Defective fader?

All about Steinberg's Advanced Integration Controller CC121.
Post Reply
LeroyNL
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 1:03 am
Contact:

Defective fader?

Post by LeroyNL » Mon May 26, 2014 9:31 pm

I have just purchased a brand new CC121 to use with Cubase 7.5. When I move the fader up and down, nothing happens in Cubase. It's like the touch sensitivity doesn't work very well. It does work when I apply downward pressure on the fader and then move it. Is this normal behavior or should I return / swap it?
Intel Core i7-4771, 16GB, RME Babyface Pro, Windows 7 x64, Cubase Pro 10.0.5

User avatar
iBM
Member
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:49 am

Re: Defective fader?

Post by iBM » Tue May 27, 2014 12:43 am

LeroyNL wrote:I have just purchased a brand new CC121 to use with Cubase 7.5. When I move the fader up and down, nothing happens in Cubase. It's like the touch sensitivity doesn't work very well. It does work when I apply downward pressure on the fader and then move it. Is this normal behavior or should I return / swap it?
It's normal to have to press a bit down. The resistance is adjustable.

I don't remember how I changed it, but it is in the manual. So don't panic. Try the different levels of resistance to find one that suit you the best (I think it is 8 different stages to choose from).
TSR - Now a division under The Tower Studio Suite - Run by my uncles nephew

Win7/Win8 x64 | Intel i5 2500/3570K | 16 GB RAM | MOTU PCIe-424 w/ 24io x 2 / 2408 / 308
Cubase 6.5/7.5 - Nuendo 5.5 | CC121 | Slate Digital | Softube | Sonnox | SoundToys |
Eventide | Exponential Audio | Boz' Digital Lab | +++
Dynaudio BM15A | Focusrite ISA430 | Universal Audio LA-610SE/2-610/8110 |
TLAudio 5052/C1/PA-1 | TC Electronics R4000/M3000/M-One/D-Two | +++

User avatar
Mrhehon
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:02 am
Location: Valencia Spain.
Contact:

Re: Defective fader?

Post by Mrhehon » Tue May 27, 2014 10:56 pm

Sorry but does not sound right to me. Mine worked regardless of pressure straight from the box and has been fine for the last four years.
The touch sensitive fader only works if the unit is powered, just a thought.
Windows 10 pro
Cubase Pro 10
PC i7 920@2.67 GHz (10 years old but still doing it for me) 16GB ram
2xMR816 CSX FireWire Audio Interfaces
CC121 controller
Nektar P6

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Defective fader?

Post by Strophoid » Wed May 28, 2014 7:30 pm

Try changing the sensitivity as iBM described.

Does the motorfader follow the Cubase fader properly?
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

User avatar
iBM
Member
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:49 am

Re: Defective fader?

Post by iBM » Thu May 29, 2014 4:42 am

Strophoid wrote:Try changing the sensitivity as iBM described.

Does the motorfader follow the Cubase fader properly?
Thanks Strophoid.
Sensitivity was the word I was looking for. Total stop for a while there :oops:
TSR - Now a division under The Tower Studio Suite - Run by my uncles nephew

Win7/Win8 x64 | Intel i5 2500/3570K | 16 GB RAM | MOTU PCIe-424 w/ 24io x 2 / 2408 / 308
Cubase 6.5/7.5 - Nuendo 5.5 | CC121 | Slate Digital | Softube | Sonnox | SoundToys |
Eventide | Exponential Audio | Boz' Digital Lab | +++
Dynaudio BM15A | Focusrite ISA430 | Universal Audio LA-610SE/2-610/8110 |
TLAudio 5052/C1/PA-1 | TC Electronics R4000/M3000/M-One/D-Two | +++

User avatar
Mrhehon
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:02 am
Location: Valencia Spain.
Contact:

Re: Defective fader?

Post by Mrhehon » Fri May 30, 2014 5:22 pm

Apologies, in all these years I never knew about the different sensitivity settings for the motorised fadder. :oops:
Always new stuff to learn.
Windows 10 pro
Cubase Pro 10
PC i7 920@2.67 GHz (10 years old but still doing it for me) 16GB ram
2xMR816 CSX FireWire Audio Interfaces
CC121 controller
Nektar P6

zukklab
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 9:31 am
Contact:

Re: Defective fader?

Post by zukklab » Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:09 am

Mrhehon wrote: The touch sensitive fader only works if the unit is powered, just a thought.
Well, this helped me :D
Quite annoying to realize the thing was not plugged in after swearing over it for about an hour and reinstalling the drivers.
Everything but the fader works without external power.
Thank you!

User avatar
Mrhehon
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:02 am
Location: Valencia Spain.
Contact:

Re: Defective fader?

Post by Mrhehon » Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:42 am

Your'e welcome.
Pleased that you got it sorted. :D
Windows 10 pro
Cubase Pro 10
PC i7 920@2.67 GHz (10 years old but still doing it for me) 16GB ram
2xMR816 CSX FireWire Audio Interfaces
CC121 controller
Nektar P6

misnoma
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 11:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Defective fader?

Post by misnoma » Sat Oct 04, 2014 5:19 pm

This tip worked for me. Thank you.

All these years I thought my CC121 just had a defective fader control. I even sprayed canned air in there etc.

... And the configuration process is clear and sensible, exactly how you hope it would be.

I wish the CC121 had more configurable software features like this.

I wish I could use it to control my Waves plugins.
Cubase Pro 10, Windows10. RME 9632.

User avatar
Mrhehon
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:02 am
Location: Valencia Spain.
Contact:

Re: Defective fader?

Post by Mrhehon » Sun Oct 05, 2014 6:56 pm

misnoma wrote: I wish I could use it to control my Waves plugins.
Misnoma I set up the waves plug-ins that I use to work via the quick controls. I then save the Q control set ups as presets with the plug-in names. You can then use the CC121 in quick control mode to control the waves plug-ins from the EQ knobs.
Windows 10 pro
Cubase Pro 10
PC i7 920@2.67 GHz (10 years old but still doing it for me) 16GB ram
2xMR816 CSX FireWire Audio Interfaces
CC121 controller
Nektar P6

User avatar
iBM
Member
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:49 am

Re: Defective fader?

Post by iBM » Sun Oct 05, 2014 8:48 pm

Mrhehon wrote:
misnoma wrote: I wish I could use it to control my Waves plugins.
Misnoma I set up the waves plug-ins that I use to work via the quick controls. I then save the Q control set ups as presets with the plug-in names. You can then use the CC121 in quick control mode to control the waves plug-ins from the EQ knobs.
I also happen to use the Quick Controls more than the Eq.

Don't know about Waves, but the AI knob works for many plugins.
TSR - Now a division under The Tower Studio Suite - Run by my uncles nephew

Win7/Win8 x64 | Intel i5 2500/3570K | 16 GB RAM | MOTU PCIe-424 w/ 24io x 2 / 2408 / 308
Cubase 6.5/7.5 - Nuendo 5.5 | CC121 | Slate Digital | Softube | Sonnox | SoundToys |
Eventide | Exponential Audio | Boz' Digital Lab | +++
Dynaudio BM15A | Focusrite ISA430 | Universal Audio LA-610SE/2-610/8110 |
TLAudio 5052/C1/PA-1 | TC Electronics R4000/M3000/M-One/D-Two | +++

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg CC121”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests