Page 1 of 1

Unable to Save Halion SE Presets

Posted: Wed May 14, 2014 10:54 pm
by barnboy
All of a sudden Cubase 7 stopped allowing me to save my Halion SE presets.
I have another Cubase version installed on my laptop and that has NEVER allowed me to save presets.
No big deal- I've been saving on my desktop and transferring.
As of this morning....cannot save on desktop either.

Anyone else having this problem?

2006 Mac Pro 1.1
16 GB
OS 10.7.5
Cubase 7 & 7.5
2008 Macbook Pro
10.8.5

Re: Unable to Save Halion SE Presets

Posted: Thu May 15, 2014 4:59 pm
by Rick1423
Hi, i have full halion sonic 2 and cannot save presets or multis using the in built browser (on mac osx) only had this a few days and mailed support yesterday and have not had a reply yet, dissapointing?

Re: Unable to Save Halion SE Presets

Posted: Fri May 16, 2014 2:58 pm
by barnboy
Hey Rick- Were you able to save until a few days ago and then all of a sudden was unable to?
I've got both 7 & 7.5 installed on both a laptop and desktop.
As of a few days ago - I could save multis on the desktop in 7.5 but not in 7.
The reverse on the laptop.
Now all of a sudden - I can't save anything on the desktop. Just happened out of nowhere.
The only thing I can think of- is that maybe the folder(s) I'm creating (in which I am saving my multis -all of which reside in the Presets/Steinberg Media Tech/Halion SE folder tree) are confusing the program.
That's the ONLY thing that has changed since the install.
The only response I've gotten from Steinberg is more questions.
(what OS am I using? / how old is my computer? / what's my favorite color.)
Seems like their just dodging my concern without answering me.

Please let me know if you hear anything and I'll do the same.
Going full reinstall on Monday when I get back home.
Cheers A

Re: Unable to Save Halion SE Presets

Posted: Fri May 16, 2014 3:00 pm
by barnboy
One more thing - I AM able to save Prologue and Retrologue .vstpresets- just not HalionSE.

Re: Unable to Save Halion SE Presets

Posted: Sat May 17, 2014 12:18 pm
by Rick1423
Hi, rang uk tech support, the guy remoted to my mac, fixed a permissison issue on the folder where the presets were supposed to be saving and the issue is now resolved, suspected permissions myself but had no idea on a mac where HS was trying to save to so i could look and fix it.
Suggest checking permissions for you also?

Rick

Re: Unable to Save Halion SE Presets

Posted: Mon May 19, 2014 11:07 pm
by barnboy
Problem Solved. After no luck with repairing disk permissions, a friend suggested that I trash the contents of the "preferences" folder. Deleted all the files (Boot Drive/user/Name/Library/Preferences/Cubase 7.5) and VOILA!!!
Saving once again. Now I'm wondering if this is a Mac problem or a Cubase issue.
Good luck!

A

Re: Unable to Save Halion SE Presets

Posted: Sat Mar 14, 2015 8:49 pm
by Randy47
Hi - I'm having a similar issue with not being able to save edited and renamed Halion SE presets. I purchased Steinberg's UR44 which came with Cubase AI7 and Halion Sonic Se. Please help. I use an IMAC computer 2.7Ghz, 16 gig ram. Where on the IMAC are Halion Sonic's presets saved?