Page 1 of 1

WL10 resource-hungry ?

Posted: Tue Oct 15, 2019 3:03 pm
by richardjay
Not a good start with WL10 for me. It can't play audio montages from WL9: massive glitching, even with ASIO Guard set to maximum. Audio Processing Load is maxed out at 100% with the montages open, even when all FX disabled :shock:
Despite the issues I raised 18 months ago on this thread viewtopic.php?f=244&t=119729&p=738883#p738883 I was able to work with montages in WL9 as long as I solo'd the track, but in WL10 that doesn't make any difference. Not usable for me right now unfortunately.

Re: WL10 resource-hungry ?

Posted: Tue Oct 15, 2019 3:09 pm
by PG
Try to change your audio card asio block size to 512 or 256, but don't change the ASIO Guard setting.

Re: WL10 resource-hungry ?

Posted: Tue Oct 15, 2019 3:26 pm
by richardjay
It's already at 512

Re: WL10 resource-hungry ?

Posted: Tue Oct 15, 2019 3:43 pm
by PG
The performances have been measured better than in 9. Are you observing the opposite?
What audio device?

Re: WL10 resource-hungry ?

Posted: Tue Oct 15, 2019 3:50 pm
by richardjay
Yes, much worse: it's unusable. I'm running RME HDSPe AIO. Use Cubase 10 on same machine daily without any problems.

Re: WL10 resource-hungry ?

Posted: Tue Oct 15, 2019 4:06 pm
by PG
How many tracks, what plugins, what sample rate?

Re: WL10 resource-hungry ?

Posted: Tue Oct 15, 2019 4:33 pm
by richardjay
24/48, 8 tracks but only one playing at a time. Each track has about 8 TrackFX on it and then there are two plugins on the master bus. I've disabled all FX everywhere and it still won't play properly - meter is amost permanently at 100% even without any FX

Re: WL10 resource-hungry ?

Posted: Tue Oct 15, 2019 5:32 pm
by StevenW
Hi Richard
I use the same card with 512 buffersize and Asio guard set on 10 ms.
Works here flawlessly.
I dont have release driver enabled


Steven

Re: WL10 resource-hungry ?

Posted: Tue Oct 15, 2019 6:26 pm
by richardjay
StevenW wrote:
Tue Oct 15, 2019 5:32 pm
Hi Richard
I use the same card with 512 buffersize and Asio guard set on 10 ms.
Works here flawlessly.
I dont have release driver enabled


Steven
But are you using it the same way as me ? I can play a single file, for example, no problem. But the performance for Audio Montage is much worse than 9.5, to the point where I can't use it

Re: WL10 resource-hungry ?

Posted: Tue Oct 15, 2019 6:34 pm
by StevenW
I use it mostly in multitrack setting with several plugins. No problem at all

Re: WL10 resource-hungry ?

Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 9:01 am
by mr.roos
I did try what you suggest, Steven, and it did reduce the CPU load. Which is surprising to me because WL is partnered with Cubase. Here I am saying that the two programs need to compliment each other and, releasing the ASIO driver from WaveLab and returning to Cubase is something that happens quite a bit in my process. Your suggestion does improve the CPU usage, but I still have to ask why, suddenly, should this driver release create a problem when it has always worked before? Too, come to think about it, why should this feature even exist if it cannot be used?

Re: WL10 resource-hungry ?

Posted: Wed Oct 23, 2019 5:27 pm
by mr.roos
I have since sorted my issues by turning off the Resampling function in the Master section. CPU is minimal with all my plugins and the visual jumping of the cursor and wave files during 'play' has stopped. I also was able to click on the 'Release driver when WL is in the background', something I have always done before.

Re: WL10 resource-hungry ?

Posted: Wed Oct 23, 2019 11:11 pm
by Denis van der Velde
To me in C10 and Wl9.5 (maybe also Wl10) the Asio Guard jumped in too quicky to protect.
Consider in preferences to tame it down a bit, and you might have way more asio room and less stuttering.

Re: WL10 resource-hungry ?

Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2019 10:19 pm
by lifeguardlloyd
I have noticed that the plugins cause a great deal of resource usage. Once I have rendered, I remove the plugins and the gauge drops significantly.
LP

Re: WL10 resource-hungry ?

Posted: Sat Oct 26, 2019 12:10 am
by pho
I've been playing around with WL10 (on a Mohave 10.14.6 system) the past days a lot and could sort out a couple of plugins that drew considerable amounts of cpu. One of the worst is the MAAT DR Meter MkII (v1.6.12), which is parked on my master section and has been a reliable source of information all things loudness to me. All is fine in both Logic and WL 9.5, but in 10.0 it's a serious hog. The all new processing-load meter unfortunately was not much help sorting that out.

Re: WL10 resource-hungry ?

Posted: Tue Oct 29, 2019 5:54 pm
by richardjay
PG - I'm the original OP of this thread and haven't managed to get WL10 to play the same Montages that worked in WL9. What do you suggest - should I open a tech support ticket at MySteinberg ? Maybe sending the Montage files would prove helpful.

Re: WL10 resource-hungry ?

Posted: Tue Oct 29, 2019 6:12 pm
by PG
Some stuff has already been improved for 10.0.10
But I would be interested to know what plugins are used in your montage and where, clip, tracks...

Re: WL10 resource-hungry ?

Posted: Wed Oct 30, 2019 2:55 pm
by richardjay
I'll try 10.0.10 when it's out and see if it's an improvement for me.

For now, all my plugins are at the track level and are mostly Plugin Alliance VST3's