AXR4T Loopback Mode

All about Steinberg's AXR4 audio interface
Post Reply
deeplfo
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2020 10:27 am
Contact:

AXR4T Loopback Mode

Post by deeplfo »

Hi,
Just got the AXR4T and am having trouble getting loopback mode to work. I am trying to record the computer audio, e.g. from iTunes, browser, etc. In the dspMixFx tool I can the computer signal on DAW Line 1/2 which is routed to the Line 1/2 bus. I enabled the "Loopback" button on the Line 1/2 bus and was expecting that I should see the audio be made available on one of the inputs, but I none of the inputs are showing any signal (as monitored in Ableton Live). What do I have wrong here?

Thanks,
Mohsen

deeplfo
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2020 10:27 am
Contact:

Re: AXR4T Loopback Mode

Post by deeplfo »

Found it, from the manual:
To record the loopbacked audio in the computer, select “Steinberg AXR4” in the Windows sound settings,
or select “Steinberg AXR4 2TR” in the Mac sound input settings.
Which means that in your DAW you can't get to the individual inputs any more, as everything comes on channel 1 and 2. Really? Seems restrictive.

ezrashanti
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2020 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: AXR4T Loopback Mode

Post by ezrashanti »

How does the loopback mode work. I have my computer feeding outputs 1/2. I click loopback and I don't notice anything happening. Is the idea that I should be able to record those outputs into tracks on Cubase without having to exit the digital realm? I don't see how to do that.

avliav
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2014 12:25 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: AXR4T Loopback Mode

Post by avliav »

Same issue here. It's a $3000 interface that can't get the most simple most used feature out there!
After spending hour and hour with top tech support at Steinberg, they still couldn't make Loopback work and said that this should be in their next update (that was 4 months ago!)

A workaround: I send the output of my computer to and physicals patchbay and then loop it back into the the AXR and record it.

STEINBERG: Please update this interface, we paid top dollar for it!

User avatar
Kewk
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: AXR4T Loopback Mode

Post by Kewk »

The problem you guys are running into is with your DAW running the ASIO driver and windows running the MME driver. ASIO is a closed system for performance. In windows there's a work around using ASIO4ALL but that's always been more hassle than it was worth. If you switch your DAW to MME then you can utilize the loopback feature but we all use ASIO because of the performance benefits.

Honestly, the best solution is just to go out and then back in via TRS connection if you need that functionality.

For things like OBS loopback works fine because it's working outside of the ASIO environment.

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg AXR”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest