Halion Standalone Not working in El Capitan

All topics on HALion 4, HALion 5 and Steinberg's VST workstations HALion Sonic 1 and HALion Sonic 2
Post Reply
zvenx
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:59 pm
Contact:

Halion Standalone Not working in El Capitan

Post by zvenx »

Hi, on my Mac I recently upgraded from Yosemite to El Capitan and HAlion standalone as stopped working, in the sense that I can't send it midi or even trigger sounds by hitting keys on the keyboard.
What is odd is Halion Sonic is still working fine and for the most part Halion vst3 in Cubase and Halion au in NI Maschine seem to work fine.

Now if I change in Halion standalone from my Komplete Audio 6 core audio device to built in, the midi works and sound out works.....

very strange.
any insights?
thanks
rsp
richard sven patterson
sound sculptist
--------------------------
Nuendo 10| Gigabyte GAX79UP4 : Intel Hex Core Ivy Bridge Extreme 4930K : 32GB RAM | Windows 10 64bit| Lynx Two C | Midisport 2x2 | UAD-2 Quad |

Cubase 10 | MacBookPro Retina 2.8Ghz Quad Core I7 | 10.14.5 | 16GB | NI Komplete Audio 6 | UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt Quad |

raz cozyr
Member
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 2:47 pm

Re: Halion Standalone Not working in El Capitan

Post by raz cozyr »

zvenx wrote: Now if I change in Halion standalone from my Komplete Audio 6 core audio device to built in, the midi works and sound out works.....
what do you mean?

zvenx
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion Standalone Not working in El Capitan

Post by zvenx »

hi, in the asio section and I choose a different audio device.....my usual sound card is NI"S Komplete Audio 6, if I change to Built in Audio as my audio device, midi works again.
hope that is clearer.
thanks
rsp
richard sven patterson
sound sculptist
--------------------------
Nuendo 10| Gigabyte GAX79UP4 : Intel Hex Core Ivy Bridge Extreme 4930K : 32GB RAM | Windows 10 64bit| Lynx Two C | Midisport 2x2 | UAD-2 Quad |

Cubase 10 | MacBookPro Retina 2.8Ghz Quad Core I7 | 10.14.5 | 16GB | NI Komplete Audio 6 | UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt Quad |

raz cozyr
Member
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 2:47 pm

Re: Halion Standalone Not working in El Capitan

Post by raz cozyr »

did you upadated the current version of the NI Komplete Audio 6 firmware/-driver?

zvenx
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion Standalone Not working in El Capitan

Post by zvenx »

Hi, it has the latest firmware, but there is no driver for it. I think that comes built in core audio.
But strange that halion sonic works not halion?
rsp
richard sven patterson
sound sculptist
--------------------------
Nuendo 10| Gigabyte GAX79UP4 : Intel Hex Core Ivy Bridge Extreme 4930K : 32GB RAM | Windows 10 64bit| Lynx Two C | Midisport 2x2 | UAD-2 Quad |

Cubase 10 | MacBookPro Retina 2.8Ghz Quad Core I7 | 10.14.5 | 16GB | NI Komplete Audio 6 | UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt Quad |

raz cozyr
Member
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 2:47 pm

Re: Halion Standalone Not working in El Capitan

Post by raz cozyr »

zvenx wrote:Hi, it has the latest firmware, but there is no driver for it. I think that comes built in core audio.
But strange that halion sonic works not halion?
rsp
i think halion needs more CPU-power, than halion sonic. so there could be even the problem, too.
zvenx wrote:Hi, it has the latest firmware, but there is no driver for it. I think that comes built in core audio.
did you informed yourself on NI website or in the manual of your Komplete, that may there is a particular driver for it?

zvenx
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion Standalone Not working in El Capitan

Post by zvenx »

It is class compliant and every other software on the macbook pro (its an audio only computer), work fine.
thanks
rsp
richard sven patterson
sound sculptist
--------------------------
Nuendo 10| Gigabyte GAX79UP4 : Intel Hex Core Ivy Bridge Extreme 4930K : 32GB RAM | Windows 10 64bit| Lynx Two C | Midisport 2x2 | UAD-2 Quad |

Cubase 10 | MacBookPro Retina 2.8Ghz Quad Core I7 | 10.14.5 | 16GB | NI Komplete Audio 6 | UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt Quad |

raz cozyr
Member
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 2:47 pm

Re: Halion Standalone Not working in El Capitan

Post by raz cozyr »

maybe it´s really an intern issue? did you looked already in the internet, if there is someone, who have the same problem,too. with the compatiiblity with NI Komplete Audio 6 and Mac Yosemite or even the new version, which you´ve updated now to?

zvenx
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion Standalone Not working in El Capitan

Post by zvenx »

It worked fine on yosemite btw.
I have seen some issues with halion but not specifically with Komplete Audio 6.
rsp
richard sven patterson
sound sculptist
--------------------------
Nuendo 10| Gigabyte GAX79UP4 : Intel Hex Core Ivy Bridge Extreme 4930K : 32GB RAM | Windows 10 64bit| Lynx Two C | Midisport 2x2 | UAD-2 Quad |

Cubase 10 | MacBookPro Retina 2.8Ghz Quad Core I7 | 10.14.5 | 16GB | NI Komplete Audio 6 | UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt Quad |

raz cozyr
Member
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 2:47 pm

Re: Halion Standalone Not working in El Capitan

Post by raz cozyr »

did you already looked in the NI website (forum), if anybody got the same Problems with El Capitan?

Post Reply

Return to “Halion 5 | Halion 4 | Halion Sonic | Halion Sonic 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest