How do I change the tempo of a track & leave midi unchanged?

Für Nutzer der OEM-Software Cubase LE und Cubase AI
Post Reply
Grouchox
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:07 am
Contact:

How do I change the tempo of a track & leave midi unchanged?

Post by Grouchox » Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:14 am

HI there,
bit of a rush job: I recorded audio and then midi before realizing I had the wrong speed for the track (it's still default 120, but should be 132). Now I'd like to adjust the track speed, but leave midi untouched - any idea how I can do that?

Or the other way around: change the time, with midi "shrining" in lenght, then stretch the midi accordingly?

Any hints? Thanks in advance.
Best regards,
Grouchox

User avatar
Qbase5
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 5:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: How do I change the tempo of a track & leave midi unchan

Post by Qbase5 » Fri Feb 06, 2015 1:55 pm

render the midi track to audio then change the bpm?
Cubase 5.5.3 build 6451,
PC Intel Q8200 @2.34GHz, 32bit Windows 7 professional 4gb ram
Focusrite SaffireLe 6/in 8/out, Finale 2012, Jammer Professional 5
Laptop Intel 1.6 GHz, 64bit Windows 10 8gb ram
M-Audio Fast Track Pro, Cubasis since early 90's previously used Cakewalk.
imac mac os sierra 10.12.4 3.8 ghz intel core i5
Cubase 9 pro (if I can download it!!! Steinberg server sooo slow )

Grouchox
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:07 am
Contact:

Re: How do I change the tempo of a track & leave midi unchan

Post by Grouchox » Sat Feb 07, 2015 11:22 pm

Hi and thanks. That is not ideal - I want to be able to work with the midi data after changing the track speed (mostly quantize), and fixing it to audio won't let me do that.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 8898
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: How do I change the tempo of a track & leave midi unchan

Post by -steve- » Sat Feb 07, 2015 11:46 pm

The higher versions of Cubase have a way to switch Track Time Base between linear and musical, and using that would be the way to do what you're asking.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

Grouchox
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:07 am
Contact:

Re: How do I change the tempo of a track & leave midi unchan

Post by Grouchox » Tue Feb 24, 2015 10:10 pm

Thanks, that is helpful. Any hint on starting on which version that works?

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 8898
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: How do I change the tempo of a track & leave midi unchan

Post by -steve- » Tue Feb 24, 2015 11:52 pm

I don't actually know for sure, surely Artist and Pro.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

Post Reply

Return to “Cubase LE und Cubase AI”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest