FLAC Truncation Issue

Post questions and find answers on our latest WaveLab releases here.
Post Reply
brendanlynch
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 3:29 pm
Contact:

FLAC Truncation Issue

Post by brendanlynch » Tue Nov 12, 2019 2:15 pm

I'm extracting the audio track from DVDs and writing it out as an FLAC with FFMPEG to keep the physical file size below 2GB - previous Wavelab file size restriction.

In one example the audio duration of the file is 01:18:52 and the FLAC writes without issue and is playable on the Mac. Wavelab, however, is only opening 00:01:50 of the file.

I tested this with various other DVD audio tracks which differ in duration and Wavelab continues to load only 00:01:50 of each of the files.

Just wondering if anyone else can replicate this and whether it might be a potential format bug? Worked fine in Pro 9.5.

Thanks.
2017 MacBook Pro 15" i7 | MacOS Mojave 10.14.6 | Cubase 10 | Wavelab 10

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7060
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: FLAC Truncation Issue

Post by PG » Tue Nov 12, 2019 2:55 pm

I have here a +2 hour flac file that decodes equally well in WaveLab 9.5 and 10.
Are you sure you don't run out of space?
If you are sure you have a problem, please make a sample file available for me.
Philippe

brendanlynch
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: FLAC Truncation Issue

Post by brendanlynch » Tue Nov 12, 2019 5:28 pm

Thanks for the reply.

Quite by chance, I discovered that when opening the file, I need to select it first without double-clicking it to load it. Selecting it first appears to allow Wavelab to scan it entirely before loading it. Then it loads correctly.

Again I tested this on multiple files. Some I just double-clicked and only 00:01:50 gets loaded. It needs to be 'scanned' first before it will load it in full. So in answer to your question, it's not a space issue but I don't recall 9.5 operating like this. I remember simply double-clicking the file to load it without issues.

However, it appears to working even though it requires this scan first.
2017 MacBook Pro 15" i7 | MacOS Mojave 10.14.6 | Cubase 10 | Wavelab 10

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab Pro 10 | WaveLab Elements 10”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest