Mixer -- Show/Hide Channel Racks ... assigned key not working

Post general topics related to Nuendo 10 here.
Post Reply
mlampert
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 9:53 pm
Contact:

Mixer -- Show/Hide Channel Racks ... assigned key not working

Post by mlampert » Fri Dec 06, 2019 4:46 pm

Hey gang,

If you assign a custom key command ("R" in my case) to the following function under the 'Mixer' folder:

Show/Hide Channel Racks

... does using that key to show/hide the channel racks in your mixer windows work? This works exactly as expected in Nuendo 8, but I've had no luck with it in Nuendo 10. Selecting/Deselecting the checkbox in the mixer window's configuration *does* work, however ... just not the assigned hotkey.

Thanks,

Mark

Niekbeem
Member
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Mixer -- Show/Hide Channel Racks ... assigned key not working

Post by Niekbeem » Fri Dec 06, 2019 7:04 pm

Maybe this key command is tied to a "window focus"?

Nuendo has this -very silly- concept of window-focus-dependent key commands.
For instance: G and H are (by default) used for zooming out and in in the Project Window (your main window) , but beware! It's also being used for zooming out and in in the Mix Console!
It depends on which window you're working in. The "active window" is indicated by a white border around it, and you can jump from one to the other by means of TAB.

So, this means, that when the MixConsole is not your "active window", your Show/Hide Channel Racks-key command might not "be active" ?

I hope this helps?

Niek/ Amsterdam.
Nuendo 10 / Pro Tools Ultimate / Logic X / MixBus32C 5 / WaveLab 9.5
MacPro 5.1: 12Core 3.46GHz Intel Xeon/ 48GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.13
MacBook Pro: 2.9 GHz Intel Core i9/ 32 GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.14
MetricHalo ULN8 + 2882 / RME HDSPe MadiFace
Euphonix MC Pro

User avatar
Dietz
Member
Posts: 315
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 5:40 pm
Location: Vienna / Europe
Contact:

Re: Mixer -- Show/Hide Channel Racks ... assigned key not working

Post by Dietz » Fri Dec 06, 2019 9:20 pm

Niekbeem wrote:
Fri Dec 06, 2019 7:04 pm
Nuendo has this -very silly- concept of window-focus-dependent key commands. [...]
:roll: ... hear, hear.
/Dietz

| audio | engineering | music | production |
| soundware | development |

| Nuendo versions from 5.5.6 to 10.2.10 | on various systems and platforms |
| Steinberg user since the 80ies | Nuendo user and forum member since 2000 |

mlampert
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 9:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixer -- Show/Hide Channel Racks ... assigned key not working

Post by mlampert » Thu Dec 12, 2019 2:26 pm

Unfortunately no luck with either of these, though I do know what you all mean regarding the window focus behavior, and I assumed that was it. This "show/hide racks" from a hotkey appears to be genuinely broken or otherwise not functional in Nuendo 10. Checking the 'Racks' box in the visibility menu for the mixer works, though it's obviously far less convenient.

Getalife2
Member
Posts: 592
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixer -- Show/Hide Channel Racks ... assigned key not working

Post by Getalife2 » Thu Dec 12, 2019 3:39 pm

Have you tried assigning it to a different key just to check?
N10.0.20 - i7 5960X/32 GB at 4.3GHz with x7 SSDs - Win 7/64 - 2x RME MADI - 3X UAD-2 Quad - VEP

mlampert
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 9:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixer -- Show/Hide Channel Racks ... assigned key not working

Post by mlampert » Fri Dec 13, 2019 3:31 pm

Hey GetaLife2,

I did, yes, and no luck there either. Perhaps most telling is that if I assign a hotkey to another mixer show/hide function, such as showing track pictures of EQ curves, those work exactly as expected. So, as far as I can tell, assigning a hotkey to 'show/hide channel racks' is just plain broken, as unlikely as it seems ... unless anyone else is able to make this work?

Thanks, all.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests