Is there an easy way to map a Roland kit to groove agent?

All topics on Groove Agent
Post Reply
Captainahabnz
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 7:49 am
Contact:

Is there an easy way to map a Roland kit to groove agent?

Post by Captainahabnz » Sat Jul 06, 2019 11:01 pm

Hi I have a roland drum kit, I think it is a HD-1, I see at the bottom of groove agent there is a menu to set up for Yamaha kits which I understand, but I would like to be able to use my kit. I have seen on other drum programs the ability to do this.

auggybendoggy
Junior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Is there an easy way to map a Roland kit to groove agent?

Post by auggybendoggy » Thu Aug 08, 2019 2:47 pm

I'm asking the same question for the Alesis drum kits.

zisser
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 9:29 am
Contact:

Re: Is there an easy way to map a Roland kit to groove agent?

Post by zisser » Thu Sep 12, 2019 8:38 am

Same question.. I have Alesis Crimson II and really struggling with getting the hi-hat to work and especially using the foot pedal.
I'm trying to get this to work with the acoustic agent and read the manual.
Just about to give up and get EZDrummer2 which I just downloaded the demo and works perfectly..
I wish I could avoid spending extra $150.. but I can;t see a way to make GA5 to work..

User avatar
SF_Green
Junior Member
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 1:47 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Is there an easy way to map a Roland kit to groove agent?

Post by SF_Green » Fri Sep 13, 2019 9:06 am

Here's the explanation from the online manual. Basically, map all the individual pads using Edit/Learn Trigger Note (MIDI learn), then save it using the small save icon to the right of the Use Hardware Controller Mapping icon.


Using an Alternative MIDI Trigger Note Mapping

If you use an external hardware drum controller that sends specific MIDI notes for specific instruments, you can specify an alternative MIDI trigger note mapping.
Procedure

Activate Use Hardware Controller Mapping in the lower right corner of the instrument pad section.

Now you can load, save, and delete different trigger note configurations.
Specify a new trigger note for the pad.

Right-click a pad, select Edit/Learn Trigger Note and specify the new trigger note by entering it into the value field or by playing the corresponding note on your hardware controller.

Right-click a pad, select Trigger Notes > Assign Trigger Note and select the note from the submenus.

Groove Agent jumps to the next pad.
Assign a MIDI note to all the pads that you want to use and press Enter to stop assigning MIDI notes.

Assigned trigger notes are shown on the Trigger Notes submenu of the context menu.

From here: https://steinberg.help/groove_agent/v5/ ... ent_t.html
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Wavelab Elements 9.5.50, Live 10.1 Suite, Reason 10.4, SonarPt-2017.10, Finale 25, Komplete12 Ult, Omnisphere 2.6, BFD3, ARP Omni, many things with strings.
RME FireFace 800 (D 3.125, fw 2.77), Adam A7X, UAD-2 Quad, NI S88 Mk2, A-800 PRO, CC121, Alesis QS7.1, Arturia BeatStep Pro, Maschine MkII, POD HD500
AMD FX-8370, Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, Win 10 Pro x64 v1903, 16Gb CorsairDDR3-1600
GeForce GTX 950 (436.15), SSD 525Gb (OS), SATA 3 & 1.5Tb
GrSltz My Studio

Post Reply

Return to “Groove Agent”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest