Importing video WL Pro

Post questions and find answers on our latest WaveLab releases here.
Post Reply
JeffM
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 12:15 pm
Contact:

Importing video WL Pro

Post by JeffM » Thu Oct 31, 2019 2:43 pm

Hi, I am not sure what I am doing wrong but I can't seem to import any video into WL. I have matched the Sample rate etc and made sure the file is compatible but when I click to import - nothing happens at all. What am I missing?
https://jm-mastering.com/

Wavelab 10 Pro
Windows 10 Pro 64bit

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7036
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Importing video WL Pro

Post by PG » Thu Oct 31, 2019 5:12 pm

Clicking on import should at least show a file selector. Don't you see this?
Else, try this: create a Video track, then drag and drop a video file into it.
Philippe

JeffM
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Importing video WL Pro

Post by JeffM » Fri Nov 01, 2019 2:10 pm

Hi PG, yes I see the file selector and WL sees the video (simple mp4 recorded from my phone) but nothing happens when I select it. When I double click on the video though I get an error message - see attached screen shot.
Attachments
Video import.jpg
(106.56 KiB) Not downloaded yet
https://jm-mastering.com/

Wavelab 10 Pro
Windows 10 Pro 64bit

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7036
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Importing video WL Pro

Post by PG » Fri Nov 01, 2019 4:17 pm

Are you trying to open a video or audio file?
There if no preview for Video (even if the video contains audio).
Since mp4 is usable both for audio and video, if you select the audio filter and select a video, you will get such warning.
2019-11-01_16-16-40.png
(20.92 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Philippe

JeffM
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Importing video WL Pro

Post by JeffM » Sat Nov 02, 2019 2:22 pm

It's definitely a video file......I will check things out a bit more and get back to you.
https://jm-mastering.com/

Wavelab 10 Pro
Windows 10 Pro 64bit

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 1803
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Importing video WL Pro

Post by Puma0382 » Sat Nov 02, 2019 3:51 pm

JeffM wrote:
Sat Nov 02, 2019 2:22 pm
It's definitely a video file......I will check things out a bit more and get back to you.
Hi Jeff - a quick couple of things sprang to mind...

Does it play ok on the desktop (via VLC or MediaPlayer etc,..).? If not, there's bigger problems with the file itself...
If yes, check exactly what codec is being used in the file (Tools -> Codec Information inside VLC) - you know that MP4 is only the container, right.?

Good luck,
Bob

(PS:- For me - in the UK, if it makes any difference - the URL for your website in your signature returns a 'Page Not Found' error. Changing it to a *.com domain, works.. ;) )
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5, WaveLab Pro v10.0.10, Studio One v4.5.5, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

JeffM
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Importing video WL Pro

Post by JeffM » Tue Nov 05, 2019 5:56 pm

Thanks Bob - yes the video vile does play in all the video programs and I am still not able to import it. I converted it to an .avi too just to see if that made a difference but no joy.

PG: Just a thought - I am only using my PC's motherboard's native graphics output....if I put in a proper graphics card would that make a difference?

(And thanks for the heads up re the website - it does work but it isn't as smooth as it should be. I'll update it).
https://jm-mastering.com/

Wavelab 10 Pro
Windows 10 Pro 64bit

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7036
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Importing video WL Pro

Post by PG » Tue Nov 05, 2019 6:06 pm

I am only using my PC's motherboard's native graphics output....if I put in a proper graphics card would that make a difference?
No, this can't help.
Can you try on Cubase or Nuendo? WaveLab uses the same sub-system.
Philippe

JeffM
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Importing video WL Pro

Post by JeffM » Tue Nov 05, 2019 6:23 pm

Sorry PG I only have WL!
https://jm-mastering.com/

Wavelab 10 Pro
Windows 10 Pro 64bit

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7036
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Importing video WL Pro

Post by PG » Tue Nov 05, 2019 6:28 pm

Is the problem limited to one specific video? Can you load at least some other videos?
Philippe

JeffM
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Importing video WL Pro

Post by JeffM » Tue Nov 05, 2019 6:56 pm

It seems that it was limited to the one video....I imported a film in mp4 format and recorded another short one on my android phone - also .mp4 and they both work ok.....I assumed that since the first one I tried worked on everything else it should work in WL. But that's ok... I can deal with that since I am only getting used to the idea of video's in WL!

Thanks PG.
https://jm-mastering.com/

Wavelab 10 Pro
Windows 10 Pro 64bit

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab Pro 10 | WaveLab Elements 10”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests