Page 1 of 1

Setting the Project Cursor Position (ALT+SHIFT+CLICK)?

Posted: Tue Apr 16, 2019 5:01 pm
by Iftekharul Anam
Hello, I am new to Nuendo. I have a question.

How do I set the Project Cursor Position by ALT+SHIFT+CLICK in Nuendo?

Although the Nuendo 8 Manual says that it is possible By holding down Shift-Alt and clicking in the event display, I couldn't find it anywhere in the software.

Can anyone please help?

Re: Setting the Project Cursor Position (ALT+SHIFT+CLICK)?

Posted: Tue Apr 16, 2019 8:41 pm
by PeterGx
It was subsequently removed because it was in conflict with Slip function using the same modifiers.

Re: Setting the Project Cursor Position (ALT+SHIFT+CLICK)?

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:01 am
by Iftekharul Anam
PeterGx wrote:
Tue Apr 16, 2019 8:41 pm
It was subsequently removed because it was in conflict with Slip function using the same modifiers.
Well, that is really unfortunate for me as I just came from Cubase and I miss it. Besides, the manual still says that it is there.

Do you know if it will be brought back in version 10?

Re: Setting the Project Cursor Position (ALT+SHIFT+CLICK)?

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 5:07 pm
by PeterGx
I don't believe they will.
While it was there one could change the default modifiers for slip and still have both functions available.
After some discussion it just disappeared. No explanation, with complete disregard to users.
To Steinberg defense, there is a similar function in the preferences already.

Re: Setting the Project Cursor Position (ALT+SHIFT+CLICK)?

Posted: Mon Apr 22, 2019 10:30 pm
by GTBannah
Newbie Question:-

What does it mean to "Set Project Cursor Position"? How is it different from clicking where you want the cursor to be?

Thanx!

Re: Setting the Project Cursor Position (ALT+SHIFT+CLICK)?

Posted: Mon Apr 22, 2019 11:27 pm
by Iftekharul Anam
GTBannah wrote:
Mon Apr 22, 2019 10:30 pm
Newbie Question:-

What does it mean to "Set Project Cursor Position"? How is it different from clicking where you want the cursor to be?

Thanx!
To my knowledge, it is not necessarily different. However, "clicking where (Anywhere regardless of empty space or not) you want" was possible in Nuendo but now it is not.

It is possible in Cubase though.

Re: Setting the Project Cursor Position (ALT+SHIFT+CLICK)?

Posted: Tue Apr 23, 2019 12:54 am
by GTBannah
Iftekharul Anam wrote:
Mon Apr 22, 2019 11:27 pm
....However, "clicking where (Anywhere regardless of empty space or not) you want" was possible in Nuendo but now it is not.

It is possible in Cubase though.
I don't know if i understand you clearly, but "clicking anywhere" is working here.

Re: Setting the Project Cursor Position (ALT+SHIFT+CLICK)?

Posted: Tue Apr 23, 2019 12:58 am
by Dog and Pony
To my knowledge, it is not necessarily different. However, "clicking where (Anywhere regardless of empty space or not) you want" was possible in Nuendo but now it is not.
Clicking in empty space still works but it is (and always has been) a preference setting under "Transport". john

Re: Setting the Project Cursor Position (ALT+SHIFT+CLICK)?

Posted: Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:28 am
by Iftekharul Anam
GTBannah wrote:
Tue Apr 23, 2019 12:54 am
Iftekharul Anam wrote:
Mon Apr 22, 2019 11:27 pm
....However, "clicking where (Anywhere regardless of empty space or not) you want" was possible in Nuendo but now it is not.

It is possible in Cubase though.
I don't know if i understand you clearly, but "clicking anywhere" is working here.
Are you sure? Are you talking about empty spaces or even over clips/events?

Re: Setting the Project Cursor Position (ALT+SHIFT+CLICK)?

Posted: Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:52 am
by Iftekharul Anam
Dog and Pony wrote:
Tue Apr 23, 2019 12:58 am
To my knowledge, it is not necessarily different. However, "clicking where (Anywhere regardless of empty space or not) you want" was possible in Nuendo but now it is not.
Clicking in empty space still works but it is (and always has been) a preference setting under "Transport". john
Yes. I have been trying to utilize that. But it isn't quite good enough for me as the other option. Anyway, thank you.

Re: Setting the Project Cursor Position (ALT+SHIFT+CLICK)?

Posted: Tue Apr 23, 2019 4:06 pm
by GTBannah
Iftekharul Anam wrote:
Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:28 am


Are you sure? Are you talking about empty spaces or even over clips/events?
I think I know what you mean, now. Clicking in empty spaces works moves the cursor to the place where you clicked, but clicking on events only selects the event. Double-clicking opens the editor.

Hmmm

Re: Setting the Project Cursor Position (ALT+SHIFT+CLICK)?

Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2019 12:23 am
by Dog and Pony
I see. I don't recall ever clicking on an event in Nuendo and having the cursor move there but, if memory serves, you could (can?) do that in Protools.

Re: Setting the Project Cursor Position (ALT+SHIFT+CLICK)?

Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2019 4:58 am
by GTBannah
Dog and Pony wrote:
Wed Apr 24, 2019 12:23 am
I see. I don't recall ever clicking on an event in Nuendo and having the cursor move there but, if memory serves, you could (can?) do that in Protools.
Yes you can. "Link Timeline And edit Selection".

Avid and Steinberg need to collaborate. ;)

Re: Setting the Project Cursor Position (ALT+SHIFT+CLICK)?

Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2019 8:28 pm
by Dog and Pony
Yes you can. "Link Timeline And edit Selection".
Interesting, where do I find that setting? I looked thru preferences and key commands to no avail. Thank you!

Re: Setting the Project Cursor Position (ALT+SHIFT+CLICK)?

Posted: Thu Apr 25, 2019 12:16 am
by GTBannah
Dog and Pony wrote:
Wed Apr 24, 2019 8:28 pm
Interesting, where do I find that setting? I looked thru preferences and key commands to no avail. Thank you!
Bottom row. The blue button on the right.

Re: Setting the Project Cursor Position (ALT+SHIFT+CLICK)?

Posted: Thu Apr 25, 2019 5:56 pm
by Dog and Pony
Misunderstood you, thought you meant we could do that in Nuendo! Yes, would be lovely if we could do that in Nuendo.

Re: Setting the Project Cursor Position (ALT+SHIFT+CLICK)?

Posted: Fri Apr 26, 2019 5:15 pm
by Iftekharul Anam
For what its worth, have posted a feature request here viewtopic.php?f=292&t=159024