Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post general topics related to Nuendo 10 here.
SuperSteve
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:44 am
Contact:

Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by SuperSteve » Fri Nov 22, 2019 5:16 am

Hi Guys,

we've been using our Avid S6 quite intensely lately with Nuendo 10

AMA

:D :D :D :D

Dog and Pony
Member
Posts: 438
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by Dog and Pony » Fri Nov 22, 2019 5:21 am

How are the faders, quiet?
5 systems with N8, N10, Nuage, Artist Series, Faderport 16, Windows 10, MacOSX 10.12 and many more toys.

User avatar
JoDell19
Member
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 5:09 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by JoDell19 » Sat Nov 23, 2019 1:18 am

SuperSteve wrote:
Fri Nov 22, 2019 5:16 am
Hi Guys,

we've been using our Avid S6 quite intensely lately with Nuendo 10

AMA

:D :D :D :D
Is it working smooth? Short comings?
Please listen to my tunes:
JoDell Playmaker Music

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCvM97V ... gzgPnbE-iQ

SuperSteve
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:44 am
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by SuperSteve » Sat Nov 23, 2019 3:43 am

To be honest, it is working better than we had originally imagined, btw,just as a disclosure, not a huge fan of Avid here I should say, can't really buy into their subs nonsense and compared to Nuendo PT is outdated AF and we probably wouldn't use it if there was no clients demand, that's for sure...

Editing through MTM works mostly flawlessly. Would even go so far and say that panning works better than on the touch screen of Nuage Master unit.

Faders are certainly more quiet than on the Nuage, although I've heard that the noisy faders have been updated on the newer models...

Hybrid integration is fast, switching from LogicX to PT to Nuendo in seconds.

Only bug that is quite annoying, and I know for a fact that this has been brought up by other users, working with Avid controllers in CB/Nuendo, is that sometimes once you move a fader on the desk, it doesn't exactly reflect the same position inside of the DAW, sometimes of by a few DB points, but that can be quite annoying especially in larger mixing sessions....

I don't know where the issue is exactly, why this can't be fixed, I suspect it's either the EUCON not properly implemented in Nuendo, or Steinberg not being able (or willing) to do that, for reasons unknown to me, i.e. Avid refusing to give out any info on the EUCON coding....

SuperSteve
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:44 am
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by SuperSteve » Sat Nov 23, 2019 3:45 am

I should also that, that the S6, feels certainly more "high standard" than other controllers out there, as should be for a price tag of almost 170K

Out of interest, anyone currently using any S series with Nuendo ?

Would be curious to hear their experiences...

tlockett
Junior Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 3:09 am
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by tlockett » Sat Nov 23, 2019 9:15 pm

I'm not using a S6,but I use the Avid Dock and the PT control App with Nuendo 10 and the intergrations is amazing,I have made the Dock so customized to do fundtions in Nuendo, I have a hard time usng Nuendo without it now. I have ordered a S1, and I can't wait to get it, I know this is about the S6, but the Avid EuCon control sure works for me, I LOVE Nuendo, it is a great DAW....

SuperSteve
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:44 am
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by SuperSteve » Sun Nov 24, 2019 12:53 am

Alright that's interesting to hear....
Out of interest are you planing to use the S1 exclusively in Nuendo or is it a dual workstation ?

tlockett
Junior Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 3:09 am
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by tlockett » Sun Nov 24, 2019 9:34 pm

I use Logic Pro X and Pro Tools Ultimate, as well as Nuendo, and the Dock, with the Avid App with EuCon works just as well,The EuCon command that you can personally assign to any function of these DAWS is very deep,Nuendo is my DAW of choice,but I work with a lot of other Film composers who use these DAWS so I must work between them all.I feel the Dock is amazing controller, it also controls all the plug ins as well, if you can spend sometime with it,I believe after you use it you will want to have it, the S1 for me is just a nice addition, but the Dock and EuCon is a must, and personally, I use just 1 fader most of the time anyway

SuperSteve
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:44 am
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by SuperSteve » Tue Nov 26, 2019 1:54 am

Yeah same here, although as I said we on our end try to use PT as little as possible.

When you got the S1 up and running I’d be interested to hear how that integrates in your workflow and your overall experience with it. I did not get my hands on one yet, but from what I’ ve heard it’s supposed to be great especially for smaller scale studios...

User avatar
Keyplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 1242
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by Keyplayer » Tue Nov 26, 2019 4:59 am

SuperSteve wrote:
Sat Nov 23, 2019 3:43 am
To be honest, it is working better than we had originally imagined, btw,just as a disclosure, not a huge fan of Avid here I should say, can't really buy into their subs nonsense and compared to Nuendo PT is outdated AF and we probably wouldn't use it if there was no clients demand, that's for sure...

Editing through MTM works mostly flawlessly. Would even go so far and say that panning works better than on the touch screen of Nuage Master unit.

Faders are certainly more quiet than on the Nuage, although I've heard that the noisy faders have been updated on the newer models...

Hybrid integration is fast, switching from LogicX to PT to Nuendo in seconds.

Only bug that is quite annoying, and I know for a fact that this has been brought up by other users, working with Avid controllers in CB/Nuendo, is that sometimes once you move a fader on the desk, it doesn't exactly reflect the same position inside of the DAW, sometimes of by a few DB points, but that can be quite annoying especially in larger mixing sessions....

I don't know where the issue is exactly, why this can't be fixed, I suspect it's either the EUCON not properly implemented in Nuendo, or Steinberg not being able (or willing) to do that, for reasons unknown to me, i.e. Avid refusing to give out any info on the EUCON coding....
Will the S6 follow ALL of the various onscreen views in Nuendo? If you hide a track on screen, will it also be removed from the hardware?
Nuendo 1.0 - 10 |VST Studio Connect Pro | Windows 10 Pro | Intel i7 - 5820K CPU @ 3.30 | 64-bit OS | 32GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Video Card | Euphonix MC Control, 2 Mix & Transport | Xkeys | iConnectivity mi10 MIDI Interface | UAD-2 Octo Core with UAD-1 Legacy Ultra Pak | Isotope RX4 | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | Real Guitar | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | 32 Channel Panasonic DA-7 desk | Equator D5 (5.1) & Mackie 824 (St.) monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |

User avatar
Keyplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 1242
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by Keyplayer » Wed Nov 27, 2019 8:47 pm

It's amazing. EVERY time I ask about the S Series (S1, S3, S4 & S6) ability to follow Nuendo completely, the thread comes to a stop or is completely ignored. I wonder why it's so hard to get an answer to THIS one question?
Nuendo 1.0 - 10 |VST Studio Connect Pro | Windows 10 Pro | Intel i7 - 5820K CPU @ 3.30 | 64-bit OS | 32GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Video Card | Euphonix MC Control, 2 Mix & Transport | Xkeys | iConnectivity mi10 MIDI Interface | UAD-2 Octo Core with UAD-1 Legacy Ultra Pak | Isotope RX4 | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | Real Guitar | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | 32 Channel Panasonic DA-7 desk | Equator D5 (5.1) & Mackie 824 (St.) monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |

misjavw
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:57 pm
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by misjavw » Thu Nov 28, 2019 9:17 am

Is the PT control app on iPad stable now? When I use it, it crashes N10, as well as the app itself when I hit the "tracks view" button. This has been a problem for a long time. I must say though that I'm using an old iPad.
www.audiochef.nl
Nuendo 10.2.0 / Wavelab 8.5 / Protools 12
MacPro 5.1 12Core 3.46GHz Intel Xeon/ 48GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.12.6
MOTU UltraLite MK3 / Mackie Control Pro / Mackie Control Extender
iPad / TouchOSC / PT Control

Niekbeem
Member
Posts: 595
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by Niekbeem » Thu Nov 28, 2019 11:35 am

If you hide a track on screen, will it also be removed from the hardware?
On my system, a MC PRO with 4 faders, it won't and that's very annoying (indeed).

Niek/ Amsterdam
Nuendo 10 / Pro Tools Ultimate / Logic X / MixBus32C 5 / WaveLab 9.5
MacPro 5.1: 12Core 3.46GHz Intel Xeon/ 48GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.13
MacBook Pro: 2.9 GHz Intel Core i9/ 32 GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.14
MetricHalo ULN8 + 2882 / RME HDSPe MadiFace
Euphonix MC Pro

User avatar
Keyplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 1242
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by Keyplayer » Thu Nov 28, 2019 3:00 pm

Niekbeem wrote:
Thu Nov 28, 2019 11:35 am
If you hide a track on screen, will it also be removed from the hardware?
On my system, a MC PRO with 4 faders, it won't and that's very annoying (indeed).

Niek/ Amsterdam
Yeah, I know it won't work on Sys. 5. That's why I was trying to find out if this has been fixed on the NEW S series. I'm getting the sense that it hasn't. Can you imagine paying $170k for an S6 and STILL having this problem?
Nuendo 1.0 - 10 |VST Studio Connect Pro | Windows 10 Pro | Intel i7 - 5820K CPU @ 3.30 | 64-bit OS | 32GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Video Card | Euphonix MC Control, 2 Mix & Transport | Xkeys | iConnectivity mi10 MIDI Interface | UAD-2 Octo Core with UAD-1 Legacy Ultra Pak | Isotope RX4 | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | Real Guitar | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | 32 Channel Panasonic DA-7 desk | Equator D5 (5.1) & Mackie 824 (St.) monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |

SuperSteve
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:44 am
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by SuperSteve » Fri Nov 29, 2019 3:22 pm

misjavw wrote:
Thu Nov 28, 2019 9:17 am
Is the PT control app on iPad stable now? When I use it, it crashes N10, as well as the app itself when I hit the "tracks view" button. This has been a problem for a long time. I must say though that I'm using an old iPad.
I can’t answer that, since I’m not using that kind of setup. For us the EuCon works fine under N10 and Catalina...

SuperSteve
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:44 am
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by SuperSteve » Fri Nov 29, 2019 3:28 pm

Keyplayer wrote:
Thu Nov 28, 2019 3:00 pm
Niekbeem wrote:
Thu Nov 28, 2019 11:35 am
If you hide a track on screen, will it also be removed from the hardware?
On my system, a MC PRO with 4 faders, it won't and that's very annoying (indeed).

Niek/ Amsterdam
Yeah, I know it won't work on Sys. 5. That's why I was trying to find out if this has been fixed on the NEW S series. I'm getting the sense that it hasn't. Can you imagine paying $170k for an S6 and STILL having this problem?
It actually does on the S6 and Nuendo 10. Although I should mention that all our software is up to date and i am very well aware that the hiding and some other features did not integrate well on previous versions of S6 and N7 or N8. Should mention we only had the console configured for multi DAW use in September this year, so aside from the basics I am not so sure on the shortcomings in previous versions of the S6 running under anything else than PT

SuperSteve
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:44 am
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by SuperSteve » Fri Nov 29, 2019 3:33 pm

N10.1 with S6 19.10 works fine though, at least for my personal liking.
The stuff I’ve mentioned above is somewhat of a letdown but bearing in mind that neither system was programmed to be in primarily use or any extended use for that matter with each other it works surprisingly well.
If Avid only would be opening upEuCon a bit more....but that’s daydreaming I suppose

User avatar
Keyplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 1242
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by Keyplayer » Fri Nov 29, 2019 5:39 pm

SuperSteve wrote:
Fri Nov 29, 2019 3:33 pm
N10.1 with S6 19.10 works fine though, at least for my personal liking.
The stuff I’ve mentioned above is somewhat of a letdown but bearing in mind that neither system was programmed to be in primarily use or any extended use for that matter with each other it works surprisingly well.
If Avid only would be opening upEuCon a bit more....but that’s daydreaming I suppose
Well, THAT's encouraging. It means we might have a shot with the S1. That's assuming we can still get V.19.10. I was stable on V.18.3 and my iPad updated automatically and won't let anyone revert (not even Avid)! :x So, the ONLY path is forward. But, what I'm seeing on the Avid site is lots and lots of complaints about lost or broken features (even in Pro Tools) for V.19.5 and higher. V.19.9 sounds like a real nightmare! If it's not working in PT, what chance do the rest of us have?

I wish I could find a way to actually put my hands on an S1 with Dock running N10.0.1 (I can't go to 10.1 or higher until they restore Transparent Tracks Mode) to check all of these issues out BEFORE I buy it! None of the dealers in my area have it and I was told that none of the dealers will give display space for controllers of any kind because it's too expensive to set up all the different types of computers & DAWs required. There, apparently isn't enough sales or profit margin from those that are sold to make it worth their while. :( When I asked about the return policy for them, I was told "ZERO!" Controllers are special order items only. So, once you buy it, it's between you and the manufacturer! I'm not looking forward to wasting money on return shipping for any problem items.

But, as I said this news is encouraging. So, maybe someone with N10 on an S1 will post a YouTube video showing that the issues have been fixed.
Nuendo 1.0 - 10 |VST Studio Connect Pro | Windows 10 Pro | Intel i7 - 5820K CPU @ 3.30 | 64-bit OS | 32GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Video Card | Euphonix MC Control, 2 Mix & Transport | Xkeys | iConnectivity mi10 MIDI Interface | UAD-2 Octo Core with UAD-1 Legacy Ultra Pak | Isotope RX4 | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | Real Guitar | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | 32 Channel Panasonic DA-7 desk | Equator D5 (5.1) & Mackie 824 (St.) monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |

SuperSteve
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:44 am
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by SuperSteve » Sat Nov 30, 2019 2:57 am

Yeah in regards to the versions, we are relatively careful when it comes to updates, my understanding is once you have made an update you can’t really reverse it. We are relatively kooky with ourAvid dealer, who runs basically anything for us as a test in their own studios before recommending it to us for update, and we also have the philosophy that, especially with EuCon and Nuendo, as long as it’s somewhat functional we are not going to update anything, it might make things worse...

As for the S1 and Nuendo, I would also be curious to see how that integrates...

May I ask why you are considering an S1 in Nuendo over let’s say a Yamaha Nuage or are you also working hybrid ?

SuperSteve
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:44 am
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by SuperSteve » Sat Nov 30, 2019 2:59 am

Edit : lucky, typo

User avatar
Keyplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 1242
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by Keyplayer » Sat Nov 30, 2019 7:27 am

SuperSteve wrote:
Sat Nov 30, 2019 2:57 am
Yeah in regards to the versions, we are relatively careful when it comes to updates, my understanding is once you have made an update you can’t really reverse it. We are relatively kooky with ourAvid dealer, who runs basically anything for us as a test in their own studios before recommending it to us for update, and we also have the philosophy that, especially with EuCon and Nuendo, as long as it’s somewhat functional we are not going to update anything, it might make things worse...

As for the S1 and Nuendo, I would also be curious to see how that integrates...

May I ask why you are considering an S1 in Nuendo over let’s say a Yamaha Nuage or are you also working hybrid ?
I'm working in hybrid. But I've been SLOWLY transitioning to ITB . I track through my desk and mix ITB with my Artist Series system (MC Control, 2 Mix and Transport).

My interest in the S1 is entirely because they claim to have addressed 95% of the issues we been fighting for YEARS with the Artist Series, since Avid acquired Eucon.
The main feature I'm waiting for is the MOST BASIC, the hardware follows the software!! After that, the other things like having Ctrl/Alt/Delete buttons in addition to the shift button or the ability to have individual metering via tablets is "icing on the cake!"

IF that's genuinely fixed, I would find that sufficient motivation to update/upgrade. If not, I'll stick with the current setup.
Nuendo 1.0 - 10 |VST Studio Connect Pro | Windows 10 Pro | Intel i7 - 5820K CPU @ 3.30 | 64-bit OS | 32GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Video Card | Euphonix MC Control, 2 Mix & Transport | Xkeys | iConnectivity mi10 MIDI Interface | UAD-2 Octo Core with UAD-1 Legacy Ultra Pak | Isotope RX4 | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | Real Guitar | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | 32 Channel Panasonic DA-7 desk | Equator D5 (5.1) & Mackie 824 (St.) monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |

cyborgssc
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2019 3:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by cyborgssc » Sat Nov 30, 2019 3:50 pm

misjavw wrote:
Thu Nov 28, 2019 9:17 am
Is the PT control app on iPad stable now? When I use it, it crashes N10, as well as the app itself when I hit the "tracks view" button. This has been a problem for a long time. I must say though that I'm using an old iPad.
Eddie Jones from Avid (who runs the team that produces the PT Control app) claims that the crash on the Tracks page is fixed in the new version of the app that they will release in December. The app has been rewritten to support the S1 and run on both iOS and Android, so it seems possible that it will be fixed. I believe the app is changing names as well, so stay tuned for a fix for that!

misjavw
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:57 pm
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by misjavw » Mon Dec 02, 2019 4:05 pm

cyborgssc wrote:
Sat Nov 30, 2019 3:50 pm
misjavw wrote:
Thu Nov 28, 2019 9:17 am
Is the PT control app on iPad stable now? When I use it, it crashes N10, as well as the app itself when I hit the "tracks view" button. This has been a problem for a long time. I must say though that I'm using an old iPad.
Eddie Jones from Avid (who runs the team that produces the PT Control app) claims that the crash on the Tracks page is fixed in the new version of the app that they will release in December. The app has been rewritten to support the S1 and run on both iOS and Android, so it seems possible that it will be fixed. I believe the app is changing names as well, so stay tuned for a fix for that!
That is good to know. I will check it out as soon as it comes available.
www.audiochef.nl
Nuendo 10.2.0 / Wavelab 8.5 / Protools 12
MacPro 5.1 12Core 3.46GHz Intel Xeon/ 48GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.12.6
MOTU UltraLite MK3 / Mackie Control Pro / Mackie Control Extender
iPad / TouchOSC / PT Control

User avatar
Keyplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 1242
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by Keyplayer » Mon Dec 02, 2019 6:26 pm

cyborgssc wrote:
Sat Nov 30, 2019 3:50 pm
misjavw wrote:
Thu Nov 28, 2019 9:17 am
Is the PT control app on iPad stable now? When I use it, it crashes N10, as well as the app itself when I hit the "tracks view" button. This has been a problem for a long time. I must say though that I'm using an old iPad.
Eddie Jones from Avid (who runs the team that produces the PT Control app) claims that the crash on the Tracks page is fixed in the new version of the app that they will release in December. The app has been rewritten to support the S1 and run on both iOS and Android, so it seems possible that it will be fixed. I believe the app is changing names as well, so stay tuned for a fix for that!
They're calling it AVID CONTROL now. It will work with current Artist Series hardware. But the meter bridge features will ONLY WORK WITH THE S1.
Nuendo 1.0 - 10 |VST Studio Connect Pro | Windows 10 Pro | Intel i7 - 5820K CPU @ 3.30 | 64-bit OS | 32GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Video Card | Euphonix MC Control, 2 Mix & Transport | Xkeys | iConnectivity mi10 MIDI Interface | UAD-2 Octo Core with UAD-1 Legacy Ultra Pak | Isotope RX4 | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | Real Guitar | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | 32 Channel Panasonic DA-7 desk | Equator D5 (5.1) & Mackie 824 (St.) monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |

miguelnunes
Junior Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10 on an Avid S6

Post by miguelnunes » Thu Dec 05, 2019 1:53 am

SuperSteve wrote:
Sat Nov 23, 2019 3:45 am
I should also that, that the S6, feels certainly more "high standard" than other controllers out there, as should be for a price tag of almost 170K

Out of interest, anyone currently using any S series with Nuendo ?

Would be curious to hear their experiences...
S3 + Dock here. The fader issues ( discrepancy's ) were resolved by Avid 1 year ago or so.
Im very happy with my purchase, 2 years ago I had the option to go with the S3 or the SSL Nucleus. Had the privilege to A/B both units and the Eucon Protocol won by far.
I do mostly Post for TV and gaming Sound Design.
The integration of the S3+Dock+iPad with Nuendo is pretty much a dream compared to an HUI or MCU based unit.
There is nothing you gain from an S6 or Nuage till the mixing stage, all the Post work before that final process is very well done with my setup, cue mixes to the booth; Editing Vocals; ADR; Etc...
Checking the new app layout today and surprise surprise! It got even better.
Question is, how long this "bug Free" working environment will last?
I have my own 5.1 + booth studio but I do freelance work for other venues. Coincidentally, I have the privilege to work both on a Nuage based studio and an S6 one. I can't comprehend why those 2 venues have such large "consoles", my main work there is Dialogue Editing and Re Recording stuff...
Anyways, back to the subject, I don't know how Steinberg/yamaha dropped the ball here, but they did! I even watched a mixing stage of a Full Blown Feature Film on an S6, believe me, most of you have watch that movie, but here's the catch: It was entirely mixed on Nuendo! with an S6!!!
Im a happy man with my setup, and Im a Nuendo guy, been there since V2, when they had RME hardware to go with it, but Avid is taking over the "controllers" world with this S1 releases.
Im still primarily a Nuendo user, but the bull they've been putting out lately?! Trying to merge Nuendo with Cubase and get both parts *knuf**d?
Makes me wonder if the claims of the lack of eucon SDKs by Steinberg from Avid, is a reality.
Just my 2 cents.

Cheers!

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest