AAF import?

Post questions and find answers on our latest WaveLab releases here.
Post Reply
cmbourget
Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 3:47 am
Contact:

AAF import?

Post by cmbourget » Wed Oct 30, 2019 11:02 pm

There is a way to import in the editing of AAF or OMF files?
Cubase 10, Pro Tools 2019.5
PC Windows 10, Intel Xeon E5-2667 v2 3.30GHz, 8 cores, 64 Go
PrismSound Titan, Solo Be and Focal sub

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2526
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: AAF import?

Post by bob99 » Sat Nov 02, 2019 6:32 am

cmbourget wrote:
Wed Oct 30, 2019 11:02 pm
There is a way to import in the editing of AAF or OMF files?
No, but you can use AES-31 if the DAW you're coming from supports it.
https://steinberg.help/wavelab_pro/v10/ ... ?hl=aes-31

If not, you can try AATranslator.

cmbourget
Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 3:47 am
Contact:

Re: AAF import?

Post by cmbourget » Sun Nov 03, 2019 9:10 pm

bob99 wrote:
Sat Nov 02, 2019 6:32 am
cmbourget wrote:
Wed Oct 30, 2019 11:02 pm
There is a way to import in the editing of AAF or OMF files?
No, but you can use AES-31 if the DAW you're coming from supports it.
https://steinberg.help/wavelab_pro/v10/ ... ?hl=aes-31

If not, you can try AATranslator.
Thanks Bob. From Cubase to WL, I would have thought that Steinberg would have offered something (I mean to keep the clip in position). Thanks also for AATranslator (I did not know).
Cubase 10, Pro Tools 2019.5
PC Windows 10, Intel Xeon E5-2667 v2 3.30GHz, 8 cores, 64 Go
PrismSound Titan, Solo Be and Focal sub

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2526
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: AAF import?

Post by bob99 » Mon Nov 04, 2019 5:23 am

cmbourget wrote:
Sun Nov 03, 2019 9:10 pm
Thanks Bob. From Cubase to WL, I would have thought that Steinberg would have offered something (I mean to keep the clip in position). Thanks also for AATranslator (I did not know).
If it's from Cubase, is Wavelab Exhange of no help? (or maybe that's what you're talking about).

https://steinberg.help/wavelab_pro/v10/ ... l=exchange

I don't know anything about Exchange, but I think it's available in Wavelab Elements too.

Also I thought Cubase had AES-31 export, but maybe not. I think Pro-Tools dropped AES-31 support a long time ago.

cmbourget
Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 3:47 am
Contact:

Re: AAF import?

Post by cmbourget » Mon Nov 04, 2019 5:22 pm

bob99 wrote:
Mon Nov 04, 2019 5:23 am
cmbourget wrote:
Sun Nov 03, 2019 9:10 pm
Thanks Bob. From Cubase to WL, I would have thought that Steinberg would have offered something (I mean to keep the clip in position). Thanks also for AATranslator (I did not know).
If it's from Cubase, is Wavelab Exhange of no help? (or maybe that's what you're talking about).

https://steinberg.help/wavelab_pro/v10/ ... l=exchange

I don't know anything about Exchange, but I think it's available in Wavelab Elements too.

Also I thought Cubase had AES-31 export, but maybe not. I think Pro-Tools dropped AES-31 support a long time ago.
I think it works by tracks, not clip, so we lose the position. But I will deepen with Cubase 10 and Wl 10.

No Aes-31 in Pro Tools, indeed. It's an old format, basically, replaced by OMF and then AAF. It is however Nuendo. Conclusion: Steinberg, do you want a transfer method between Cubase and WL, or just for Nuendo and WL?
Cubase 10, Pro Tools 2019.5
PC Windows 10, Intel Xeon E5-2667 v2 3.30GHz, 8 cores, 64 Go
PrismSound Titan, Solo Be and Focal sub

User avatar
Thomas W. Bethel
Member
Posts: 595
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:43 pm
Location: Oberlin, OH
Contact:

Re: AAF import?

Post by Thomas W. Bethel » Fri Nov 08, 2019 12:29 pm

bob99 wrote:
Sat Nov 02, 2019 6:32 am
cmbourget wrote:
Wed Oct 30, 2019 11:02 pm
There is a way to import in the editing of AAF or OMF files?
No, but you can use AES-31 if the DAW you're coming from supports it.
https://steinberg.help/wavelab_pro/v10/ ... ?hl=aes-31

If not, you can try AATranslator.
Rather an expensive way of doing things...FWIW
Thomas W. Bethel
Managing Director
Acoustik Musik, Ltd.
Room With a View Productions
http://www.acoustikmusik.com/

Doing what you love is freedom.
Loving what you do is happiness.

Celebrating 24 years in business in 2019

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2526
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: AAF import?

Post by bob99 » Fri Nov 08, 2019 7:33 pm

Thomas W. Bethel wrote:
Fri Nov 08, 2019 12:29 pm
Rather an expensive way of doing things...FWIW
I agree Thomas but I think it's one of the only programs left that does specifically what it does, convert DAW sessions, independent, but sometimes using the AAF, OMF, AES31 import/export availabilities in different programs as bridge I believe (not sure if that's the case, but I thought so).

But it reminded me that also SSL Pro Convert might still be around, but more expensive.

cmbourget
Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 3:47 am
Contact:

Re: AAF import?

Post by cmbourget » Fri Nov 08, 2019 10:27 pm

bob99 wrote:
Fri Nov 08, 2019 7:33 pm
Thomas W. Bethel wrote:
Fri Nov 08, 2019 12:29 pm
Rather an expensive way of doing things...FWIW
I agree Thomas but I think it's one of the only programs left that does specifically what it does, convert DAW sessions, independent, but sometimes using the AAF, OMF, AES31 import/export availabilities in different programs as bridge I believe (not sure if that's the case, but I thought so).

But it reminded me that also SSL Pro Convert might still be around, but more expensive.
I can not believe that Steinberg embarks us in this galley to transfer from Cubase to WL tracks with positioning of clips. I bought WL with confidence, and I do not find it well built. But that's beyond me.
Cubase 10, Pro Tools 2019.5
PC Windows 10, Intel Xeon E5-2667 v2 3.30GHz, 8 cores, 64 Go
PrismSound Titan, Solo Be and Focal sub

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab Pro 10 | WaveLab Elements 10”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest