Page 1 of 1

LFO for the volume of a layer

Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 4:11 pm
by FXM
Hello Halion users! :D

How would you do to control the volume of a layer by an LFO?

Is it possible control a bus with an LFO?
Is it possible control a quick control with an LFO?
Is it possible control an automation with an LFO?


I want to control the volume of a factory preset by an LFO. Because it is a factory preset, I can't modify it, fine, but I want to use LFO to control the outpout...

What is your solution?

Thanks in advance!

FXM

Re: LFO for the volume of a layer

Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:14 pm
by FXM
I know this seems like a newbie question, but I still did not find how.

LFO on a BUS

Re: LFO for the volume of a layer

Posted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 7:55 pm
by abject39
There are several ways to do this depending on what you are trying to achieve.

1. Use the LFO of the zone to Modulate the level of the zone via the mod matrix (do this for all zones in the preset).
2. Create a mono LFO midi module and do apply it to the mod matrix of each zone via the mod matrix (similar to first suggestion).
3. Do either 1 or 2 and then tie a quick control to the depth of the modulation to increase intensity of LFO, or rate or etc etc.
4. Create automation controls to the level of the layer/zone and send modulating automation data to those controls.

For your other questions there is currently no way to automate any bus parameters by a user LFO but some FX have built in LFO's and envelopes you can use. I do not think it is possible to control any quick controls or automation via LFO but this may be possible via scripting. As far as I know it isn't possible though.
FXM wrote:
Sun Jun 24, 2018 4:11 pm
Hello Halion users! :D

How would you do to control the volume of a layer by an LFO?

Is it possible control a bus with an LFO?
Is it possible control a quick control with an LFO?
Is it possible control an automation with an LFO?


I want to control the volume of a factory preset by an LFO. Because it is a factory preset, I can't modify it, fine, but I want to use LFO to control the outpout...

What is your solution?

Thanks in advance!

FXM

Re: LFO for the volume of a layer

Posted: Mon Dec 31, 2018 6:50 pm
by FXM
:D Thank you very much! Your tips are very helpful.