CC121 MOTORISED FADER HELP!

All about Steinberg's Advanced Integration Controller CC121.
Post Reply
User avatar
Arionas
Junior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:43 am
Contact:

CC121 MOTORISED FADER HELP!

Post by Arionas »

Hello,
I just purchased and received the CC121.
I installed the latest drivers(for mac os) and everything works as it should EXCEPT:
The motorised fader will not control the volume of the selected track.
From the other hand, when I turn the volume up and down on a Cubase track with the mouse, the motorised fader will follow.
Any help would be much appreciated.
Cubase Pro 10.5 - Wavelab 10 - Nuendo 4 - Reaper 5 - Pro Tools 12 - Logic X - Harrison Mixbus
Mac Pro 2010, 3.33 x2, 12 cores - High Sierra - RME Fireface 802

User avatar
Denis van der Velde
Member
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 10:41 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CC121 MOTORISED FADER HELP!

Post by Denis van der Velde »

I would not USE CAPITALS BECAUSE YOU HAVE A PROBLEM!
I7 8core 16tread 32gb Aopen Board, SSD Samsung. C10,W10,Halion6,Groove Agent5,etc.
Running on 8ms Latency with a Soundblaster XFi Pro. Yamaha MW12c USB mixer.
Behringer TRUTH B2031A active studiomonitors. Sony MDR-V900 Headphones.
Steinberg CC121 Controller. Mackie Control Pro.

Denis van der Velde
http://www.curioza.com
AAMS Auto Audio Mastering System for Windows

User avatar
Denis van der Velde
Member
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 10:41 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CC121 MOTORISED FADER HELP!

Post by Denis van der Velde »

Maybe return it, maybe the fader is touch broken ?
I7 8core 16tread 32gb Aopen Board, SSD Samsung. C10,W10,Halion6,Groove Agent5,etc.
Running on 8ms Latency with a Soundblaster XFi Pro. Yamaha MW12c USB mixer.
Behringer TRUTH B2031A active studiomonitors. Sony MDR-V900 Headphones.
Steinberg CC121 Controller. Mackie Control Pro.

Denis van der Velde
http://www.curioza.com
AAMS Auto Audio Mastering System for Windows

User avatar
MarcoE
Junior Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 7:34 pm
Contact:

Re: CC121 MOTORISED FADER HELP!

Post by MarcoE »

do this test:
1) start Cubase, no project, just show the transport bar -> fader must move to bottom at startup
2) check the midi incoming activity indicator at the transport bar:
a) each time you touch the fader, the indicator must show this:
b) touch it and keep the finger on the fader -> one single indication
c) lift your finger -> one single indication
d) touch the fader and move it, -> multiple flashing of the indicator while moving the fader
If this works, then probably the hardware is ok.
You should also see at the MIDI Monitor Midi Insert at any midi channel the Controller cc7 event.
Or use a 3rd party tool to check the incoming midi like MIDI-OX:
a) fader moves will trigger pitch bend events
b) touching and releasing the fader will generate G#7 note on/off

Hope this helps to check if the HW is ok.

Best regards
Marco
Cubase Pro 10.5.20 @ Windows 10 Home v2004 @ i9-9900K 32GB @ Gigabyte Z370 HD3P

omniphonix
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:27 am
Contact:

Re: CC121 MOTORISED FADER HELP!

Post by omniphonix »

I had this same problem and found a way to fix it from another thread.

Go to page 23 of the CC121 manual...

http://download.steinberg.net/downloads ... ual_en.pdf

The touch sensitivity of my fader was set to 2. I turned it up to 8 and suddenly it works again. The "record LED" touch test showed me that it didn't even detect touch when set to 2. Settings 3 and above seemed to detect touch.
Main DAW: Core i9-7940X | 64GB DDR4 3200 | Asus Prime X299-A | Radeon RX570 | Samsung 950 Pro 512GB & 850 Evo 2TB | Acer T272HUL | UR824 | CC121 | Virus TI | MCU Pro | Akai MPD232 | Nektar Panorama P6 | Roland VG-99 | Win10 Pro x64 v1809 | Cubase Pro 10 | Reason 10

DAW/Gig NB: MSI GT76 9SG | Core i9-9900K | 64GB DDR4 2666 | RTX 2080 8GB | 2x PM981 512GB NVMe SSD RAID0 | 860 QVO 2TB SATA SSD | iConnect Audio4+ | Akai APC40 mkII | Akai MPK249 | Win10 Pro x64 v1809 | Cubase Pro 10 | Ableton Live 10

iPad Pro 12.9" Gen 3 1TB: Same Audio4+ as above | CME Xkey 37 | Cubasis 2 | Cubase iC Pro | Many IAA/AU Apps

The Moose
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 3:44 am
Contact:

Re: CC121 MOTORISED FADER HELP!

Post by The Moose »

Wow! Amazing! Thought I would have to wait for the upcoming update for the CC121 in March to see the fader move again, but this useful suggestion to set the sensibility of the fader to 8 totally solved the issue of non moving fader.
Thank you very much!
Windows 10 Pro, Asus Zenbook Pro 16 gb ram, Cubase Pro 10.5, Wavelab Pro 10, ShuttlePro, Steinberg UR816C, Palmas Guitars, Nektar T4, Kensington Trackball wireless, 2x Samsung curved, Tapco S8 monitors, Beyer dynamic 990 pro headphones.

spyder
Member
Posts: 271
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: CC121 MOTORISED FADER HELP!

Post by spyder »

The Moose wrote:
Wed Feb 26, 2020 8:01 am
Wow! Amazing! Thought I would have to wait for the upcoming update for the CC121 in March to see the fader move again, but this useful suggestion to set the sensibility of the fader to 8 totally solved the issue of non moving fader.
Thank you very much!
There's an upcoming update in March? Are you sure? Where did you hear that?
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.5 Wavelab Elements 10.0.10, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

paulpaul
Junior Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 7:44 pm
Contact:

Re: CC121 MOTORISED FADER HELP!

Post by paulpaul »

spyder wrote:
Wed Feb 26, 2020 10:27 am

There's an upcoming update in March? Are you sure? Where did you hear that?
Bildschirmfoto 2020-02-27 um 01.18.35.png
(145.46 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase 10.5.20 - Macbook Pro 16" late 2019, 16GB Ram, 2TB SSD, 50" 4k TV-Display - MAC OS 10.15.5 SPL Crimson - Steinberg CC121 - Softube Console 1 - Lots of Plug Ins

spyder
Member
Posts: 271
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: CC121 MOTORISED FADER HELP!

Post by spyder »

I guess that is an update for Catalina, not a general feature update then.
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.5 Wavelab Elements 10.0.10, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

User avatar
Jorge Ruiz
Junior Member
Posts: 191
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 3:31 am
Contact:

Re: CC121 MOTORISED FADER HELP!

Post by Jorge Ruiz »

spyder wrote:
Thu Mar 05, 2020 10:16 am
I guess that is an update for Catalina, not a general feature update then.
Fortunately, not only for Catalina. Hopefully it will fix the non working send knobs in Cubase 10.5, both on Windows and macOS.
PC i7 5960x 8 cores | 16 GB RAM | MSI X99A SLI Plus | Nvidia GTX 1050 Ti 4 GB | RME HDSPe RayDAT | Focusrite Clarett OctoPre | Behringer ADA8200 | Steinberg CC121 | Windows 10 Pro | Cubase Pro 10.5 | WaveLab Elements 10 | Komplete 12 | Waves | Soundtoys | Oberheim Matrix 1000 | IK UNO Synth | Korg TR-Rack | Alesis S4 Plus | Zoom 9010 | Roland GP-8

darioomusic
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 10:33 am
Contact:

Re: CC121 MOTORISED FADER HELP!

Post by darioomusic »

Hi:)
As omniphonix said - go tu manual. You have to define sensitivity fader before You start working on it. After You make procedure, fader will start working as it should. Strange, but true;)

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg CC121”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest