Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post questions and find answers on our latest WaveLab releases here.
Post Reply
frodebass
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 6:58 am
Contact:

Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by frodebass » Wed Nov 06, 2019 11:20 pm

Hi,
New bug
Whenever I have tried to use wavelab 10, I can not use my audio device iunder windows after closing wavelab 10.

No sound, the device isnt' even listed in the control panel or on the little speaker in the sys tray anymore.
A reboot fixes it.

Never an issue with 9.5

Windows 10 home, 64 bit, all latest updates.

Prism Lyra2

Rat
Member
Posts: 722
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:33 am
Contact:

Re: Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by Rat » Thu Nov 07, 2019 3:37 am

Do you have 'release audio driver' checked?

File > Preferences > Audio Connections. Select the Options tab. Activate Release Driver. When WaveLab Pro is in Background.
Regards

Paul

Paul Rat Blakey
12th & Vine Post

Studio: Windows 10 Pro (x64), Intel Core i7 7700 Quad Core LGA 1151 3.6 GHz CPU, 32 GB RAM, Gigabyte Z270M-D3H LGA 1151 mATX Motherboard, 2 x Intel Pro 5400S Series 256GB SSD (system and session drives), RME HDSPe AIO, Mytek converters

Laptop: Windows 10 Pro (x64), Razer Blade Gaming Intel Core i7 8750H 6 cores/12 threads 4,1GHz CPU, 16 GB RAM SSD & HHD

WaveLab 9.5 Pro and 10 Pro current release, ProTools, iLok, DMG (Dave Gamble), Sony Oxford, Weiss

frodebass
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 6:58 am
Contact:

Re: Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by frodebass » Thu Nov 07, 2019 9:35 am

Yes, I've tried both ways.
The problem is not while wavelab is running, it's after closing wavelab that the audio device has disappeared from the system. I've tried to de connect and reconnect the interface, but the only thing that works is a full staten restart.

Frode

Rat
Member
Posts: 722
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:33 am
Contact:

Re: Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by Rat » Sat Nov 09, 2019 8:03 am

frodebass wrote:
Thu Nov 07, 2019 9:35 am
Yes, I've tried both ways.
The problem is not while wavelab is running, it's after closing wavelab that the audio device has disappeared from the system.

Frode
Yes I understood that. I recall that ProTools used to do something similar a while back. It 'captured' the system and drives even after closing.

What is the interface?
Regards

Paul

Paul Rat Blakey
12th & Vine Post

Studio: Windows 10 Pro (x64), Intel Core i7 7700 Quad Core LGA 1151 3.6 GHz CPU, 32 GB RAM, Gigabyte Z270M-D3H LGA 1151 mATX Motherboard, 2 x Intel Pro 5400S Series 256GB SSD (system and session drives), RME HDSPe AIO, Mytek converters

Laptop: Windows 10 Pro (x64), Razer Blade Gaming Intel Core i7 8750H 6 cores/12 threads 4,1GHz CPU, 16 GB RAM SSD & HHD

WaveLab 9.5 Pro and 10 Pro current release, ProTools, iLok, DMG (Dave Gamble), Sony Oxford, Weiss

User avatar
Thomas W. Bethel
Member
Posts: 593
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:43 pm
Location: Oberlin, OH
Contact:

Re: Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by Thomas W. Bethel » Sat Nov 09, 2019 12:09 pm

I am having a similar but different problem. I have the release audio driver' checked.

File > Preferences > Audio Connections. Select the Options tab. Activate Release Driver. When WaveLab Pro is in Background.

When I switch to view something on YouTube and come back to WL10 the audio in WL 10 will not play. The cursor is frozen and I have to restart WL 10 in order to get the audio to play. I tried the same thing with WL 9.5.5 and no problems. Something is happening that should not. FWIW
Thomas W. Bethel
Managing Director
Acoustik Musik, Ltd.
Room With a View Productions
http://www.acoustikmusik.com/

Doing what you love is freedom.
Loving what you do is happiness.

Celebrating 24 years in business in 2019

markino
Member
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by markino » Sat Nov 09, 2019 4:25 pm

Hello, similar problems on Elements, YouTube got muted and shows an error message...I've had problems in the Master/Slave departement with my internal audio card (solved) and now this new problem.
9.5.5 was ok
Marco

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7006
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by PG » Sat Nov 09, 2019 4:52 pm

https://audible.custhelp.com/app/answer ... -device%3F

But it's generally better to have exclusive access for better performance and stability.
Philippe

frodebass
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 6:58 am
Contact:

Re: Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by frodebass » Sun Nov 10, 2019 7:19 am

Rat wrote:
Sat Nov 09, 2019 8:03 am
frodebass wrote:
Thu Nov 07, 2019 9:35 am
Yes, I've tried both ways.
The problem is not while wavelab is running, it's after closing wavelab that the audio device has disappeared from the system.

Frode
Yes I understood that. I recall that ProTools used to do something similar a while back. It 'captured' the system and drives even after closing.

What is the interface?

The prism Lyra2

Frode

User avatar
Thomas W. Bethel
Member
Posts: 593
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:43 pm
Location: Oberlin, OH
Contact:

Re: Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by Thomas W. Bethel » Sun Nov 10, 2019 12:02 pm

I am using an RME HDSP 9632 audio card. No problem ever with the card. I am using driver_hdsp_win_429. Yesterday when I was in WL 10 I opened a file that was at a higher sample rate than what I had been using (96 vs 44.1) and WL 10 the cursor was frozen and would not play. I got out of WL 10 and opened WL 9.5.5 and it too would not play. The card was frozen. This is the first time I have ever had a problem with this card. Suggestions most welcome.
Thomas W. Bethel
Managing Director
Acoustik Musik, Ltd.
Room With a View Productions
http://www.acoustikmusik.com/

Doing what you love is freedom.
Loving what you do is happiness.

Celebrating 24 years in business in 2019

markino
Member
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by markino » Sun Nov 10, 2019 12:29 pm

I start thinking about the Asio driver
Marco

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7006
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by PG » Sun Nov 10, 2019 12:48 pm

When a driver is blocked, the easiest is to reboot. Another solution is to go in the Windows device manager and to disable and reanable the driver. This is quicker and generally sufficient.
Philippe

User avatar
Thomas W. Bethel
Member
Posts: 593
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:43 pm
Location: Oberlin, OH
Contact:

Re: Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by Thomas W. Bethel » Sun Nov 10, 2019 2:33 pm

PG wrote:
Sun Nov 10, 2019 12:48 pm
When a driver is blocked, the easiest is to reboot. Another solution is to go in the Windows device manager and to disable and reanable the driver. This is quicker and generally sufficient.
Why the problem now? It never was a problem before. Just one of a lot of things that is puzzling in WL10. I hope the "update" is forthcoming and soon and I hope it cures some if not all of the problems. :|

UPDATE: I downloaded the newest drivers and firmware update for my RME card and so far (loud sound of Tom knocking on wood) it is working. FWIW

Never had these kinds of problems with WL 9.5.5.
Thomas W. Bethel
Managing Director
Acoustik Musik, Ltd.
Room With a View Productions
http://www.acoustikmusik.com/

Doing what you love is freedom.
Loving what you do is happiness.

Celebrating 24 years in business in 2019

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7006
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by PG » Sun Nov 10, 2019 5:28 pm

Why the problem now?
If an application crashes, the driver might not terminate properly. This is the same with any application.
Apart this case, any other driver problem is outside the application that uses it, because there is no way for an application to crash a driver. This is especially true for RME drivers.

This being said, for several months, I have experimented blue-screen crashes happening with the combination RME FireWire and Windows 10, and this, with different applications using the driver, incl. Google Chrome.
And no idea about the root cause.
Philippe

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2387
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by MrSoundman » Sun Nov 10, 2019 6:29 pm

Thomas W. Bethel wrote:
Sun Nov 10, 2019 2:33 pm
Why the problem now?
The RME HDSP 9632 is now quite an old card, but even more importantly, the PCI interface standard is quite old, and although RME provide stellar support for everything they've ever sold, there have to be limits to what is still viable.

Of course you are correct to question why your particular issue only surfaces when you change from WL 9.5 to WL 10, but there are so many other factors at play here, such as Intel driver support for PCI, Windows handling of PCI etc. I myself use an RME RayDAT with PCIe, and I have encountered surprise amongst colleagues who now only use USB3 or Thunderbolt, but whereas PCIe still has rock-solid support, older technologies such as PCI and Firewire are likely to become ever more problematic.

All I'm saying is, perhaps it's time -- for both of us -- to investigate newer kit. Personally my next interface is likely to be AVB-based, rather than Thunderbolt, and MADI is overkill for me, but essentially I'm watching RME to see what direction they take, and that will inform my decision.
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.0 • WaveLab 10.0.0 • SpectraLayers 6.0.20 • HALion 6.3.1 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

frodebass
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 6:58 am
Contact:

Re: Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by frodebass » Sun Nov 10, 2019 11:38 pm

Deactivate and reactivate the driver in the devicemanager does not work. It's dissapeared...however, upon reboot, its back. Not good if I want to check something on Tidal while working in wavelab....

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2387
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by MrSoundman » Mon Nov 11, 2019 12:44 am

frodebass wrote:
Sun Nov 10, 2019 11:38 pm
It's dissapeared...however, upon reboot, its back
Are you using ASIO in WL 10?
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.0 • WaveLab 10.0.0 • SpectraLayers 6.0.20 • HALion 6.3.1 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

User avatar
Thomas W. Bethel
Member
Posts: 593
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:43 pm
Location: Oberlin, OH
Contact:

Re: Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by Thomas W. Bethel » Mon Nov 11, 2019 12:06 pm

MrSoundman wrote:
Sun Nov 10, 2019 6:29 pm
Thomas W. Bethel wrote:
Sun Nov 10, 2019 2:33 pm
Why the problem now?
The RME HDSP 9632 is now quite an old card, but even more importantly, the PCI interface standard is quite old, and although RME provide stellar support for everything they've ever sold, there have to be limits to what is still viable.

Of course you are correct to question why your particular issue only surfaces when you change from WL 9.5 to WL 10, but there are so many other factors at play here, such as Intel driver support for PCI, Windows handling of PCI etc. I myself use an RME RayDAT with PCIe, and I have encountered surprise amongst colleagues who now only use USB3 or Thunderbolt, but whereas PCIe still has rock-solid support, older technologies such as PCI and Firewire are likely to become ever more problematic.

All I'm saying is, perhaps it's time -- for both of us -- to investigate newer kit. Personally my next interface is likely to be AVB-based, rather than Thunderbolt, and MADI is overkill for me, but essentially I'm watching RME to see what direction they take, and that will inform my decision.
\

Thanks for the heads up. I know my card is old but it works GREAT with most DAWs that I have. I too will be interested to see where the whole audio interface/card goes in the coming months and then make a decision on what to upgrade to. I am on Windows 10 so Firewire and Thunderbolt are really not options.
Thomas W. Bethel
Managing Director
Acoustik Musik, Ltd.
Room With a View Productions
http://www.acoustikmusik.com/

Doing what you love is freedom.
Loving what you do is happiness.

Celebrating 24 years in business in 2019

frodebass
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 6:58 am
Contact:

Re: Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by frodebass » Mon Nov 11, 2019 12:59 pm

MrSoundman wrote:
Mon Nov 11, 2019 12:44 am
frodebass wrote:
Sun Nov 10, 2019 11:38 pm
It's dissapeared...however, upon reboot, its back
Are you using ASIO in WL 10?
Yes.
Should I use something else?

Frode

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2387
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by MrSoundman » Mon Nov 11, 2019 10:50 pm

frodebass wrote:
Mon Nov 11, 2019 12:59 pm
MrSoundman wrote:
Mon Nov 11, 2019 12:44 am
frodebass wrote:
Sun Nov 10, 2019 11:38 pm
It's dissapeared...however, upon reboot, its back
Are you using ASIO in WL 10?
Yes.
Should I use something else?
ASIO would be the best choice, but I notice now ASIO is the only choice on my machine .... that's new in WL 10.
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.0 • WaveLab 10.0.0 • SpectraLayers 6.0.20 • HALion 6.3.1 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

markino
Member
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by markino » Sat Nov 16, 2019 6:51 am

I hadn't notice this before:

Windows MME driver support in WaveLab
For technical reasons, Windows MME driver support has been dropped in WaveLab 10.
Please use the Steinberg Generic Lower Latency ASIO Driver, if your audio interface does not have an own dedicated ASIO driver.
If you need to record using the Windows MME driver, you can use an older WaveLab version, for example WaveLab 9.5, with your WaveLab 10 license.
Alternatively, you could use a tool like Voicemeeter to allow WaveLab 10 to record audio sources not available via ASIO - for example, the audio output of other Windows programs that are using the built-in soundcard.
Marco

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2387
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by MrSoundman » Sat Nov 16, 2019 11:26 am

N.B. there's no need for low latency when using WaveLab, however I understand from the above that the Generic Lower Latency ASIO Driver will give access to e.g. a laptop sound chip with no ASIO driver of its own (I don't have the Gen. ASIO installed as I don't need it).

I notice that SpectraLayers allows using the modern Windows WASAPI driver, which is kind of the replacement for MME, so perhaps WaveLab will go that direction as well?
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.0 • WaveLab 10.0.0 • SpectraLayers 6.0.20 • HALion 6.3.1 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

markino
Member
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by markino » Mon Nov 18, 2019 2:10 pm

Hello, problems with my built in audio card have worn me, no way to make Elements10 work as I used to do with 9.5.5...can't switch between 44.1 and/or 48K. I tried every possible solution, hope for some fix to put things togrther - win10. Sorry
Marco

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7006
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by PG » Mon Nov 18, 2019 3:02 pm

can't switch between 44.1 and/or 48K
Did you try the Generic Low Latency ASIO Driver?
When you open its control panel, the top box but be checked (Exclusive Access) to permit the audio host to change the sample rate.
Philippe

markino
Member
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by markino » Thu Nov 21, 2019 12:03 am

PG yes, I tried many times, if I load files with different sample rates I have to disable the audio input to riproduce them and yes I tried to switch the command you kindly suggested on and off with no succes. I’m currently back on 9.5.50 and everything works fine. Thanks for your patience, I’m waiting for the update!
Marco

markino
Member
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavlab 10 killes audio in wondows

Post by markino » Sat Dec 07, 2019 4:26 pm

How can a company like Steinberg suggest the use of an app like Voicemeeter to solve problems consequent to MME drivers dropping on Windows?
Not the easiest way to make Elements 10.0.10 work, what a mind job... :?
Marco

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab Pro 10 | WaveLab Elements 10”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests