Cubase betrayal

Discussions about VST Instruments and VST plug-ins from other manufacturers
Post Reply
poisonedcheese
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 2:39 am
Contact:

Cubase betrayal

Post by poisonedcheese » Wed Apr 19, 2017 11:58 pm

i just wanna say *knuf* you guys for wasting 600 of my dollars to buy a program that wont allow me to use 32 bit vst plugins. I write nintendocore. I have a library of over 200 32 bit VST instruments. Now I cannot use ANY OF THEM. There are literally 2 plugins for me to choose from now. Both of which cost about 100$.

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3860
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Cubase betrayal

Post by Prock » Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:09 pm

If you are talking about CB9, I wonder why you purchased it as is clearly says it does not support 32bit VSTs?

Also, have you looked around in the forum to see what other users are doing to use 32 bit plugins in CB9? Like this topic (and many others).

viewtopic.php?f=250&t=107163

Also as a suggestion... your CB9 license will let you use any of the previous Cubase versions (of the same level). So, maybe you could use the last version of CB8.5 to get your VSTs to work. Check what is available in your MySteinberg account, download section. If you don't see the CB8.5 installer file you probably have to contact Steinberg support to get a link to it.

Good luck

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.5, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

Tech-dance
Member
Posts: 308
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase betrayal

Post by Tech-dance » Sun May 21, 2017 3:02 pm

Technology can't stand still forever! However...

Have you tried looking for 64 bit versions of your plugins on the manufacturer's website. If they don't exist pester them until they release an update! Offer to pay for the update if need be! Nobody should have to work for free!

Have you tried using a bit bridge such as jBridge?

You can also still run the 32bit version of Cubase Pro 8 concurrently with Pro 9,

It may seem it but it doesn't doesn't have to be the end of the world!

Good luck! :)

jimzepellin
Junior Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase betrayal

Post by jimzepellin » Sun May 21, 2017 6:14 pm

Instead of bleating on about Steinberg moving on with their software. You should be, instead, be moaning at the plugin manufacturers and tell them to 'pull the finger out' and move on into the 21st century and make their plugins 64bit.
If in doubt scream and shout.

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2391
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase betrayal

Post by MrSoundman » Sun May 21, 2017 10:46 pm

Not to mention the fact that the Cubase 9 license you purchased also allows you to run the 32-bit version of Cubase 8.5 (and all previous versions) to accomodate all your outdated plugins.
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.0 • WaveLab 10.0.0 • SpectraLayers 6.0.20 • HALion 6.3.1 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

Post Reply

Return to “VST Instruments and Virtual Effects (general)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest