direct monitoring and the control room

All about Steinberg's AXR4 audio interface
Post Reply
Aldersyde
Member
Posts: 337
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:27 pm
Contact:

direct monitoring and the control room

Post by Aldersyde »

Direct monitoring doesn't work with the AXR4 in Steinberg's Control Room.

It would be nice if this could change through future updates.

Norbury Brook
Member
Posts: 875
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:40 am
Contact:

Re: direct monitoring and the control room

Post by Norbury Brook »

Aldersyde wrote:
Mon May 18, 2020 1:33 pm
Direct monitoring doesn't work with the AXR4 in Steinberg's Control Room.

It would be nice if this could change through future updates.
It does you just have to use a dummy pair of outputs in the outputs section.


Normally when using control room you do NOT have anything set in the 'outputs' tab.

If you go to the outputs tab and set it to an unused pair of outputs, I use ADAT 7 and 8, everything works as expected.


M
ASRock x570 Taichi -Ryzen 3950x-16 core -32 gigs 3600 DDR4- AMD 580- Windows 10 x64-OSX Mojave- AXR4-Euphonix mix,Transport-CC121-Cubase 10.5.x

Aldersyde
Member
Posts: 337
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: direct monitoring and the control room

Post by Aldersyde »

Norbury Brook wrote:
Thu Jun 25, 2020 6:46 pm
Aldersyde wrote:
Mon May 18, 2020 1:33 pm
Direct monitoring doesn't work with the AXR4 in Steinberg's Control Room.

It would be nice if this could change through future updates.
It does you just have to use a dummy pair of outputs in the outputs section.


Normally when using control room you do NOT have anything set in the 'outputs' tab.

If you go to the outputs tab and set it to an unused pair of outputs, I use ADAT 7 and 8, everything works as expected.


M
Thanks for that. I was able to get the control room going with that strategy. The problem I'm still having is that the talk-back voice is delayed when I'm using direct monitoring. It's not a super big deal as i don't listen to the talk-back from the control room. But I was hoping to set up a second talk-back in the drum booth where I've set up a second workstation for clients for the remainder of the Caronavirus outbreak.

Norbury Brook
Member
Posts: 875
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:40 am
Contact:

Re: direct monitoring and the control room

Post by Norbury Brook »

I don't use talkback so can't help I'm afraid.

Also be aware that if you send your tracks to a bus other than the master outs then you'll lose the AXR hardware panel on your tracks! For example if I multi mic a guitar cab them send them all to a group/Buss I cant then record on those tracks again until I switch them back to the master out as it's only then the AXR hardware panel reappears...annoying bug...... also the phantom power switches off each time too...another bug.

I'm hoping they will sort all these things out soon as the unit sounds superb.


M
ASRock x570 Taichi -Ryzen 3950x-16 core -32 gigs 3600 DDR4- AMD 580- Windows 10 x64-OSX Mojave- AXR4-Euphonix mix,Transport-CC121-Cubase 10.5.x

Aldersyde
Member
Posts: 337
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: direct monitoring and the control room

Post by Aldersyde »

Norbury Brook wrote:
Mon Jun 29, 2020 7:17 pm
I don't use talkback so can't help I'm afraid.

Also be aware that if you send your tracks to a bus other than the master outs then you'll lose the AXR hardware panel on your tracks! For example if I multi mic a guitar cab them send them all to a group/Buss I cant then record on those tracks again until I switch them back to the master out as it's only then the AXR hardware panel reappears...annoying bug...... also the phantom power switches off each time too...another bug.

I'm hoping they will sort all these things out soon as the unit sounds superb.


M
Yes I've found all of that out the hard way. Also if you include a stereo buss for channels 1 and 2 utilizing AXR mic inputs in your "vst connections" the AXR4 hardware will default to a stereo input for those channels even if you are not using them on a track, which results in not being able to see the AXR pre-amp controls from Nuendo.

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg AXR”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests