Pro 8's Multiband Comprssor Side-Chain? Ref. doc. unclear.

Discussions about VST Instruments and VST plug-ins from other manufacturers
Post Reply
User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1762
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Pro 8's Multiband Comprssor Side-Chain? Ref. doc. unclear.

Post by Stephen57 » Mon Nov 28, 2016 3:43 am

Greetings,

Re: implementation of Side-chain (internal and external) in the MB Compressor. Confused...and the manual also seems to have errors.

I understand and use the side-chains well enough, this is not about that.

The stock Multiband Compressor has both side chain function and an internal side chain function, however, the documentation contains an apparent error or omission, that, or I'm a bit confused -- which wouldn't be the first time...

Here's a screen shot of the MB Compressor I'm using in Pro 8 -- just for reference.
MB Comp SC Screen.png
MB Comp SC Plug-in
(221.2 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Errors in the documentation?
As you can see in the snip below, on page 53 of the Plug-In Reference Document, two nearly identical paragraphs on Side Chain appear; It appears some important information about the plug-in may have been omitted? That, or I'm just missing the boat on what the documentation is saying.
MB Comp SC.PNG
MB Compressor Documentation Error? Possible user misunderstanding. ;-)
(97.12 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Use:
Does the MB Compressor function, at the same time, as both normal side chain compressor and an internal side chain depending on which band is selected? If I'm sending signal to it on the side chain and defeat (mute or fade) the send, will the internal settings then take over?

I'm attempting to refine and imprive my handling of dynamics with Pro 8 and really enjoying what I'm hearing but 1) I could use some clarification on the SC functionality and 2) wanted to drawn attention to the apparent error in the Plug-In reference document.

Thanks for any advice on about this. :)
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

neilwilkes
Senior Member
Posts: 1078
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: Pro 8's Multiband Comprssor Side-Chain? Ref. doc. unclea

Post by neilwilkes » Mon Dec 05, 2016 12:16 pm

The manual/documentation seems to be discussing both compressor with internal Sidechains and a gate with internal sidechains. I see the same descriptions in the Multiband expander section too and suspect there was a copy/paste error where a generic description was used that talks about gate sidechain, with the compressor/expander underneath this.
So I would say it's an error in the docs.
Good catch
www.opusproductions.com
Intel E5-2687W 8-core Xeon, 32Gb RAM, Windows 7 Pro x64, RME RayDAT, UAD-2 Octo x2 & Quad x2 (fully loaded), Adam A7 x5, WK ID Console
Nuendo 1-6, Cubase 6-7, WaveLab 5-7, DTS/DD encoders, Surround Edition etc, Waves Mercury
Blu-Ray authoring, DVD authoring & high resolution audio specialists.

Detailed Specs on request

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1762
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Pro 8's Multiband Comprssor Side-Chain? Ref. doc. unclea

Post by Stephen57 » Fri Dec 09, 2016 5:19 am

neilwilkes wrote:The manual/documentation seems to be discussing both compressor with internal Sidechains and a gate with internal sidechains. I see the same descriptions in the Multiband expander section too and suspect there was a copy/paste error where a generic description was used that talks about gate sidechain, with the compressor/expander underneath this.
So I would say it's an error in the docs.
Good catch
Yes, I'm glad you noticed that the same apparent errors are repeated in the MB Expander reference and perhaps elsewhere.

Now I'll have to go try to sort out what actually is going on. It's annoying that the documentation itself has a "bug." The Multiband dynamics processors are impressive, the presets have helped me make better sounding mixes.

The company does itself and users a disservice by issuing erroneous documentation. I'd certainly like a corrected copy of the Plug-In Reference document.

Thanks for responding to this, Neil. .
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

Post Reply

Return to “VST Instruments and Virtual Effects (general)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest