Accessing VST3 UI components from the VST processor side...

Discussions about VST Instruments and VST plug-ins from other manufacturers
Post Reply
User avatar
odlumb
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 8:33 pm
Location: Shaw Island WA and Ferreirola Spain
Contact:

Accessing VST3 UI components from the VST processor side...

Post by odlumb » Tue Apr 25, 2017 4:45 pm

This question has undoubtedly been asked before, sorry for any repetition.

I have a working VST3 plugin running with Cubase 7.5. All is well, I built the GUI with the editor in VSTPluginTestHost.

It turns out to be desirable for the processor to manipulate certain UI components, which are on the Controller side of the architecture. I imagine this is done using sendMessage() or notify(), but for all the many hours I have invested looking for an example, I have not found one.

So, imagine I have a CSlider UI component in my VST3 plugin GUI, and (from the processor side) I want to reset it to zero. How do I go about doing this? Please, an actual code example would be good. I need to identify the component I wish to modify, see how the information is passed from Processor to Controller, etc.

Thanks in advance!

User avatar
odlumb
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 8:33 pm
Location: Shaw Island WA and Ferreirola Spain
Contact:

Re: Accessing VST3 UI components from the VST processor side

Post by odlumb » Thu Apr 27, 2017 11:12 pm

OK, finally, after more hours than I care to admit, I figured it out. Anyone else has this question, I'll send you the code. :mrgreen:

Post Reply

Return to “VST Instruments and Virtual Effects (general)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest