilnc
Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 7:35 am
Contact:

[SOLVED]Re: Previously saved .vstpresets not visible in Cuba

Post by anilnc » Fri Apr 12, 2013 4:20 pm

Hi,

Sorry but I solved it just now immediately. Just wanted to share it here so might be useful for anyone who went through same/similar situations.

I loaded that instrument in VST rack- then from the instrument GUI clicked the presets windows or load presets (top of the instrument)- then clicked the layout button from the bottom left corner- and selected to show Location tree- then you will see the Instrument's folder- now untick or deselect the checkbox of that folder. It will ask you to keep or delete or cancel. Select Keep. Now tick or select the check box of that same folder. Voila, All the old or previously saved presets are visible.

Let me know if anyone went though same or similar situations and did it helped?

Regards
i7 7700k 4.2Ghz, 32GB RAM, MSI GTX 1050 2GB, Windows 10pro x64, Cubase 9.5.1, Cubasis 2, Cubase IC Pro, Halion 5, couple of third party vsts, RME UCX, Panaroma P4, PadKontrol, Nocturn, Triton.

djarum11
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 6:03 am
Contact:

Re: Previously saved .vstpresets not visible in Cubase

Post by djarum11 » Sun Apr 14, 2013 3:15 am

yes i've seen the same behaviour but sometimes that trick doesn't work because the Folder Tree button isn't visible. i'm trying to save a Steinberg Gate plugin preset right now and there is no folder view available. in addition, the Current Presets window is blank, and furthermore it doesn't even let me save, i have to cancel out. this is very buggy.

anilnc
Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 7:35 am
Contact:

Re: Previously saved .vstpresets not visible in Cubase

Post by anilnc » Sun Apr 14, 2013 7:21 am

Hi

I'm sure you are missing something there. Did you back your application folder(32bit or 64bit wherever you saved presets for gate)?

If yes, then you will find a file (inside the application folder of the 32/64 whichever you used to save that prest) "InsertsFolderPresets.pxml" this is the file which saves the steinberg's own plugin presets. And another file "VstEqPreset.pxml" for eq presets.

Try to copy the InsertsFolderPresets.pxml file from the old backup and replace it in the new application folder under Cubase's 32 or 64 bit application folder then under presets folder.

Hope this solves. Let me know.

Regards
i7 7700k 4.2Ghz, 32GB RAM, MSI GTX 1050 2GB, Windows 10pro x64, Cubase 9.5.1, Cubasis 2, Cubase IC Pro, Halion 5, couple of third party vsts, RME UCX, Panaroma P4, PadKontrol, Nocturn, Triton.

User avatar
Alazarin
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Previously saved .vstpresets not visible in Cubase

Post by Alazarin » Wed May 01, 2013 6:31 pm

I get the same problem. I've just done a full system reinstall on a new HD and copied all my VST Presets to their previous locations in:

1] C:\Program Data\VST3 Presets\
2] ...\My Documents\VST3 Presets\

When I use the file manager I can see them all there. Media Bay picks up the directory locations but shows the folders as empty. When I try to load VST Presets to my plugins and/or soft synths the list is empty =80 This affects both Steinberg & third-party plugins This is very frustrating as I really need to access some of those presets for my work. Any helpful suggestions would be most welcome.

Tech note: I use Cubase 6.53

User avatar
Alazarin
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Previously saved .vstpresets not visible in Cubase

Post by Alazarin » Thu May 02, 2013 8:35 am

Hello Anilc!

I've tried your proposed solution and even when I have the Filters and Location Tree options ticked my old VST Presets remain stubbornly invisible :-( I saved a preset and it went into "C:\Users\My Documents\VST3 Presets\". Even though I can see all my old VST Presets *and* the new one if I use the file manager [Windows Explorer], Cubase [both Media Bay *and* Plugins] does not. It can only see presets created since the new system install.

OK, what I've found is that If I move any VST Presets [in their folders] that I've previously created from "C:\Program Data\VST3 Presets\" to "C:\Users\My Documents\VST3 Presets\" they stand a good chance of becoming visible in Cubase. I say a 'good chance' because it doesn't always work. But it's a start... I'll have to keep hammering away at this until I can recover and access the rest of my VST Presets.

anilnc
Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 7:35 am
Contact:

Re: Previously saved .vstpresets not visible in Cubase

Post by anilnc » Thu May 02, 2013 11:19 am

Hello alizarin,

Did you try to uncheck the folder tree from the plugin's preset window? When you uncheck, it must ask you if you want to delete the presets in this folder or keep. Then press keep. Next again tick the checkbox again for the same folder. Then you will get.

Did it ask you to delete or keep?
i7 7700k 4.2Ghz, 32GB RAM, MSI GTX 1050 2GB, Windows 10pro x64, Cubase 9.5.1, Cubasis 2, Cubase IC Pro, Halion 5, couple of third party vsts, RME UCX, Panaroma P4, PadKontrol, Nocturn, Triton.

anilnc
Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 7:35 am
Contact:

Re: Previously saved .vstpresets not visible in Cubase

Post by anilnc » Thu May 02, 2013 11:22 am

And I read somewhere that Cubase 6 will use my documents/vst presets as the default location.

And the inbuilt cubase's plugins won't be stored in this folder. They will be in application data folder, in a single file with .pxml extension.
i7 7700k 4.2Ghz, 32GB RAM, MSI GTX 1050 2GB, Windows 10pro x64, Cubase 9.5.1, Cubasis 2, Cubase IC Pro, Halion 5, couple of third party vsts, RME UCX, Panaroma P4, PadKontrol, Nocturn, Triton.

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 682
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Previously saved .vstpresets not visible in Cubase

Post by Weasel » Wed Jun 05, 2013 7:32 am

I've tried your proposed solution and even when I have the Filters and Location Tree options ticked my old VST Presets remain stubbornly invisible
Try un-ticking Filters.
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48gbRAM-OSX 10.12.6/C10.0.30 • MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MIDI Express 128's ••• DualCore 2.8 iMac/4gbRAM-OSX 10.10.5/C9.0.20 • MOTU/ULmk3 ••• D8B/V5.1

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

djarum11
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 6:03 am
Contact:

Re: Previously saved .vstpresets not visible in Cubase

Post by djarum11 » Fri Jun 07, 2013 6:38 am

i haven't tried your advice yet but sometimes unticking & ticking those checkboxes does the trick, sometimes not. so i wonder if it could be some kind of file latency/time delay. whatever.

User avatar
jb
Member
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 1:59 am
Contact:

Re: Previously saved .vstpresets not visible in Cubase

Post by jb » Mon Jul 14, 2014 4:23 pm

I have the same problem here trying to migrate to 6.5.5 64bits, Your solution helps, it works for me.
But it still looks like a bug.

From the plugin GUI click the presets windows or load presets (top of the instrument) - then click the layout button from the bottom left corner- and select to show Location tree- then you will see the plugins folder- now untick or deselect the checkbox of that folder. It will ask you to keep or delete or cancel. Select Keep. Now tick or select the check box of that same folder. Voila, All the old or previously saved presets are visible.

EDIT: it looks like a rescan of the media>soundbrowser>usercontent folder helps..(not shure if it is a 100% solution but here it looks like the problems are solved for now.
Studio: Cubase 10.0.20 + jBridge 1.75
Intel I7 4930K @3.4Ghz/Asus P9X79/16gb/NVIDIA GeForce GT 610/RME Digiface and MultifacePCI/W10-64
Intel Q6600 @2.40Ghz /Asus P5K/4gb/NVIDIA GeForce 850 GT/RME multiface PCI/W10-64
Controllers: http://www.jbgeluid.nl/en/jurmix/
Dual Ipad2/16gb, Lemur running customized 16channel Mackie control and multiple 14 bits generic remote templates, presonus faderport, BCR2000
website: http://www.jbgeluid.nl

User avatar
Gingerninja
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 10:58 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Previously saved .vstpresets not visible in Cubase

Post by Gingerninja » Fri Oct 24, 2014 6:03 pm

Can't seem to get this working with any of the advised solutions. My older files just won't show up!
http://www.soundcloud.com/gingerninja-gn
http://www.beyondyoumusic.com

· Desktop PC · i7-770 @ 3.60GHz · 16GB RAM · Windows 10.
· Cubase 9.5 x64 · Softube Console 1 · HALion 6 · Battery 4 · Serum · Z3ta+2 · Waves Gold · Melda MMasteringBundle +++
· T.C. Electronic Konnekt 8 · Nektar Panorama P6 ·
· Electribe 2 · Traktor Scratch Pro

mpayne0
Member
Posts: 655
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:07 pm
Location: Brooklyn
Contact:

Re: Previously saved .vstpresets not visible in Cubase

Post by mpayne0 » Tue Oct 28, 2014 2:03 pm

Because it's something that was never fixed in my experience.

I hate it.

It should be simple. Save in the directory that the plugin window gives you. Close. Open presets. See preset that I just saved. Should be a no brainer.

Struart B
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat May 26, 2018 8:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Previously saved .vstpresets not visible in Cubase

Post by Struart B » Mon Jul 23, 2018 7:06 am

Thanks even in 2018 I had to do the Tree thing but it worked
Nice one !
I had this problem another tme until I realised I had installed a slightly different version of VST instrument so if the versions are not EXACTLY the same that's also another reason for the presets not to appear
In general the whole media bay , plug-in organisation etc is pretty crap for me

Ok cheers
Stuart B
Ibiza

Post Reply

Return to “VST Instruments and Virtual Effects (general)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest