Nuendo 10.2 seems to be leaking Memory

Post general topics related to Nuendo 10 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
audiomonkeys
Junior Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:25 pm
Contact:

Nuendo 10.2 seems to be leaking Memory

Post by audiomonkeys » Fri Sep 06, 2019 2:54 am

OK, after working with N10.2 for two days I'm finding Nuendo is now a real memory hog, at least I think so as my Kernel_task uses up all remainder RAM available causing my video playback to stutter.

Running a large TV movie session with multiple videos on the video track takes about 15 to 20 minutes to hit the bottleneck. Closed that session and then opened a small session with no video track does not seem to release any RAM till I quite Nuendo.

This difference in performance was instantly noticeable after the upgrade.
Unfortunately, I no longer have 10.1 installers to roll back to.
Does anyone know where to find the older version of Nuendo?
Nuendo 10.2.10 , Video Decoder for Avid DNxHD(R) Spectralayers Pro 6 Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10
Mac Pro 5.1 3.33 Ghz - 12 core, 32 Bg RAM. OS10.12.6 Smart AV Tango +12 fader Ext, Dolby Atmos Suite, Blackmagic Intensity Pro - 5 litres of good Japanese Sake (and more coming) and 100% no CRACK plugins

Dolfo
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10.2 seems to be leaking Memory

Post by Dolfo » Fri Sep 06, 2019 8:37 am

Yes. I noticed video did not run as smooth as 10.1.
MacPro 12 cores 3,06GHz 32GB RAM / OSX 10.14.5
Nuendo 10 (4 rooms) / Cubase Pro 10
Blackmagic Intensity Pro
Yamaha DM2000 V2 / Yamaha 01V96 V2 / Houston
MOTU 896HD mk3 / MOTU Traveler / MOTU 8Pre / MIDI Express 128 / MOTU MTPII

GNP
Junior Member
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2017 2:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10.2 seems to be leaking Memory

Post by GNP » Fri Sep 06, 2019 7:37 pm

If you guys are using Nuendo's "Fullscreen" default video player, I would suggest you get a separate dedicated video playback card to do it, such as Blackmagic Design's Decklink Mini Monitor. This will help offload all resources of video playback to the card itself, rather than your CPU or RAM.

Leave your computer's resources all dedicated to audio.
Win10 Pro 64bit | i9-7940X, 14-core CPU | 128G RAM, 3200MHz | UAD 2-QUAD DSP Card | BLACKMAGIC Decklink Mini Monitor GPU | ASUS Phoenix GTX 1060 6GB GPU | AMD Radeon HD 7400 Series GPU | CORSAIR 850W PSU | One SSD OS HDD, Four 6TB HDDs

Lemur, iPad Pro 12.9", iConnectivity MIDI2+

RME Fireface UCX, latest firmware and drivers
Antelope Isochrone OCX Clock

ASUS X299 Deluxe BIOS CPU: Everything disabled, except Hyperthreading & Intel Turbo Boost Max 3
Steinberg Power Scheme activated

http://www.graynoteprods.com

User avatar
audiomonkeys
Junior Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10.2 seems to be leaking Memory

Post by audiomonkeys » Fri Sep 06, 2019 8:44 pm

GNP wrote:
Fri Sep 06, 2019 7:37 pm
If you guys are using Nuendo's "Fullscreen" default video player, I would suggest you get a separate dedicated video playback card to do it, such as Blackmagic Design's Decklink Mini Monitor. This will help offload all resources of video playback to the card itself, rather than your CPU or RAM.

Leave your computer's resources all dedicated to audio.
Thanks for the note GNP, I am using a Blackmagic card, I have noticed some improvement by changing my Video files from Apple ProRess 422 Proxy to Avid DNxHD. still no explanation of why the change in the amount of RAM being used. but the Avid DNxHD files don't stutter even when the RAM is maxed out.
Nuendo 10.2.10 , Video Decoder for Avid DNxHD(R) Spectralayers Pro 6 Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10
Mac Pro 5.1 3.33 Ghz - 12 core, 32 Bg RAM. OS10.12.6 Smart AV Tango +12 fader Ext, Dolby Atmos Suite, Blackmagic Intensity Pro - 5 litres of good Japanese Sake (and more coming) and 100% no CRACK plugins

GNP
Junior Member
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2017 2:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10.2 seems to be leaking Memory

Post by GNP » Fri Sep 06, 2019 8:59 pm

audiomonkeys wrote:
Fri Sep 06, 2019 8:44 pm
GNP wrote:
Fri Sep 06, 2019 7:37 pm
If you guys are using Nuendo's "Fullscreen" default video player, I would suggest you get a separate dedicated video playback card to do it, such as Blackmagic Design's Decklink Mini Monitor. This will help offload all resources of video playback to the card itself, rather than your CPU or RAM.

Leave your computer's resources all dedicated to audio.
Thanks for the note GNP, I am using a Blackmagic card, I have noticed some improvement by changing my Video files from Apple ProRess 422 Proxy to Avid DNxHD. still no explanation of why the change in the amount of RAM being used. but the Avid DNxHD files don't stutter even when the RAM is maxed out.
Oh. That's up to Steinberg to address, then. :mrgreen:
Win10 Pro 64bit | i9-7940X, 14-core CPU | 128G RAM, 3200MHz | UAD 2-QUAD DSP Card | BLACKMAGIC Decklink Mini Monitor GPU | ASUS Phoenix GTX 1060 6GB GPU | AMD Radeon HD 7400 Series GPU | CORSAIR 850W PSU | One SSD OS HDD, Four 6TB HDDs

Lemur, iPad Pro 12.9", iConnectivity MIDI2+

RME Fireface UCX, latest firmware and drivers
Antelope Isochrone OCX Clock

ASUS X299 Deluxe BIOS CPU: Everything disabled, except Hyperthreading & Intel Turbo Boost Max 3
Steinberg Power Scheme activated

http://www.graynoteprods.com

robft
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun May 22, 2016 2:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10.2 seems to be leaking Memory

Post by robft » Fri Sep 06, 2019 11:45 pm

It seems that Nuendo 10 is not releasing memory resources properly. I noticed, even with 10.1, if I run Nuendo on my Windows 7 PC, and then close out Nuendo completely (even remove the dongle from the USB port), I still find multiple instances of Nuendo showing up in Windows Task Manager and the memory it is still "holding". I rebooted, ran Nuendo 10.2 for about 45 minutes, closed Nuendo and checked. I had 4 instances of Nuendo 10.exe showing up using 200,000 K to 400,000 K each. The only way to release that is to reboot the machine or take a chance and use the "End Process" function.

User avatar
audiomonkeys
Junior Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10.2 seems to be leaking Memory

Post by audiomonkeys » Sat Sep 07, 2019 1:06 am

I must note today that Nuendo (on the same session) seems to be less of a memory hog, I'm wondering if the update of N10.2 re-scans all the databases in the background maybe explaining the excess memory use.
Nuendo 10.2.10 , Video Decoder for Avid DNxHD(R) Spectralayers Pro 6 Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10
Mac Pro 5.1 3.33 Ghz - 12 core, 32 Bg RAM. OS10.12.6 Smart AV Tango +12 fader Ext, Dolby Atmos Suite, Blackmagic Intensity Pro - 5 litres of good Japanese Sake (and more coming) and 100% no CRACK plugins

User avatar
Dietz
Member
Posts: 314
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 5:40 pm
Location: Vienna / Europe
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10.2 seems to be leaking Memory

Post by Dietz » Sat Sep 07, 2019 12:04 pm

robft wrote:
Fri Sep 06, 2019 11:45 pm
[...] I still find multiple instances of Nuendo showing up in Windows Task Manager and the memory it is still "holding". [...]
This ^^^^^. Is there any "good" reason for that quite annoying behaviour?
/Dietz

| audio | engineering | music | production |
| soundware | development |

| Nuendo versions from 5.5.6 to 10.2.10 | on various systems and platforms |
| Steinberg user since the 80ies | Nuendo user and forum member since 2000 |

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3879
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10.2 seems to be leaking Memory

Post by MattiasNYC » Sat Sep 07, 2019 6:04 pm

I wonder if it'd be detrimental to anything to just create a batch script that shuts down those processes (?). It'd be easy enough to write something like that and leave it on the desktop.. double-click and done.. at least it'd maybe save a complete reboot.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

grzes
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2019 7:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10.2 seems to be leaking Memory

Post by grzes » Tue Oct 29, 2019 7:53 pm

Hi,
I have a memory leak bug, a serious one.
I'm on mac mini, the latest i7 with Mojave.
I need to compose music on a mp4 video. I started to work in "repeat" mode but after each repeat the RAM weight increased. (I saw it afterwards in the Activity Monitor)
After some repeats I had the message that I'm running out of memory (I have 32 Go), but ok, let's restart and retry! When I killed Nuendo I recovered the RAM.
:arrow:
What is strange is that my hard drive was filled with something in the same time. My HD is full and I don't know where are the files.
So I'm pretty much stucked with my production machine and the HD filled 100% with some cache RAM files.... :x

Any Idea where I could find this crap and delete it manually???

Thanks so much for your help guys, I'm slaughtered...

User avatar
Christian van Caine
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 10:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10.2 seems to be leaking Memory

Post by Christian van Caine » Mon Nov 04, 2019 5:58 pm

Some of this sounds an awful lot like a problem I had before.After a while Nuendo froze before being able to fully shut down, and eventually even opening up a project could take a lot of tries and restarts.
First of all I've noticed that Steinberg - full stop - is extremely sensitive to drivers to function well. A wee program called Driver Easy swiftly and nicely took care of that problem.
Secondly, and this has haunted me for quite some time, every single issue I had with these things disappeared completely after I back-tracker the logs after an especially frustrating boot, and tried to disable the VST2's that was loading when the damn thing froze up during initiation. Long story short - I now have a lot of VST2-plugins I will never ever use again, and my system is now rock solid. For some reason though I've never had to disable VST3's, not counting Brainworx before its major update, that simply killed the channels altogether instead, and a few weird small things I've got from sales from what turned out to be pretty terrible developers anyway, but none of these things ever prevented a boot up or proper shut down, they only became issues when trying to open the channel for some good ol' editing .

Most of the fritzy VST2 plugins were either free or pretty cheap ones, but some years ago huge culprits were lots of different Waves, everything Brainworx/Plugin Alliance, and AudioEase Altiverb. Waves got its *flower* together (at least technically) like 10 years ago by now, but both Brainworx and Altiverb sorted out their issues pretty recently, with Altiverb 7 being their first release that has run flawlessly on my systems. Or more or less flawlessly; if I resurrect an old project with Altiverb 5 or 6 I better make sure my current version is not in its intended folder when I try to remove the old instances or it will kill my session like a rat-back in a rat-trap... But in itself, it's rock solid.
https://abrokenlinemovie.blogspot.com/

Nuendo 10.2, Wavelab 9.5, Sound Forge Pro 12, Pro 24 III and Cubase 2.01/3.0 (Atari), full Adobe CS6-suite, Plugins from MAAT, Millennia, Eventide, Dolby, Weiss, Sound Toys, Izotope, SSL, and AudioEase to name a few.
Windows 10 Pro, Xeon 8-core, ASUS X99 E, Prism Sound Titan, Black Magic Intensity PCIe, Atari MEGA 4 STe with MIDEX+, every kind of hand-held (DPA/phone) known to man, Amiga 600 and a few 500, Commodore 64' and 128's. I am NOT getting into what I use on these, that would take a list of its own.
As much hardware gear, synthesizers, and sounding toys as I can possibly get my paws on. Including for the micro-computers.

whybee
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 4:35 am
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10.2 seems to be leaking Memory

Post by whybee » Mon Nov 04, 2019 7:22 pm

Unfortunately, my recent experience recording and editing midi for a few hours that the graphic rendering of the midi notes both in the docked and non-docked midi event editor window are failing to draw notes as I resized, or undid something that resized or moved the note.

When something like that works when first launching the software and slowly degrades over time points to something like a memory leak or an overlooked release or cleanup of resources. I hope it's found and fixed. (latest software, latest directx, latest gpu drivers.. - which usually is the culprit here) - posted this on it's own thread but may be related.
PC Windows 10-64bit. Nuendo 10.2 / RME HDSP Multiface II / GTX1070ti

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2479
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10.2 seems to be leaking Memory

Post by Fredo » Mon Nov 04, 2019 7:48 pm

I didn't read through the whole thread, but maybe you are missing something important.
And it might explain some of the issues reported.

When the user loads a plugin within Nuendo, the plugin calls it's memory through Nuendo => OS.
When the plugin is unloaded or when less memory is needed, the plugin needs to ask the OS to release the used memory.
Nuendo can't "order" the OS to release memory that is claimed by a plugin.
Even when you remove the plugin from Nuendo, it is still the plugin that needs to tell the OS to release the used memory.

Not saying that this is the case here, and I am not 100% sure that I have the details correct in the above.
But I know this was a hughe problem some time ago.

Fredo

User avatar
Christian van Caine
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 10:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Nuendo 10.2 seems to be leaking Memory

Post by Christian van Caine » Mon Nov 04, 2019 10:30 pm

Fredo wrote:
Mon Nov 04, 2019 7:48 pm
When the user loads a plugin within Nuendo, the plugin calls it's memory through Nuendo => OS.
When the plugin is unloaded or when less memory is needed, the plugin needs to ask the OS to release the used memory.
Nuendo can't "order" the OS to release memory that is claimed by a plugin.
Even when you remove the plugin from Nuendo, it is still the plugin that needs to tell the OS to release the used memory.
Ah, although I've got no real experience in programming things like this (years of Commodore 64 and Mac Plus doesn't really translate into modern stuff) I was actually convinced this was the case as all my problems disappeared with a bunch of poorly coded plugins.
Cheers for the heads up, nice to have it in black and white!
Wonder though, I've never had problems like this with VST3, is it a more....um..."self contained" architecture, or have I just had a downright inhuman luck so far? Was the whole issue just a DLL-thingy maybe?
https://abrokenlinemovie.blogspot.com/

Nuendo 10.2, Wavelab 9.5, Sound Forge Pro 12, Pro 24 III and Cubase 2.01/3.0 (Atari), full Adobe CS6-suite, Plugins from MAAT, Millennia, Eventide, Dolby, Weiss, Sound Toys, Izotope, SSL, and AudioEase to name a few.
Windows 10 Pro, Xeon 8-core, ASUS X99 E, Prism Sound Titan, Black Magic Intensity PCIe, Atari MEGA 4 STe with MIDEX+, every kind of hand-held (DPA/phone) known to man, Amiga 600 and a few 500, Commodore 64' and 128's. I am NOT getting into what I use on these, that would take a list of its own.
As much hardware gear, synthesizers, and sounding toys as I can possibly get my paws on. Including for the micro-computers.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests