How to print legs from a surround output?

Post general topics related to Nuendo 8 here.
Post Reply
Niekbeem
Member
Posts: 556
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

How to print legs from a surround output?

Post by Niekbeem » Wed Apr 17, 2019 7:58 pm

I have created these tracks "at the bottom" of my template project on which I'd like to print my main outputs.
That means: I'd like to record the main outputs of my template project.

I have a 5.1 main mix in my template project, as well as a stereo main mix, as well as a mono main mix.

On my 5.1 "print"-tracks I can select the 5.1-main output as a recording source, but on my mono "print"-tracks I can't select the 6 -mono- legs from that 5.1-main mix. They simply don't show up in the sources list.
The same counts for the legs of the stereo main mix.
Of course I created all the legs of all these multi-bus outputs in my "outputs"-setup.

So, my question:
is it actually possible to have the individual (mono) legs from a multi-bus output show up at the source-list for a track?
I can confirm that it's possible to have the multi-bus-output itself (5.1 or stereo) to show up at the source-list for a track.

Or am I doing something wrong?
Niek/ Amsterdam.
Nuendo 10 / Pro Tools Ultimate / Logic X / MixBus32C 5 / WaveLab 9.5
MacPro 5.1: 12Core 3.46GHz Intel Xeon/ 48GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.13
MacBook Pro: 2.9 GHz Intel Core i9/ 32 GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.14
MetricHalo ULN8 + 2882 / RME HDSPe MadiFace
Euphonix MC Pro

ErikG
Member
Posts: 560
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:43 am
Contact:

Re: How to print legs from a surround output?

Post by ErikG » Thu Apr 18, 2019 5:53 am

No it is not possible.
If you really want to of course you can but it is a silly workaround (send signal to intermediate group channels, mute the unwanted signal and then send each now separated mono leg to each mono out).

Or you can of course re-record as interleaved and then split.
Personally I haven't used physical re-recording in many years. I never have issues with exports (knock on wood).

Yes both of the above a workarounds for something that really should be possible
Filmlance, a Swedish production company producing drama and feature films.
11xNuendo, 5xPT
Dubstage with 4k Christie projection
8xMedia Composer, VFX, online, grading and more

Niekbeem
Member
Posts: 556
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: How to print legs from a surround output?

Post by Niekbeem » Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:21 am

Thanks Erik,
Quite a “relief” to read that it’s not possible, now I can stop my search for a solution.

And yes: I use the “Export Mixdown and split files”-workflow most of the time too, but when I export my 9 stems and 3 main mixes it’s a very long process.....that’s why I wanted to have a quicker , real-time solution....

Thanks, Niek.
Nuendo 10 / Pro Tools Ultimate / Logic X / MixBus32C 5 / WaveLab 9.5
MacPro 5.1: 12Core 3.46GHz Intel Xeon/ 48GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.13
MacBook Pro: 2.9 GHz Intel Core i9/ 32 GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.14
MetricHalo ULN8 + 2882 / RME HDSPe MadiFace
Euphonix MC Pro

Kewl
Junior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 6:24 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: How to print legs from a surround output?

Post by Kewl » Mon Apr 22, 2019 2:38 pm

If I understand what you want, just export interleaved files and, after, use Sound Devices Wave Agent (Split/Combine function) to split into multi-mono.

https://www.sounddevices.com/product/wave-agent/
MacBook Pro Retina Late 2013 (Intel Core i7 @ 2.3 GHz, 16 GB RAM) / macOS 10.14.6 / Nuendo 8.3.20 / Metric Halo ULN-8 & ULN-2 / SoundField SPS200

Niekbeem
Member
Posts: 556
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: How to print legs from a surround output?

Post by Niekbeem » Mon Apr 22, 2019 7:16 pm

Thanks Kewi,
I'm using the “Export Mixdown and split files”-workflow quite a lot from within Nuendo itself, but as stated above it takes a very long time to export my 9 stems and 3 main mixes. That's why I'm sometimes exporting them inside Nuendo by printing them realtime, although it turned out that it's not possible to record the individual legs of a bus......

Thanks anyway.
Niek/ Amsterdam.
Nuendo 10 / Pro Tools Ultimate / Logic X / MixBus32C 5 / WaveLab 9.5
MacPro 5.1: 12Core 3.46GHz Intel Xeon/ 48GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.13
MacBook Pro: 2.9 GHz Intel Core i9/ 32 GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.14
MetricHalo ULN8 + 2882 / RME HDSPe MadiFace
Euphonix MC Pro

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests