From EMulator X3 to Halion 6 ?

Interested in HALion 6 or HALion Sonic 3? Having questions regarding the update or upgrade to the latest version? Please post here!
Post Reply
User avatar
cubic13
Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:46 pm
Location: near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Contact:

From EMulator X3 to Halion 6 ?

Post by cubic13 »

Hi all,

Well, I am considering halion 6 as my next sampler but I have a problem : I am still using EMulator X3 and this one is discontinued since a while, so I have to think about something to be able to use in the future several years of work with it. I have downloaded the Halion 6 Operation Manual and saw this (p.63/64) :

The following formats can be imported:
...
● EMU* 3, 3X, ESI, 4, 4K, E64, E6400, ESynth, Ultra
...


EMulator X3 saves by default programs/samples banks in .exb files and I guess that this format isn't supported by Halion 6 but a confirmation would be welcomed. Beside this, EX3 can also export programs/samples banks as .e4b files and, at the opposite, I think that this format matches at least one of the formats listed above, but would like to be sure before any purchase.

So, could someone confirm that Halion 6 can import .e4b files without issue or, it would even be better, has an experience transfering EMulator X3 banks to H6, using this format (or the .exb one directly, who knows...) ?

I admit that I could test this by myself but honestly, I'd prefer to avoid downloading 30 Gb just to test this... :|. Thanks for any enlightment...
DAW : Ryzen 3700X | Asus Prime X470-Pro | 32 Gb DDR4-3200 | 2 x SSD (M.2 WD Black 500 Gb + Corsair Force 960 Gb) | Radeon RX550 (2 Gb) | Windows 10 Pro (64) | RME Fireface UCX + Behringer ADA8200
Soft & plug-ins : Cubase Pro 10.0.60 + 10.5.20 | VSTis : Emulator X3, Alchemy, Sylenth 1, Lounge Lizard, True Pianos, VB3, BFD2...
Gear : Studiologic VMK-188+ | Akai MPD32 | Akai ME30P MIDI Patchbay | Korg 05R-W | Roland D110 | Yamaha TX802 | Pre-MIDI stuff.

dancetiger
Junior Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:14 am
Contact:

Re: From EMulator X3 to Halion 6 ?

Post by dancetiger »

I think you can import fxp files/presets, but not soundbanks. You can then save it in the current Halion format and create or recreate the Emu soundbanks that way. I started converting my H3 libraries this way when H4 came out but never got the job finished as it is very time consuming.

Disclaimer: I might be completely wrong, but since no one else replied...🙂
Cubase Pro 10.5, Halion 6, Dark Planet, Triebwerk, Hypnotic Dance, RAST-A, HSO, The Grand, Groove Agent 5, Wavelab 10, Cubase Elements 10.5 on "office computer".
Steinberg UR 824, CMC PD, Midex 8
UAD Quad and Solo
NI Komplete Kontrol M32, Maschine Mikro mk3
Rupert Neve RNDI, Warm Audio WA-12, Mindprint EnVoice
Windows 10 Pro 64bit, Intel i7 4790k, Asus Geforce GTX 1650 Super OC 4gb Phoenix edition (studio driver), Asus Pro Gamer Z97, 16gb ram
Cubase user since Cubase VST 24 3.6

User avatar
cubic13
Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:46 pm
Location: near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Contact:

Re: From EMulator X3 to Halion 6 ?

Post by cubic13 »

Hi, dancetiger, and thanks for your answer.

Not reassuring, to be honest. But I'm still wondering about the .e4b format, though. Who knows ? Maybe someone in Steinberg crew, concerned by an eventual purchase, could shed a light on this.

After all, my inquiry is only 5 months old... :mrgreen:

Thanks again ! :)
DAW : Ryzen 3700X | Asus Prime X470-Pro | 32 Gb DDR4-3200 | 2 x SSD (M.2 WD Black 500 Gb + Corsair Force 960 Gb) | Radeon RX550 (2 Gb) | Windows 10 Pro (64) | RME Fireface UCX + Behringer ADA8200
Soft & plug-ins : Cubase Pro 10.0.60 + 10.5.20 | VSTis : Emulator X3, Alchemy, Sylenth 1, Lounge Lizard, True Pianos, VB3, BFD2...
Gear : Studiologic VMK-188+ | Akai MPD32 | Akai ME30P MIDI Patchbay | Korg 05R-W | Roland D110 | Yamaha TX802 | Pre-MIDI stuff.

Post Reply

Return to “Presales”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest